We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot, perfect food ”

KonyvBar & Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 4,222 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £13 - £43
Cuisines: Hungarian, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Erzsebetvaros
Description: Books and unquenchable affection for gastronomy called up this restaurant, where we can live for both of our passion. We offer a weekly changing books inspired cuisine traditional menu and excellent drinks in addition to taste. Have you ever felt while reading a good script the food flavor in your mouth? Have you ever wanted to try pumpkin juice of Harry Potter and the butterbeer? Want to know what flavor has the Fifty Shades of Grey? Have you ever imagined what could eat Pooh and Piglet, and you are wondering what kind of food could be Tuskevar, or Animal Farm or Gullivers Travells? Visit us and we'll show you how we are inspired by the books! If you do not want to miss your favorite book, come every week!
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We came here for a goodbye dinner with a very close friend based on tripadvisor reviews. It was absolutely PERFECT! We picked the two things we go for regularly in restaurants, me the salmon, him the steak, and completely cleaned up both out plates. In short, this is a cozy little restaurant with kind staff and great food, right in the heart of the city. Head out afterwards to one of the beer gardens on kazinczy street for a night cap.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank csii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 795 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had a really good dinner in KönyvBar! Very tasty food and well presentated. Good draft beer (some smaller brewery), much better than the usual Dreher you get everywhere.
The service was very pleasant as well.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T-Traveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

6 of us turned up at 10pm for a 9.30pm Saturday booking. Roland and staff were very accommodating. The food was exceptional. The steak I had was by far the best steak I have had in Europe (I've been living here for 6 months). Everyone else at the table loved their meals too. The service was excellent- fun, casual but perfectly attentive. The book theme also makes it a really unique experience. Definitely a must for any trip to Budapest!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely setting with an inventive menu, definitely something to try if you're looking for something out of the ordinary. Helpful and courteous staff. Amazing value for money.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ClaireMc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Two English students arrived at Konyvbar full of interest and curiosity. The concept behind the restaurant intrigued us; the chef reads a new novel every two weeks and formulates a menu accordingly. The restaurant aims to produce dishes which marry cooking and literature.

Our menu was based on 'Flatland' by Abbott, a novel based around shape and space. Naturally, the menu followed suit.

Our starters were a cold cherry soup and a scallop cone. Both dishes were equally full of bizarre flavour combinations whilst remaining tasty. Our conversation remained entirely based on the food, our experience of it and the relation it had to the novel of the night.

Our mains were a rabbit cuboid and a chicken cube with various sides. These were served with astonishing precision. The flavour combinations were good but nothing spectacular. But yet again, we found we could only speak about the food.

To finish, we shared a Rubik's cube comprising of different small cubes of flavours including basil, mint, brownie and peach gelatine. Whilst we liked some flavours and weren't too sure about others, we were in constant conversation about the pudding's presentation and concept

As an overall experience, we found that the food was pretty good, not outstanding, but that the concept was to be thoroughly admired. Not only did we speak about the basis for the menu all night but carried on doing so the next day. As an experience, this is not one to be missed if you are literature enthusiasts or want to try something completely unique and unusual.

In addition to this, the staff were friendly and attentive, and our evening was generally relaxed and calm. We would recommend this for most hungry book worms and travellers; a great, although reasonably priced, evening out.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank alpalpoo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed KonyvBar & Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KonyvBar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.