We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience in budapest...”
Review of Kiskakukk Etterem

Kiskakukk Etterem
Ranked #120 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible experience in budapest...”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

terrible experience. I ordered pork and i received chicken. I ask the waiter if it is the pork I ordered and he replied yes ! This is the first time in my life. What a big insulting lie ! This main course was pre cooked. building and area are ok. This one of my worst experience in a restaurant. I dont understand why this restaurant with a pricing 20 % higher than the average, with not so good pre cooked food and this kind of service can have this ranking and comments from other customers. You can find easily in budapest less expensive, great service and very good food. avoid this kind of restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    207
    51
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waiters so rude we walked out of this forgettable communist era throwback.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When asked if they had a free table in their outdoor seating for us, our 5 rs old and my parents, the waiters simply laughed at us and said 'of course not! and laughed. We simply walked out, none the worse, and will never return as the mediocrity of the place is forgettable. It is an easy place to forget as there are a number of very good, extremely friendly places on the same street. A forgettable communist era throwback.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewHope2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We came there in July, ordered goose liver and goose leg and salmon rolls... Food was great the service was fast and we really enjoyed the visit, definitely one of the best places to visit.

Helpful?
Thank Uri V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zurich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, very good value”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went to this place on the recommendation of a friend from Budapest. We ate there three times during our one week of vacation. It was by far the best place we found around (for our budget).
The setting was traditional, the service very professional and friendly. It's clearly a place with tradition and oriented to locals, although we had no problems communicating in English. Amazingly, prices were lower than the standards in the area.
The food was gorgeous. The quality was by far better than in the other places we tried. The portions were big and there were several options for vegetarians.
Since the place is crowded in the evenings, we recommend to reserve a table.

Highly recommended, I wouldn't look further for other places.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucciud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Authentic Hungarian Cuisine”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The best meal we had in Budapest--by far! Some local friends took us to this restaurant promising fabulous Hungarian cuisine without all the touristy hype--and we were not disappointed. The food is fresh, the menu large and varied, and the service is friendly. The restaurant also boasts a homely quiet atmosphere, and it's not at all stuffy or done-up; it's elegant while still remaining casual. We were a party of six, including two children ages 14 and 10; we had reservations, were seated immediately and tended to like we were the only ones in the room (which we were not--the restaurant was at least half full, as we were there at 6:00, so a bit early by European standards). They serve such a great variety of foods--I highly recommend the eggplant stuffed turkey with jasmine rice; and my youngest really enjoyed the roasted goose leg. If you want amazing food, ample portions, great service at a very good price, I would recommend getting a table at Kiskakukk Etterem. Fabulous!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blessedfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kiskakukk Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kiskakukk Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing