We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really ugly decor, beautiful food! A diamond in the rough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pandzsab

Pandzsab
Ranked #942 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really ugly decor, beautiful food! A diamond in the rough!”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I dislike the decor of this restaurant, very crappy, small, ugly chairs with garden furniture pillows, and the overall look is just very cheap. The food however is amazing! Every time it is good, been there a lot. I always take the butter chicken with garlic naan and vegetable raita. The mango lassi is also fabulous. The waiter and waitress are super submissive and polite, they just dont speak a lot. I always give a huge tip with a smile, also because the food is really cheap. Definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who is in for a real and authentic indian experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good place to indian bread lovers. And hot food too :)”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a small and cosy indian restaurant. When we visited, bollywood hits where playing in the background. There is plenty of alternatives for a vegetarian to choose from. And the hot and spicy really was hot enough, which is hard to get anywhere. Points for that! But the biggest thing for us was still the bread section. Chilli naan! Pudina paratha! Oh how I've missed you! The portions are cheap (about 1300 HuF) and so big that we had to take a doggy bag with. And we eat big. Always. I recommend this with all my heart!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelsinkiBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Curry. Yay!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Decor is 'authentic'. Service is slightly dour, but the food is delicious as are the mango lassis. Fortunately, I live dangerously close to this place. Unfortunately, my girlfriend starts crying because the food is so good (slightly embarassing).

If you are missing curry, come here. It is better than the other places I have tried in this part of the world.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Hawk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Indian food in Budapest”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I was hankering for a heavy meal so decided to go to Pandzsab as it is near to Margaret Island (where we were at that point) and based on Lonely Planet's recommendation. I was really surprised by the quality of food - really authentic prawn curry - nicely spicy too! It's a small place, and we were quite lucky that it was not too busy at that time. Definitely somewhere to go for the food, not the atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CempakaSeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best to order”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Order from them. They deliver in 20 min and fresh and delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsirfeka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pandzsab also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pandzsab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing