We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special restaurant”

KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #23 of 3,301 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$47
Cuisines: Hungarian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Vibrant and inspiring, yet casual and affordable, KOLLÁZS - Brasserie & Bar is a contemporary European brasserie in a landmark Budapest location, overlooking the Chain Bridge and the Danube River. The Hungarian word for "collage," KOLLÁZS highlights creative combinations in all aspects of the dining experience. The interior design reflects the artistic era of the 1910s and '20s, honouring Art Nouveau style and Budapest's legendary coffee house culture. Conceived by EDG Design of San Francisco, the look is a collage of the old and new, the luxurious and simple, in keeping with the character of Budapest. Bringing together four distinct focal points - the rotisserie, bar, wine cellar and patisserie - as well as a convertible, all-season terrace, the environment feels hip and comfortable, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. To contrast the historic interior, the artwork on display is contemporary, featuring regularly changing shows curated by Art Market Budapest, the organizer of Eastern Europe's top international contemporary art fair. Chef Árpád Györffy - previously chef at Arany Kaviár and sous-chef at Alabárdos in Budapest - has created a menu that blends local and international flavors, as well as traditional and modern dishes. The focus is on modern European and French brasserie cuisine with signature Hungarian specialties. Cocktails are traditional yet with chic, modern flair, based on a bar menu created by Jaime Jones, the London-based international bar consultant and global gin connoisseur. Kollázs's sommelier, Mátyás Szik, has won twice the Hungarian Sommelier Championship - in 2013 and 2014 - and was previously head sommelier at Budapest's Prime Steak & Wine. The music at KOLLÁZS blends well-known songs, such as Hungarian and French tracks from the 1950s and '60s, with modern sounds - in a soundtrack selected exclusively for the restaurant. Headed by restaurant manager Mihály Kártyás, the KOLLÁZS team provides service that is casual, friendly and social. As part of the plan to create a lively atmosphere, the restaurant offers reasonable prices that are intended to attract an eclectic mix of people. As Budapest emerges as a modern metropolis, KOLLÁZS perfectly captures the dynamic spirit of the city: historic yet contemporary, timeless yet fresh, glamorous yet relaxed. KOLLÁZS promises to become one of Budapest's most popular dining destinations - welcoming with understated, informal elegance.
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

There is a lot to like about the Gresham restaurant especially if you have been to other restaurants around the city. When you enter the palace restaurant you quickly notice how elegant and beautiful it is. Upon entering the staff were both professional and friendly and gave us time to decide where we wanted to be seated. We wanted to be seated outside in the lovely small terrace over looking the square and Danube but were worried about the rain. As it was Sunday my partner and I chose the Merkato a sort of Sunday Brunch. The variety is great and the food not only looks but tastes exquisite. We enjoyed our lunch and hope to try the steak night as the prices are not high as you would expect. All in all, the Gresham is one of the finest dinning experiences in this Beautiful city.

1  Thank nermin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I was delighted to read that you were pleased with the elegant atmosphere and level of service in our Gresham Restaurant recently. It is great that you decided to try and really enjoyed our ‘Mercato Italiano’ Sunday Brunch.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for either a great steak night dinner or any other dining option at the Gresham and hopefully on the next occasion you would still be able to enjoy a pleasant whether outside on our terrace overlooking the Danube and the Széchenyi Square.

Thank you again for recommending our restaurant and hopefully we will have the chance to be at your service in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 512 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great service, wonderful food in a venue that is unmatched in the region and perhaps even beyond. Spend an extra few euros and experience this wonderful restaurant.

1  Thank Dreyfus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I was delighted to note that you had such a wonderful dining experience in our Gresham Restaurant, that prompted you to post a praising feedback on our Tripadvisor public website a couple of days ago. It is a great feeling that we managed to impress you with our special atmosphere, as well as with the quality of our food and service.

We would be thrilled to have you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a steak dinner which was excellent. The price was I thought very reasonable for such an establishment and would recommend it for those not staying at the hotel. In the summer outside seating is available. The restaurant is certainly marketing itself as an independent part of the hotel as has a very prominent street presence. Customer service was exceptional. Definitely would eat here again.

2  Thank CarlFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for describing your delightful dining experience in Gresham Restaurant, we were thrilled that you enjoyed our steak night dinner very much while taking in the beautiful views of the Chain Bridge from our terrace. I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with our Executive Chef Leonardo Di Clemente as well our restaurant staff, who offered you a great service.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This restaurant has to be one of the best in Hungary. From start to finish, the food, drinks and service was top class. In a beautiful setting, just opposite the chain bridge with a park in the middle. The best thing was that despite everything, the meal cost us half of what we were expecting. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Blizaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your praising feedback regarding your recent dining experience at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace. I was glad to learn from you that we were able to provide a good value for your money.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel and outlets in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Can't go wrong with afternoon tea service at a Four Seasons. As expected, impeccable service and surroundings. Lovely service with attention to detail; very old-school Budapest. Relaxing and opulent, need I say more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I was delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy a pleasant Herend Afternoon Tea experience in our hotel’s lobby lounge.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing