We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, lovely music, overall a delightful evenind”
Review of Rezkakas Bistro

Rezkakas Bistro
Ranked #89 of 3,108 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Roberts Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Food good, lovely music, overall a delightful evenind”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Was recommended by the hotel concierge, did not disappoint. The food was very good, not the best ever, but definitely better than most tourist fare. The service was very friendly and attentive. The musicians were charming. Overall a good dining experience, given that it is located in the midst of lots of tourist oriented restaurants.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller98735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    341
    114
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
564 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Good Hungarian food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The food is very good but overpriced for what you get. The bread was very delicious. You need to make a reservation or you will be eating outside with cars going by on the street. The celery soup was very good but the pickled vegetables were just average. We had the goulash which my husband thought was very good. I thought it could have been spicier. Our friend had the oxtail soup which he liked a lot. He also had goose breast and said it was very delicious. It would be more enjoyable inside. They do provide blankets and have heaters outside.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I rarely go to restaurants suggested by my hotel - are they suggesting their brother's place? - but I did go here and it was the best! The food, the service, the decor, and the music, including that on the SAW, all were fantastic and not too expensive. Go there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ambience, but very overpriced”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very expensive and overpriced restaurant for food that was good, but not outstanding. A lemonade was 1100 HUF, or $4.67. However, it does have a very nice ambience, with great music inside. Go there if you really want to splurge, listen to the music. You can get euqally good food at lower priced restaurants.
Tip: Please check the menu and the prices before seating, so that way you know what you are getting into.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poori828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent music accompanying great meal”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nice location close to St Stephen's. Gyspy music made it extra special. They even played Happy Birthday for one of the patron's. The staff brought out a dessert with a huge--and I mean huge sparkled!!

We began with the Hungry Village appetizer which consisted of chicken liver pate, 2different sausages and home made cottage cheese. Excellent! I wish it had been slightly larger which is the fault I would echo throughout this meal. We enjoyed the Chicken and spinach/peas with its home made sauce, and another meal consisting of tender morsels of pork with shells in a light paprika sauce, but we would have liked a little more. Maybe a salad would have helped which was not included in the meal. The beef goulash was federal but oj favorite in terms of taste. We like it better at other restaurants.
Overall a very flavorful dinner made special by tone trio plaint gypsy music.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4okay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rezkakas Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rezkakas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing