We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar with artistic decor”
Review of Bar Ladino - CLOSED

Bar Ladino
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great bar with artistic decor”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

went in for a beer. Nice big clean bar/cafe. Good service and prices. Popular but not too noisy.
They have good food/drink menu with something for everyone

Helpful?
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal, away from tourist traps!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon Bar Ladino after visiting several tourist traps that were recommended on TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet. First off--great food--a mix between traditional Hungarian, Jewish and modern European. There were several fish and vegetarian options. Secondly, the food was very well prepared, nicely presented, good sized portions and most importantly--DELICIOUS! Our waitress was knowledgeable and attentive--she guided me to the nicest white Hungarian wines. The atmosphere was quiet but pleasant--lots of art on the walls, indie music, airy and spacious--we were extremely pleased with out experience and for a party of 3 we ate and drank heartily for about USD30. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arad
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very good choice for the lunch menu!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Plenty of choices for all of the three courses of the menu. I had a mixed green salad, grilled chicken breast covered with cheese and salsa with mint rice and a piece of traditionally Hungarian cheese-pasta cake. All this plus a glass of good dry white wine and tip was less than 6 Euro.
The place looks a little aged, but the food, the service and the good background music make the difference.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felicita_june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
“Great find for a good meal!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We ate at this restaurant several times - food was excellent (best veal paprika and catfish we found on this trip), service and ambience was great, especially outside - highly recomended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdkellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing food and wine!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My friends and I visit Budapest for a week and ate at this bar multiple times. The food is amazing, the best food we had in all of Hungary. We also sampled some of their house wines and found them great as well. Plus for 4 of us with entrees, mains and lots of wine, it was ridiculously cheap!

We stuck to the traditional Hungarian food and we were extremely happy with our choices! I highly recommend this bar for its food, wine and great atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Ladino also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing