We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budapest Museum Central
Ranked #104 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Calm and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

50m from the Kalvin Ter metro and tram stations. Hotel in a building with an inside courtyard - don't look for a big lit up sign but just a metal plaque next to the interphone to access the building. On arrival at the airport we used the "Airport Shuttle Service" and paid for our return journey - very well organized and saved us trying to understanding the money, the cost and the
transport system. their desk is just outside the arrivals hall - you can't miss it. They also came to pick us up at the hotel for our return journey with no problem. The hotel is family run and someone at reception 24h. Very good value for money ! Free bottle of white wine which we asked to put in their fridge. We had a room on the courtyard side which was a bit gloomy and smelled of cooking - ask for a room overlooking the Budapest Museum which is much lighter! You buy entrance tickets to the baths via the hotel but can't have access before 9h00 in the morning. The restaurant Karolyi is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and is a "must" - see the restaurant review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Budapest Museum which is much lighter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grigs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    151
    37
    8
    9
See reviews for
40
172
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a rooms only service, but their is a reception area and the staff - mostly young girls - were very helpful and always friendly and welcoming. They made cups of tea and coffee. The room was large and airy and spotless. I would use them again. They have other similar places available nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 42adrianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great location. Not too sure when first entered the front door! However, lovely room, great facilities and lovely, helpful receptionists. You should be proud of these lovely ladies. Very secure, very peaceful - love the fact that the hotel has ground rules and are not afraid to enforce them. Very comfortable - will stay there again. They don't serve breakfast but have a facility at a nearby cafe which is very, very good. Right opposite the National Museum and very close to the river Danube and lovely restaurants everywhere. This is a winner for guests wanting security, peace and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie&Vinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is realky in the twon center. The recepconist are really nice and helpfull (especially Veronica &Kinga). It feels like at home.
They have a lot of TV channels and free wifi too.
We will come back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angi1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I'm too old for hostels and dorms but not willing to spend major dollars on a place to sleep when there are great, decently priced options like the Budapest Museum Central. It is located right across the street from the National Museum, steps away from a metro stop, and within walking distance of most the major sights in Pest. The room was basic but big and super clean. Not many toiletries but I travel with my own so that wasn't an issue for me. Reception staff were helpful and there is free tea and coffee in the hallway. It's a little hard to find but the hotel gives excellent step by step directions and if you follow them you'll find it with no problem. I had a great time in Budapest and if I ever go back I'll definitely look this place up again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I spent a long weekend with my girlfriend in this accomodation.
We got a room with a view to the Hungarian National Museum. They have good, sound proofed windows, we could not hear the traffic at all. We booked with special conditions, and we got a bottel of wine as well. The rooms are big enough and clean. And the wifi is free in the room as well! They have a lot of channels (english, italian, german, french).
The place has a really good staff, (24 hour reception). They are really helpful and smile all the time.
The breakfast was about 3 minutes walk, at Astoria in a Caffee. We got the voucher every morning at the reception.

It is really in the center, we arrived by car, and we used the public transport or walked during our stay. You can reach the Danube in 10 minutes walk and the panorama is amaising, I love this city!

We will definitly come back!

Room Tip: Try a Dinner&Cruise, we did it this time and the city in lights was amaizing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fkvri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here with 4 family members over Easter, having read the good reviews in TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. Rooms were clean and airy, with a complementary bottle of wine on arrival awaiting us on each room. Staff on duty at reception were extremely polite and helpful with local information at all times. The location of the hotel could hardly be bettered - easy access from the airport on bus/Metro, and once there everything is within walking distance. Some reviewers have suggested the hotel is in a rough area but this may be due to unfamiliarity with the City. We never felt in the least uncomfortable. Many excellent restaurants are within 10 minutes' walk, quite safe on foot, even in the evening. If you are looking for charm, a family atmosphere, simple elegance and the genuine Hungarian touch (this hotel us not part of a chain) this us an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Critic1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#86 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#59 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#41 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Hotel Museum Budapest
#78 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Museum Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Museum Central

Property: Budapest Museum Central
Address: Muzeum koerut 39, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#58 Family Hotel in Budapest
#70 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Museum Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Museum Central is located in the heart of historical center of Budapest directly across from the Hungarian National Museum and many of its rooms have spectacular views onto the Museum. Visitors cannot find a more central location: less than a 5 minute walk from the famous shopping area of Vaci Street and within walking distance from the worldwide famous Gellert Thermal Baths and the romantic Danube river embankment with an amazing view over Budapest Castle district. The rooms are newly renovated and all equipment and furniture are brand new. All rooms have work area with free Internet access, Sat TV, air conditioning and sound proof windows. The Studios have also Jacuzzi hydro massage and kitchen. Our English speaking staff is ready to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Budapest Museum Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Museum Central Hotel Budapest
Museum Central Hotel Budapest
Museum Central Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing