We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, but expensive for this quality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iguana

Iguana
Ranked #126 of 3,024 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good location, but expensive for this quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice location for tourists, just off the Parliament and Szabadság Square.However, the food used to be more tasty and of higher quality. We ordered a tequila coctail, which was way too strong (this might not be a bad point for some).
Then we ordered a Taco salad, which according to the menu contained guacamole, sour cream and black olives. This was represented by hardly a spoonful of guacamole and sour cream and three (3!) pieces of black olives. The rest was iceberg salad that swam in a very fluid tomato sauce.
All in all, for this price I expected more of the "expensive and valuable" ingredients, this is why I gave poor rating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank g-dina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    224
    76
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hard to find a place. But I got lucky and what an evening it was. Great food. Good pure vegetarian food even with all my long set of allergies. Awesome staff with impeccable service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keyur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lot of drinks and a lot of tequila with their signature tomato shot all of it was great! The mojito especially!
Had the combo starter and the nacho with 5 dips, great for 6 people.
Mains were terrific!
Service was great but they were a bit understaffed.
We had a wonderful night with the family 30-60years
Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Martin_Ahfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I always visit this restaurant when I'm in Budapest.

Great atmosphere, friendly staff and great food, served in large portions for a fair price.

I can highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosehjerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Bad and expensive...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very nice tourist location, near the newly upgraded parliament area in Budapest, but what should now be urgently upgraded is the Iguana bar and grill, auto-proclaimed Mexican restaurant. The food is tasteless, burritos, tacos et enchilada tasting the same, the salads looking risky ones, the guacamol barely tasting advocato... An oldish place, badly decorated in ugly mexican style, no ambiance, inaiudible music, dirty tables and chaiurs, and particularly disgusting high chairs for babies... and the prices arte far too high for what one gets in his plate... Knowing it, the service is already included in the bill. Iguana might habe been an interesting place to get some more exotic food ion Budapest, but it is not the case anymore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iguana also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing