We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budapest Museum Central
Ranked #106 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent 5 nights is this hotel.

The hotel location is excellent. The pedestrian zone Vaci is only 2 mins walk from the hotel. You can reach the city hearth walking only 10 to 15 mins. Also the public transportation system is very close. The tram and bus stops are 1 min walk from the hotel, and the underground line 4 mins walk.

The ticket seller did give a helpful guidance how to go in when you come at first time. The hallway and another gate made at first time some unfamiliar feeling, but we had no problems to go in during our visit.

If you don't buy a public transportation ticket or a Budapest Card by the airport for your visiting time, we recommend to contact www.airportshuttle.hu for buying in advance the hotel tarnsportations. We have used this mini-bus company several times. The system functions well and you reach your hotel door fast. The company gives a return pick-up time They have always been waiting for us in the correct time and we had no hurry for shoppings at the airport..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaJoe1539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    151
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
40
173
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel. The staff was VERY helpful and friendly. We have one double room for 2 people, and one room for 3 people. Everything was very clean and neat. The hotel was really quiet. The beds were comfortable and big enough. Bathroom was clean and nice. The location is great for exploring Budapest! It is opposite the National Museum. From the trainstation Keleti pu you can take the Metro and you will be at the Metro Station Astoria, from where it is a short walk (about 7 min) to the hotel. They also offer to sell you snacks - water, beers, chips, chocolate - to a very reasonable price. We loved this, especially after a long day of sightseeing it was nice to get a bottle of wine and some potatoe chips to end the day :) If you book breakfast, you will get a voucher for a nice cafe where you can have your breakfast. The cafe was really nice too.
The hotel is in an apartment building. Once you have checked in, you get a key for the front door and the second gate within the building - we felt very safe too (not that I have ever felt unsafe in Budapest :) ).
We were are happy with this hotel, and I would recommend it any time and should I go back to Budapest, I will gladly book there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Generally this hotel was good but was let down by a couple of points. The location is excellent and very central. The city centre is small and easily walkable. The hotel rooms are split over two locations so when we arrived to check in we were directed to walk a couple of streets away. The apartment we had was very clean and well-equipped, even with a washing machine. The Internet connection on the free wifi dropped out occasionally. However, the hotel rooms are located in big, old, slightly run-down apartment buildings so some of the neighbours are not connected with the hotel. Our room had a stern notice warning that we would be fined €1000 if we made noise after 8pm, however on our third night we were kept awake by music, tv and talking from upstairs. The only help we got from the receptionist was that they would phone the police if the noise went on after midnight. We were woken at 7:30 by more tv and shuffling about upstairs.
If it hadn't been for the noise I would have had no complaints and I wasn't confident that the single, young staff member on duty at night was able to deal with it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed there only for one night on our way back from Veszprem. The entrance is somewhat shabby. You have to ring the bell to no. 10 and they open the gates for you. The rooms and reception are on the 2nd floor.
Other than that everything was great about the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious with excellent air conditioning. The staff was very helpful and they have someone at the reception all the time. Breakfast was in a cafe 10 minutes of walk away but was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usmanfarrokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were here from June 20-23. Room and bathroom are clean. The staff is very friendly, helpful and they all speak good English. Despite of the hotel being in front of a busy street, the room was quiet. They gave us a bottle of white wine as a welcome gift which was great. You have to enter 2 doors before you enter the reception so it felt very safe. Location is central close to many restaurants, the tram stop and the hop on hop off stop. Walking distance to central market, Jewish synagogue, and many other sights. Will surely recommend this place. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doveherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Me and a friend stayed for five nights. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice and clean and we got a bottle of wine upon arrival. :-) The breakfast at a nearby café was good (four choices: omelett with cheese, toast with ham and cheese, yoghurt with cereals or croissant and jam, and then of course tea, coffee and juice). For the price we paid I would say we got a lot of value for our money. The location is very central with walking distance to all the sights, if you don´t want to it´s also close to the metro and the tram.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel is cheap and cheerful in a very good location for doing the main sites and close to a metro stop. Breakfast is at a cafe a little way down the road which is substantial but a bit repetitive after a couple of days.
The rooms are spacious enough with good efficient shower.
The negatives - the road outside is very noisy so you need to keep the window closed which makes the room very hot (no air conditioning). The staff are not terribly efficient, gave us false information when we asked them about a restaurant and any enquiry seemed like an inconvenience to them.
Overall pretty good for the price and would definitely ask for a court yard room not one facing the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudapestPanorama, General Manager at Budapest Museum Central, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you for taking time and sharing a review about our property.

I am so sorry that our place did not meet your expectations. We are situated in the city center, than our guests can reach everything easily. We have double glased windows which helps the rooms to be as quiet as possible.
All of our rooms are equipped with modern air conditions which can be turned on and off with a remote control placed inside each room. Perhaps you switched it off involuntarily and did not turn it on again.
I am terribly sorry if you did not find our staff helpful. We have 24-hour front desk service, so someone is always available at the reception. We have new members and we try to do our best, train the receptionists from time to time to provide better service.

Hope next time you will like your stay more and have much more pleasant experience.

Management of Budapest Museum Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#91 of 342 in Budapest
438 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 342 in Budapest
565 reviews
Hotel Museum Budapest
#77 of 342 in Budapest
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#40 of 342 in Budapest
670 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
521 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Museum Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Museum Central

Property: Budapest Museum Central
Address: Muzeum koerut 39, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#58 Family Hotel in Budapest
#70 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Museum Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Museum Central is located in the heart of historical center of Budapest directly across from the Hungarian National Museum and many of its rooms have spectacular views onto the Museum. Visitors cannot find a more central location: less than a 5 minute walk from the famous shopping area of Vaci Street and within walking distance from the worldwide famous Gellert Thermal Baths and the romantic Danube river embankment with an amazing view over Budapest Castle district. The rooms are newly renovated and all equipment and furniture are brand new. All rooms have work area with free Internet access, Sat TV, air conditioning and sound proof windows. The Studios have also Jacuzzi hydro massage and kitchen. Our English speaking staff is ready to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Museum Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Museum Central Hotel Budapest
Museum Central Hotel Budapest
Museum Central Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing