We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, delicious steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mediterran Bistro

Mediterran Bistro
Ranked #2,347 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, European, Steakhouse, Pub, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Terézváros
Description: Liszt Ferenc Square, one of the oldest cafe-restaurant on the Mediterranean Cafe. Summer terrace for 70 people, 80 people during winter interiors, loft and two more separate place holds. The menu includes Hungarian and Mediterranean dishes, specialty cocktails and coffee specialties can be found. We expect real coffee house atmosphere EVERYBODY!
2 reviews
“Good, delicious steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I was there in april. Good food, good price, good service. Lot of souce and style. The square was fantastic in the sunshine.

Helpful?
Thank Krisztián L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    7
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
budapest
Level Contributor
214 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good for pálinka. Poor for lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

As this bistro has quite high prices, we chose an "opportunity" - when discount coupons can be purchased in advance.
We made reservation one day before (you have to make a 24 hours notice!!!) - and after some "search of a table in the reservation book" we were given a table for 4 at 1PM.
We went there, and only one table was occupied..
We ordered the hamburger menu, nad had to wait 45 minutes to get the dish.
I think the reason was, that they had to wait until the pommes gets luke warm. (The hamburger was nice, but surely made one day before).
The service was OK, and the palinka-selection is excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank handhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intrepid traveler
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Personally our favorite Pub/Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We often stop in here of an evening for a palinka and beer, but it must be said, that I'd wager you'll not find a better steak anywhere in the city than this mostly quiet gem. It was tender, it was aged and it had no meat tenderizer applied, as I would have developed a raging headache had they adulterated the meat with this evil stuff used quite freely by other restaurants in town. The spicy chicken salad was excellent as well. They have a varied menu for those wanting something light to those wanting a full course dinner. Staff are fabulous and if you go more than 3 times, you are considered a regular and they bother to treat you as one. I thought I liked the front windows to sit in because of the ambiance factor, but in reality, there isn't a bad seat in the house. They have additional seating in a room behind the bar if you need privacy or are having a *private* little get together celebration for a birthday or anniversary, or just meeting up with old friends to *chew the fat*. In this day and age, it's lovely to be treated in a familiar way by people who seem to care that you dropped in whether for a drink or a full meal. Oh, and it's a great place to pick up a bottle of Palinka for a gift as the owner will order you the rare ones hard to find anywhere else but the *specialty shop* ....great owner, great food, great feeling when we leave. We'll always go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cintia.ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service...Very Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

I've been in Europe for several years now so I really appreciate good customer service when I get it. The staff from the hostess to the waiter were very friendly and accommodating, especially considering we were a party of four adults and 4 kids, which I assume is not their normal clientele. Everyone like the food and the kids loved the fact that the waiter downloaded coloring pages and printed them for them on the spot. The XXL Burger and Paprika Chicken were very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unixnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yuck yuck”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

just had dinner and its shocking . the steak was I hope steak at least . poor effort for the price . way nicer next door

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pat1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mediterran Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mediterran Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing