We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buk
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

After leaving Radisson chain, I must say this hotel became better. The changes since Radisson era:
- reduced breakfast and dinner buffets
- reduced children's playroom
- no slippers are provided anymore
- no free parking anymore
- desulphurized spa pools
+ excellent bikes
+ improved staff - more helpful, usually very kind

You will find here spacious, comfortable rooms (especially those with "golf view"), with wired internet access. I don't know why hotel management saves money on WiFi but if you want to be online there, you have to bring your own LAN cable.
There is very good kitchen, which is not always as plenty as you would expect in 5* hotel, but it was always tasty.
Excellent wellness area with several pools (experience, swimming, children's, outdoor, medical...) and saunas (finish, tepidarium, frigidarium, herbal and others) belongs to the hotel and allows you to leave your room just in bathrobe and slippers, which is great and much more comfortable than visiting public spa (about 1km from hotel). Unfortunatelly, two medical spa pool with thermal water use treated water what makes the spa experience weaker.
You can also attend to many fitness lessons for free or use paid services like massages, beauty salon etc.
If you don't want to stay just indoors, you can go for a golf course (unfortunatelly, usually closed after rains - maybe bad underdrainage?), play a tennis or rent a bike. The latter one is especially recommended as terrain around Buk is plain and easy to ride.
On the other way, there is not much else to see and to do in Buk, but if you want to relax and use the spa, I think you don't have better choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdieCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    90
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
82
96
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lukovica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Nice surroundings with golf field and lots of walking trakes - also birds paradise with some lakes etc. Food is good, perhaps not so many options for a 5 star hotel. Pools are great and saunas excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The Birdland Resort has left the Radisson chain, and is now an independent hotel. According to its website, it retains the 5* grading. What really is strange, is that the Radisson signs still pop up everywhere in and around the hotel. Even the employees still wear Radisson shirts and nametags! In the room, there are still a lot of obvious leftovers from Radisson (toiletries, etc.). And outside, when you arrive, the first thing you see is a huge Radisson sign...
There were some issues in the room, which showed a certain decline...
* No shower gel (only shampoo) provided
* Coffee Machines were obviously removed from the rooms
* Wireless internet is available, but the signal was way too weak in our room
* No slippers

The latter caused some trouble. As I did not have any slippers (and you really need them for the wellness area), I asked at the front desk for them. The guy there told me he did not have any. When confronting him with the fact that the hotel website clearly states that slippers are provided, his response was that "he did not write the website". Well, that *really* is the wrong response. I would surely expect that the guy at the front desk did not write the website, and as a guest I really don't care at all who did it... I then asked to speak to his supervisor. The supervisor was considerate, and she was able to provide slippers.

Breakfast was nothing special. Especially the fruit section was very poor, but the egg station was good. We did not opt for the dinner buffet, but for à la carte. Friendly service. The menu is the same every day, with not a single vegetarian option (confronting them with such a special request was not easy but they tried their best). The sizes of the dishes are humongous!

The wellness area was OK, but again, nothing special. The water is not as warm as we expected, especially the water outside. Only the two round thermal pools are really warm. Officially everybody is supposed to wear a wristband, like in an all-inclusive club or in hospital! We definitely did *not* do this!

The golf course is right in front of the hotel, which is nice for short walks (or playing golf if that is your passion...).

In general, we were satisfied with our stay, especially considering the potentially good value for money that you can get. But it's not 5* and I would not go there for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiiiiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I am just back from Radisson SAS Birdland hotel. I have spent there five days with my family. The hotel itself is nice, pools are great, wellness zone is fine, golfcourse is nothing special, food is on acceptable level. The only problem is service. I do not think it is ok to miss Fanta in restaurant for four days, especially when it was available in the bar. Staff in the reataurant and in the bar is quite slow and could hardly speak foreign language, english very weak, some german. I would nor rate this hotel to 5*, more proper would be 4* and for staff just 3*.

Area around is full of pensions, no shopping possibilities, except spa, there is nothing to see or visit.

I would recomend this hotel for families with childrens, golfers and people seeling silent place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I must confirm what other stated in the reviews - this hotel does not give you feeling of five stars. Especially because of the staff. Although very polite, almost no one speaks english, staff is unhelpful until you call the manager, is making mistakes every day with no sign of correcting it... this is very bad for 5*.
Let's be specific: when we arrived for "Romantic getaway" packege, room should have been decorated with rose flower. It wasn't and we also did not get dinner voucher. After complains I got apologise they "had error in the system". OK, it happens, but they never made the room decoration for my wife later.
When we arrived for the dinner on the first day, hotel restaurant was full and we had to wait more than 15 minutes. Acceptable in local pub, but not here.
The next day we had candlelight dinner in the Laguna restaurant. First we got menu card with just three items on the list. After mentioning out "romantic package", we got another, special "candle-light dinner" menu card. After we choose, we got an appologise the second menu card is outdated and got again the first, three items menu card. If you think they gave the promised candle on our table, you're terrible wrong.
Next day you want to rent a bicycle. They have just 5 (yes, five!) bikes available and until you call the manager, they deny to make a reservation for you.

On the other way, the rooms are big, bathroom is excellent, breakfast buffet is very rich and tasty and the dinner was always delicious. Spa & fitness section are large and very good, although I would appreciate gym to be open every time and not only for the lessons with instructor.

My resume - I would definitelly go back, with all mentioned negatives it is probably best place to stay in Buk. The only problem is they probably employ local village people with no idea how to run the luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdieCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I realy dont know how the RADISSON SAS chain allow that kind of Hotel carrys the name.
O.K. the rooms are pretty good but the food is terrible breakfast and dinner is for 1 star hotel somewhere in Turkey
The SPA is ok and the golf course looks nice.
The hotel is 5 km away from shops and restaurants so in very remote area.
Be carefull with food

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jurnalistus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

I spent the New Year 2007/2008 in this hotel with friends. Everything was excellent. The staff is friendly, tha romms are big and clean, the sauna aera has a wide range of facilities, the pool is cool. The sylvester party was very good-oranised and high-guality. The prices are a little bit too high in comparison with other hotels on this level.

  • Liked — Sauna aerea
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tulip2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buk
0.3 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Buk
0.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Repce Gold
1.0 mi away
Hotel Caramell
Hotel Caramell
#3 of 8 in Buk
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Piroska
Hotel Piroska
#6 of 8 in Buk
49 reviews
12.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sarvar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Golf u. 4, Buk 9740, Hungary (Formerly Birdland Resort & Spa)
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Vas County > Buk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa welcomes you! We are awaiting you in the western tip of Hungary, at the border of the picturesque Alpes and Small Plain, in the spa town of Buk, famous for its exceptional quality medical water. The 207 rooms of the 4-star superior hotel is surrounded by a beautifully maintained 18-hole championship golf course. The 7 ponds located on the course is home to 100 different species of local birds. Enjoy our more than satisfactory services, the romantic surroundings and the joy of wellness and the sports! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenfield Hotel Golf Buk
Greenfield Hotel Golf And Spa
Radisson Sas Birdland Hotel
Radisson Buk
Buk Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing