We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budapest Museum Central
Ranked #112 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Great place for a short stay. Peaceful inner yard. Small annoyances: Jacuzzi didn't work. Blanket was only 170 cm long. The web page said that breakfast is included, and check-out is at 11, but in reception we were told that breakfast costs extra and check-out is at 10. We booked double bed, but got two single.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

The location was great, effectively like staying opposite the British Museum in London with a great view out over the Hungarian National Museum. I walked up and down Muzeum KRT three times trying to find the place, eventually found it with the help of a service guy and broken German! I was looking for a hotel entrance but actually it's in an apartment block, super cool as the ceilings are really high, huge bedrooms and a more authentic feel to it. No breakfast (that I was told about) or shampoo in the room, and I think I would have benefitted from the receptionist giving me more information when I first got there but nevertheless they were all lovely.

As I said, great location. Walk up the street and you are near the Synagogue and Jewish Quarter, walk round the corner and you get to the bottom end of Vaci Street with lots of bars and restaurants - more expensive than the Jewish Quarter for sure. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a base to explore, comfortable and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to be facing out over the Museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Just spent 3 wonderful nights in Budapest using the Museum Central as our base.

My wife and I were quite taken back when arrived at the big door which provided access via intercom into an alley then an open courtyard. Up a few stairs and we got inside what can only be described as a small creaking lift to the 2nd floor.

At the top we turned into a small reception area where we received a friendly welcome, shown to our room (1 of 5 ) I think and given a run down to how things works and where everything is.

This is not a luxurious hotel however what it does offer is an fantastic central location, comfortable bedrooms , an ever attentive staff and represents excellent value for money.

The welcome wine was another unexpected gesture.

Hopefully people working to a tight budget

Room Tip: We were in room 3 (Museum & Main Road Facing ) and once the double glazing was closed street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Once again we've had a lovely stay at this hotel! We arrived on the 14th feb for 4 nights, us & 8 others & we were made very welcome(for us,this is our second stay here).
Everyone was most impressed with the hotel. It's location is just perfect. It's as clean as can be & the staff are all very friendly & very helpful. & it surely is great value for money.
We wouldn't hessitate in recommending this hotel to anyone & we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmillidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed in one of this hotel's studios (we've no idea how the standard rooms are) which are very large in size, has all you need - kitchenette with electric kettle, plates, cuttlery, etc. There is also a laundry machine (don't know if it works, we didn't use it). It was very clean, in good condition, and a nice wine bottle, on the house, expected us when we arrived. Wifi was available for free, the connection was very good.
The location is great: about 3 minutes walk to Astoria (which offers good metro and tram stations) and from the great synagogue, 5 minutes walking to Vaci Utca, less than 10 minutes walk to the great market. We also felt very safe coming back to the studio late at night.
Just notice that the studios are not located in the main building, which is exactly opposite the National museum (but they are about 5 minutes by foot, and the hotel offers to take you there in a taxi, free of charge, at least when you check in). The studios are located in 20 Puskin Utca, in a nice apartment block.
The reception is open 24 hours (we arrived around 01:00, and had no problems), and the staff was very kind and assisted us with some weird requests (translating few things to Hungarian...).
At whole - we had very good experience and definitely recommend this hotel to anyone we know who intend to visit Budapest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at the apartments for four nights. The location was spot on, easy walking distance for all the sights,room had everything you needed and the jacuzzi bath was a lovely bonus. The price we paid was well worth it and would recommend it to others. Budapest has lots to see and would definately head to Gellert Hill , the views are fantastic.Just round the corner was a sports bar called CHAMPS,on DOHANY ST,40 screens and all the games you needed,food was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizz118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#108 of 335 in Budapest
481 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#137 of 335 in Budapest
544 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 335 in Budapest
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 335 in Budapest
612 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#120 of 335 in Budapest
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Museum Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Museum Central

Address: Muzeum koerut 39, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#58 Family Hotel in Budapest
#70 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £30 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Museum Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Museum Central is located in the heart of historical center of Budapest directly across from the Hungarian National Museum and many of its rooms have spectacular views onto the Museum. Visitors cannot find a more central location: less than a 5 minute walk from the famous shopping area of Vaci Street and within walking distance from the worldwide famous Gellert Thermal Baths and the romantic Danube river embankment with an amazing view over Budapest Castle district. The rooms are newly renovated and all equipment and furniture are brand new. All rooms have work area with free Internet access, Sat TV, air conditioning and sound proof windows. The Studios have also Jacuzzi hydro massage and kitchen. Our English speaking staff is ready to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Budapest Museum Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Museum Central Hotel Budapest
Museum Central Hotel Budapest
Museum Central Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing