We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept, okay food. ”

KonyvBar & Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 4,222 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £13 - £43
Cuisines: Hungarian, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Erzsebetvaros
Description: Books and unquenchable affection for gastronomy called up this restaurant, where we can live for both of our passion. We offer a weekly changing books inspired cuisine traditional menu and excellent drinks in addition to taste. Have you ever felt while reading a good script the food flavor in your mouth? Have you ever wanted to try pumpkin juice of Harry Potter and the butterbeer? Want to know what flavor has the Fifty Shades of Grey? Have you ever imagined what could eat Pooh and Piglet, and you are wondering what kind of food could be Tuskevar, or Animal Farm or Gullivers Travells? Visit us and we'll show you how we are inspired by the books! If you do not want to miss your favorite book, come every week!
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The concept is amazing, it feels like living the dream. A must visit place for book lovers! I gave four stars because 1. The food is mediocre, and 2. The staff doesn't explain the menu, the concept, or this week's theme. If I didn't read reviews before going there, I wouldn't even realise that this restaurant serves book-themed dishes.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 803 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016

First of all, the atmosphere of the restaurant is amazing, I had never seen anything like that before. You feel like you are eating in a small library, and even their menu is book related. It is a really nice concept if you ask me!

The food is nothing short of superb. I had a 3 course menu. A delicious goulash as a starter, fresh gnocchis for the main course and a sweet mango mousse for dessert. The three things were simply perfect, I do not have a single complain. Even the price was fantastic, I got all this for a mere 21 Euros!

The service was also impeccable. We were served by S. Attila and he was really helpful with the menu.

It is also in a nice location, close from a lot of bars, pubs and clubs. Go for a drink afterwards!

A solid 5 stars, don't miss it!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

The food, service, and ambiance are excellent. A great modern take on traditional Hungarian dishes. It's a little pricey for Budapest, but still very affordable if paying on USD, Euro, etc.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

This restaurant was a real find. The place itself is incredibly stylish, the service is excellent and the food, sublime. We like good food and this has to rank as one of the best meals we have had in a long time. The book-themed menu was inspirational and fun, which all great food must be. Budapest is worth a repeat visit, all the more so knowing that we can come back here for another delightfully delicious meal.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 661garyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

This was a fantastic find in Budapest. Not only was the food fantastic but it was also relatively inexpensive for the food we got. We went for an early dinner and didn't have to have a reservation.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank jordanselva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed KonyvBar & Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KonyvBar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.