We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place with a few issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carat Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
127 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Decent place with a few issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Carat is a decent choice given it's convenient location to the centre of the city and a number of main sights. Our stay did have a couple of issues however. Our room was facing the street, had a very nursing home smell to it, and despite being on a high floor, the noise coming from the street was just ridiculous. Ppl shouting and yelling on the street at early hours and loud music & partying in neighbouring bars and apartment buildings. Keeping the windows closed did not help much. At 1.30am with drunk ppl on the street still disturbing us we asked if it was possible to move rooms. The guy on reception had a very know-it-all attitude & muttered "well, it's the party district". Although reluctant he did find another room for us & said we might have to pay for the other room given that we 'used it' (for 2hrs!). This concerned us however luckily in the morning the more experienced staff told us this was not the case. The second room was totally silent and much better so we were thankful that we could be moved to an internal facing room. Wifi however did not work in either room, reception only.

Another issue was the breakfast. I've never seen a hotel breakfast like it & just can't believe how a hotel of this size can serve such rotten & stale food. See the photos. The fruit was off, looks like it was sitting there for weeks, the breads were rock hard, the eggs were awful (just look at the pic and you can see they do not even look like eggs at all). Food this old should not be served to guests. It was quite disappointing & the only good thing was the coffee (because they didn't make it).

Lastly, the reception staff gave us incorrect advice regarding getting to the Citadella, saying there was no bus & we would have to walk all the way up. But we discovered there was a bus that took us exactly where we wanted, so, tourist info questions are probably best saved for the tourist info in town, not the staff here. I also would not recommend using the airport shuttle company that they book. At least the driver we had drove like a madman, had a few near misses and we feared for our lives every minute of the way.

Overall, the location is both a pro and a con, very convenient but awfully noisy if you get a room facing the street due to the number of bars and discos next to it. The staff were a combination of helpful & unhelpful, friendly and unfriendly. It was a decent stay but a number of improvements are needed and I probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Get an internal facing room to avoid the large amount of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    449
    76
    20
    8
See reviews for
152
470
61
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed in room 101 which faces the courtyard. The staff spoke english and were helpful in arranging my taxi to Keleti train station upon departure. The room is an okay size but not much of a closet. There was a safe in the room but it was on the floor level of the cabinet which made it awkward to use for someone tall like me. The bathroom had a decent sized shower and a heated towel rack. The heated towel rack came in handy for drying clothes I washed in the sink. The breakfast was included and contained hot and cold items. The wifi worked well for me. The biggest plus is the location. I don't understand Lyn's comment about a bad location for sight seeing. The hotel is located less than two minutes from Deak Ferenc ter. Deak is the hub for the metro lines plus the #47 and #49 trams both run to the Central Market and Gellert. The #16 bus runs up to the castle area and the #9/#26 buses will get you to Margarit Island. Andrassy Av is 2 blocks away and the Opera House is about 5 blocks away. The hotel is also located on the edge of the Jewish Quarter with two wine bars (Di Vino and Kadarka) both just down the street. Overall the hotel was a good avlue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonoluluGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a small, clean and comfortable central Budapest 3* hotel, but by reference to normal hotel industry categorisation and definitions, it is neither 4* (ie first class), nor a boutique hotel (unique, intimate and/or offering specialised). The reception staff were friendly and helpful, my room was adequate if rather small, and my bed was comfortable although I experienced a disturbed night because the room overlooked a busy street. It is usefully located close to the pivotal Deak Ferenc metro station and the rooms are competitively priced. However, the breakfast selection was quite limited, and the hotel has nothing unique which marks it out as meriting the appellation 'boutique'.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazandrew433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We enjoyed the Carat. The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good with both hot and cold dishes and much variety not to mention the cheerful and attentive host in the breakfast room. The hotel is only a couple of blocks away from Deak Ferenc, the focal point of the Budapest underground and tram system. We'd surely return.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and had a very good stay. Room was at a busy street, but we didn't hear the traffic at all. Room was large, nicely furnished and modern. Free wifi, always a plus.
Breakfast was more than we expected, with the usual things like croissants, bread, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, etc, but also tapas-like treats and a big selection of different kinds of tea.
hotel had a sauna, which you could only enter by asking the key at the desk. We were there in september, and had acces to the sauna whenever we wanted, there was nobody using it. Very clean as well.
Bathroom was clean.
This hotel is great value for money, we ended up paying 150 euros per person for four nights, which is great for a 4-star hotel in the middle of the city. Location is great, most of the sights are within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

have stayed here several times, clean rooms, fast high speed internet, friendly staff. a real budapest gem!
rooms are relativly modern and the shower soaps are great!

the hotel area is bubbly and make sure to go down to the semi-indoor gojdo street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank in_the_know044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and helpful staff, they are good at english.
A little ungenerous breakfast (but it was part of itself in the price). Good location of the hotel!

There are hair dryer, bath & air condition!
A plus is that there is a supermarket close by!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Boutique Hotel

Property: Carat Boutique Hotel
Address: Kiraly utca 6, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#73 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#75 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Carat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing