We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience at resturent Robinson, Budapest”

Robinson Restaurant
Ranked #194 of 3,421 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Városliget
Description: Robinson restaurant opened in 1989 on the small island of gastronomy at Varosligeti Lake, a few minutes on foot from Heroes' Square (Hosok tere). Over the past decades it earned popularity among the citizens of the capital as well as the expatriate community of Budapest. Numerous great celebrities - Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Robert Redford, David Copperfield and Larry Hagman to name but a few - have tasted the delicacies prepared in the kitchen of the Robinson. The environment of the restaurant is no less hospitable. The Museum of Fine Arts, the Budapest Zoological and Botanical Gardens, the Amusement Park of Budapest, the Great Circus and several other landmarks are located in Varosliget. Mediterranean environment, homely atmosphere, live Latin guitar music and an excellent kitchen guarantee a memorable evening spent here.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had not read or heard about this restaurant before but it looked very attractive from outside so we went in. When we came inside however, our initial positive perception was completely wrong. The waiters seemed very aloof and certainly did not make us feel welcome. After receiving some menus, we ordered pasta, a salad and a side dish. The waiter seemed to find our order very amusing presumably due to the lack of meat being ordered (I am a vegetarian) and broke out into laughter. This was very uncomfortable for the both of us. Following this episode, we then had to wait over 45 minutes to receive our order. In the meantime, other people arrived and received their order before us.
I have never felt so unwelcome in a restaurant before and the service was so unprofessional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I strongly regret, that your last visit was not satisfactory in every aspects. I would like to let you know, that we take all your criticism with the utmost seriousness, and we are currently investigating this case. I sincerely hope, that you will give us another chance, when we can host you in our restaurant, when we will be beyond your expectations!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 581 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Found this restaurant by chance when looking for lunch before going to the zoo (which is also worth seeing).
This restaurant has a really lovely setting, with tables out on a deck literally on the river - very pretty. Service was fine and the prawn Caesar salad very good. Recommended.

Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable meal here overlooking the lake on the terrace. The food was excellent and had old favourites with twists. Defintelay worth looking at the 'Mamma's Kicthen' specials. We enjoyed them all. We went here from the Szechenyi baths which are a few minutes walk away. The baths and this restaurant made the perfect night and relaxation and good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Folksyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sat outside on the terrace overlooking the lake. The waiter was exceptionally friendly and knowledgable and matched the perfect wine with our main course. The atmosphere was great, the food was lovely and the cocktails went down a treat. What more could you want?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nevertravelhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest!

It is our greatest reward that you had a fantastic time with us, as our only aim is to privide quality and great atmosphere for our customers! We hope to see you again!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a table by the lake which, on a sunny June evening was perfect. The food was not cheap, but was not very expensive and was good. The waiter was friendly and nicely corrected my Hungarian pronunciation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your praising words! It is very good to hear that you had a great time with us! I will certainly pass your appreciation to our chef, who will be definitely delighted about it!
I look forward to another occasion, when we can provide you the same quality!


With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robinson Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Robinson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing