We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place To Stay While Visiting Budapest”
Review of Alex Pension

Alex Pension
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alex Pension
Ranked #197 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My wife and I stayed with Livia & Sandor for two weeks in April, 2009 while visiting Budapest and we found a hidden gem! They are at your service to make your stay comfortable and your visit a success. They remodeled the villa 10 years ago and they offer 4 rooms that are clean, quiet, & comfortable at a very affordable prices. They will pick you up and return you to the airport (10 minutes away), offer great home cooked meals if you wish, and take you around to the local sites. After a day or two "you are part of the family." Livia will do all that is possible to see that you enjoy your stay. The only drawback is that the villa is about 2 miles from the train station (for a 30 minute trainride into Budapest) in Gyomro. This is overcome by Livia taking you to the station and picking you up after your return. This is an added expense and you must let her know when you plan to return. Not a major problem but must be dealt with. We have stayed in pensions and B&Bs around much of Europe and we rate this one the very best!
Bruce & Sharon Brockett

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeniorBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 4 October 2007

After 18 months of travel in Europe and Russia, I have seen the best and worst of hotels, pensions and hostels. But in a short time I stayed there, Alex Pension ranks at the top of the list in pleasant surprises. A converted luxury home, this pension has the feel of staying at your rich aunt's house - very roomy, very clean and modern, and with a family hospitality.

I arrived late by train to Keleti and neglected to check my email where Alex had written to say he would pick me up from the train station. That mistake cost me a lot of money because while Alex was riding around looking for me with a sign with my name, I was trying to talk the Keleti train station taxi drivers down from a 140 Euro asking price to get to the pension. I finally agreed to pay 50 Euro thinking I had no other choice. Big mistake.

The pension was a bit hard to find and the taxi driver had to stop 4 times to ask directions (oh why didn't I check my email?). But when we pulled up, Alex's wife was outside to greet me by name worried that they had not found me. The house, I must say, was gorgeous from the outside and even more amazing on the inside. She ushered me into my first floor room which was a very good size and very nicely decorated - no dusty relics or moldy wood furniture - all very modern and clean but like home not like a hotel.

Even though it was very late she offered to cook me a nice Hungarian dinner while I changed and Alex arrived to explain his hour-long efforts to find me including asking all the taxi drivers if they had seen me. The food was fantastic and I settled into my comfortable room with wireless Internet. They both woke at 4:30 to get coffee and breakfast ready for me and and Aussie couple take me to the airport for my 7:30 flight. This is a BIG advantage to the location of this pension, no fighting the Budapest traffic which can be a nightmare. It's a quick 10 minute drive to the airport and no worries of traffic delays.

I didn't get to stay in Budapest long this trip but next time I am definitely booking my stay at Alex's.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Expat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matvey1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makigami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,949 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chesscom
#103 of 336 in Budapest
388 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,515 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 336 in Budapest
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Pension

Address: Ulloi ut 24 | Gyomro, Budapest 2230, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing