We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice atmosphere but not cheap”

Robinson Restaurant
Ranked #186 of 3,354 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Városliget
Description: Robinson restaurant opened in 1989 on the small island of gastronomy at Varosligeti Lake, a few minutes on foot from Heroes' Square (Hosok tere). Over the past decades it earned popularity among the citizens of the capital as well as the expatriate community of Budapest. Numerous great celebrities - Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Robert Redford, David Copperfield and Larry Hagman to name but a few - have tasted the delicacies prepared in the kitchen of the Robinson. The environment of the restaurant is no less hospitable. The Museum of Fine Arts, the Budapest Zoological and Botanical Gardens, the Amusement Park of Budapest, the Great Circus and several other landmarks are located in Varosliget. Mediterranean environment, homely atmosphere, live Latin guitar music and an excellent kitchen guarantee a memorable evening spent here.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place right above the lake, and astonishingly no mosquitos! Efficient and friendly service by english speaking waiters. The food was good, but nothing to go out of your way for. Prices are pretty high for Budapest, but I guess you pay for the great location

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gogolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts here! Your positive remarks are the proof, we are on the right way. Our aim is to satisfy our guests in every way, and I am glad, that we could reach our goal in your case! I sincerely hope, that we will be beyond your expectations next time too!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 564 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was very hot day, +30℃. We had walked a long distance, and toasted in that temperature. Then we found Robinson ¨ s Kitchens littele near the little lake. On the terrace of water was running through the restaurant.

The food was really good. For example, the steak was very soft and juicy. And expensive compared to other foods, about 10 000 HUF. Salad dressing was made from oranges, which was a whole new experience for me.

Serving was fast and asillista. The waiters nice. I was pleased with my visit to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jivetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After a hot walk late morning on a very hot day we came across this restaurant in much need of refreshment but not food. We enquired whether they would serve drinks only fearing the worst given that lunchtime was fast approaching. We were welcomed and served some lovely fruit lemonades from an extensive menu. The food being served on an adjoining table looked very appetising and business men were arriving for lunch when we left. We would return for a meal next time in Budapest possibly evening as it is set lakeside with decking extending out across the water.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Holstenkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest!

It is great to hear that you had a great time with us! All we want is customer satisfaction, and it is our greatest reward that you had such a great time with us! See you next time!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our trip to Nessebar Old Town was made all the better for our visit to the Restaurant, they had three dinning areas on three different levels all looking out to sea.
Each member of staff did their utmost to make feel welcomed and comfortable.
The fish sold there was caught just the night before, it was very tasty to eat.
Two teenage girls on the next table had Lobster, it was quite funny to see them trying to break into the shell, but the staff were brilliant in helping them especially in not causing them any type of embarrassment.
There are so many restaurants on this little island but I would go there again any time.

Thank PeterOrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had not read or heard about this restaurant before but it looked very attractive from outside so we went in. When we came inside however, our initial positive perception was completely wrong. The waiters seemed very aloof and certainly did not make us feel welcome. After receiving some menus, we ordered pasta, a salad and a side dish. The waiter seemed to find our order very amusing presumably due to the lack of meat being ordered (I am a vegetarian) and broke out into laughter. This was very uncomfortable for the both of us. Following this episode, we then had to wait over 45 minutes to receive our order. In the meantime, other people arrived and received their order before us.
I have never felt so unwelcome in a restaurant before and the service was so unprofessional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I strongly regret, that your last visit was not satisfactory in every aspects. I would like to let you know, that we take all your criticism with the utmost seriousness, and we are currently investigating this case. I sincerely hope, that you will give us another chance, when we can host you in our restaurant, when we will be beyond your expectations!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robinson Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Robinson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing