We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Beautiful Cafe....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Cafe

New York Cafe
Ranked #13 of 145 Dessert in Budapest
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: The best cafe in the world! Experience traditional flavors and typical Hungarian dishes or enjoy elegant international cuisine.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Cafe....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just had to visit "the most beautiful cafe in the world" and it lived up to it's claim. The lavish ambience makes you stop and stare at the marble, bronze, silk, and velvet used as well as the Venetian crystal chandeliers and magnificent frescos on the walls and ceilings. There are gilded stuccos everywhere, including the the ladies' room! The whole place reminds me of a treasure chest.
We finally got around to ordering some food - pricey but excellent. We had mains and dessert - all which were beautifully plated almost like a work of art in itself.
The cafe had an interesting mix of elegant Hungarians and tourists and the service was exemplary.
Worth visiting at least if not dining there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaqsSharqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,806
    2,558
    1,175
    509
    328
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“like stepping in to the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful cafe / resteraunt with a full menu, all food and drinks are beautifully presented in the most elegant surroundings, with the pianist in the backgdound felt like id stepped in to an episode of herclue poirot albeit a little underdressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 596Julie_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grand with a touch of humour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just went to this magnificent place for a drink and to ogle at the opulence. Even their drinks they serve with style and a twist. Prices mean it's a treat, but worth it just for once!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bairstow_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel attached to this cafe. One night, we decided to try the restaurant out. It lives up to its billing: Most beautiful cafe. I had a Hungarian specialty recommended by the waiter and my mother had schnitzel. Both were excellent. The service was superb and we did not feel rushed in the least.

I received a little background on the grandeur of the cafe. It used to be the New York Life Insurance building. We were told that foreign companies couldn't advertise so they would demonstrate their wealth and investment in the community by developing beautiful buildings. The New York Cafe does not disappoint. You feel like you are eating in a palace.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelbug71Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the most amazing cafe - the most beautiful I have ever seen! It might be a bit more expensive than your average cafe but then you are paying for the stunning surroundings. To be honest, the food was fine, but the surroundings just were breathtaking. Not cheap but not expensive compared to coffee shop prices in the UK. To be honest, I would rather pay twice as much for a coffee and sit in the New York Cafe every day, than sit in my usual coffee shop, shame it is too far away!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to New York Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing