We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Resting well with breakfast in the standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Obester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Obester
Ranked #3 of 26 Debrecen B&B and Inns
Mondovi, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Resting well with breakfast in the standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Large room very quiet, good standard breakfast but too warm in the hotel. I was fine evenn though I can not stand the carpet in the hotels, I prefer modern hotels but the atmosphere is very characteristic! A problem for me was in the room 402 where the internet was not working!

Room Tip: In the 402 doesn't work internet wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
17
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our first visit to Debrecen, we booked online and we could not be happier with this Hotel.When we booked we asked for adjoining rooms for two couples if possible but because they were unable to do this they upgraded us to the best rooms. Sheer opulence with massive bedroom beautifully decorated and best bathroom I have encountered in any Hotel,twin spa with all bells and whistles,a shower that looked like a space capsule, water jets from any angle etc.The room had a separate entry area for entertaining with a lovely leather chesterfield lounge suite and flatscreen TV,wifi was free and worked everywhere.The Hotel is an easy 5 minute stroll to the centre of the city and has free parking for guests at the rear,our room was on the first floor overlooking the entrance and was quiet and peaceful with a luxurious king bed which was most comfortable.The downstairs restaurant was a delight with a great choice of meals all four of us really enjoyed,the staff were excellent and always helpful,we had no problems communicating and only one of our group speaks Hungarian.Overall I doubt you will find a better Hotel,although it is my first visit to Debrecen I will definitely stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

I spent a night here on a business trip, and it was nice. The rooms are big, the beds are comfortable and the location is pretty good too. The hotel itself is a bit overdecorated for my taste, but that is a feature of the baroque...

Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dante252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the main town centre and approximately a 15 minutes taxi drive from the train station or airport.

The rooms are spacious (I had a double room), bathroom is shower room, with heated floor and beds are very comfortable.

Hotel is also quiet, so you will get a good nights sleep

Room Tip: Room 301 was fine for me ... although not a good view from the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony_Forder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

During my stay in Debrecen I stayed at another 4-star hotel as well and Obester was the better of the two hotels. Small things made a big difference for me: the towels in the room were soft and fluffy, not starched and hard; the staff's understanding of English is quite good; and I was able to ask for an iron and ironing board in my room - which is much better than having to do your ironing in a service room on another floor.
The air conditioning did work as well as expected but I was able to open windows, so that helps. The food in the restaurant is very good, dinner especially is very high quality. The only thing that I would say is that it would be nice to have some background music in the restaurant.
The hotel is close to town and from the hotel it is easy to walk to shops and restaurants or there is a bus and a tram very nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlambie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

From the moment we stepped in, it felt like we were on "Candid Camera" and we constantly expected someone to jump out of a corner and explain it is all a joke.
So let's start:
Automatic doors that don't open all the way so you constantly bump into them, no porters for luggage, 1 small lift for everyone (service & guests), staff are total amateurs, breakfast is a (bad) joke, design of the hotel... I just have no vocabulary.
The room was very interesting..., we got the bridal (!!!) suite, which had a bed the size of an actual room (3x5 meters), mirrors all over (ceiling too), a huge bathroom. I don't care they call it the "bridal suite", I am sure they rent it by the hour!!!
It is obvious somebody spent a fortune to set this hotel up but they had no idea what a hotel should be like or how it should be run.
At least it was not expensive!

Room Tip: Ask for the bridal suite and allow yourself to be surprised!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassos-Petioula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Debrecen hotels

Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Hungarian motives, clean room with old style furnitures, few socket, quiet waking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Debrecen hotels
0.4 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#1 of 18 in Debrecen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Divinus
Hotel Divinus
#3 of 18 in Debrecen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lycium
Hotel Lycium
#5 of 18 in Debrecen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stop Panzio
Stop Panzio
#9 of 18 in Debrecen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquaticum Debrecen Thermal and Wellness Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Hotel
Villa Hotel
#4 of 26 in Debrecen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obester

Property: Hotel Obester
Address: Peterfia utca 49, Debrecen 4026, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Great Plain > Hajdu-Bihar County > Debrecen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Debrecen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Obester 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Obester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing