We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian Fare in Budapest”
Review of Trattoria Toscana

Trattoria Toscana
Ranked #81 of 3,120 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Trattoria Toscana and it's adjacent L'enoteca Wine bar are beautifully located along the Danube river and offer you excellent, authentic Tuscan cuisine and top quality Italian and Hungarian wines. Our friendly, multi-lingual staff pay special attention to your needs and enjoy helping to create a pleasurable dining experience for you. Buon Apetito!
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian Fare in Budapest”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We wanted a change from local cuisine and craved Italian. Fortunately, we came upon Trattoria Toscana and were not disappointed. Our group of six sampled both pizza and pasta entrees in a nice atmosphere with friendly staff and reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWC1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    342
    90
    39
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Just left my third visit and will definitely be back.  Had the carpaccio with arugula and it definitely was comparable to what you find in Tuscany.  The fish is also very fresh and well prepared, I shared a sampler plate of seafood that I was really impressed with.  My kids also liked their pizza and pasta dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevieD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner on the Danube bank”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Why try an Italian restaurant in Budapest ?.....
First of all,because the Toscana is genuine.Looks like a trattoria somewhere in Empoli,for instance,and cooks maybe a little bit better than it too. :)
Being a fan of the Italian cuisine I tried the pasta.Loved it.Huge plate of ravioli with an excellent tomato and basil sauce.Tried some salad as well.Fresh and refreshing ingredients.Tried a choice of local wine - semi sweet - suggested by the staff - I couldn't have picked it better myself.
There was no room for desert,though..and they had some interesting offers on the menu...
Service was perfect.
Stayed on the terrace because the views : the Danube,the Gellert hill with the Citadella,the Chain bridge by night.Fantastic.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karlyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oud-Beijerland
Level Contributor
630 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Good food, nice interior and friendly people”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Beware if you'r going there : the Belgrad rakpart is on google maps about 500 mtrs further
positioned than it is on g-maps. So it is on the board of the Danube near Liberty bridge instead of
near Elizabeth bridge. Also here its better to make a reservation ( can by e-mail). Due to the fact
that we couldn't find it right away , we ended there half an our late bu they didn't mind.
Quality of the food (and especially the wine) is very good. Regretfully we couldn't sit on the terras outside where you have a direct view at the Danube.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fmoreijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full charge”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My 5th visit to Budapest in 2 years and 2nd visit to this restaurant as the Calzone is something special, However i also ordered a so called Lasagne.. well i did expect it to be slightly different as it was a Duck lasagne but let me tell you, i have been to many Italian kitchens in my life time, but this THING they served up after a 25min wait, did not resemble a lasagne in any shape or form, actually i wouldny have cared if it at least tasted like something but it was worse than horrible.
i managed to eat about 10% of this mess before asking thwe waiter to take it away. i also asked if the chef was Italian, of course not, a waiter came of and asked what the problem was pretending to care.. they still charged me for it. bad service i will never go there again. ps there are much better Italian restaurants in Budapest than this one

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanuckinBp, Owner at Trattoria Toscana, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Adam,

I am sorry that your 2nd visit to Trattoria Toscana was not as positive as your first. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy the lasagne dish that you ordered, but unless the dish was improperly prepared, or the raw materials used were not fresh, then there is no grounds for a refund. That dish is a simple dish made from simple ingredients. It is a recipe from the Tuscan countryside and it is not a standard lasagne recipe, thus the duck in it. We have a number of simple Tuscan dishes from the countryside which are not complicated dishes, but are appreciated by people who want to try such authentic dishes.

Our staff are genuinely concerned if a guest is not happy with your food, so apologies if the waiter serving you did not handle you as he should have on this isolated occasion.

Regarding the chef, as you can see on our website, we have an Italian executive chef, Vincenzo Semararo from Tuscany, who visits our restaurant regularily to ensure we are continuing to produce high quality dishes frmo our kitchen. Addiotionally, my partner in actually in Tuscany right now and interviewing Italian chefs to join us full-time at Trattoria Toscana in Budapest. Authentic ingredients and preparation by the chefs are very important to us.

I find it interesting that you were only visiting Budapest, yet your name is AdamBudapest? If you visit Budapest again, I would appreciate the opportunity to show you how good Trattoria Toscana actually is. Feel free to contact me.

Kind regards,

Rob Longworth
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Toscana also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Trattoria Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing