We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time warp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Debrecen
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Time warp”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I read the recent reviews with interest and amusement. My wife and nine-year old daughter stayed at the Aranybika on the night of July 1st, 1988 (Yes, you read that date correctly, 1988. Disregard whatever other date you read on this review..) We thought it a crummy hotel even then, awarding it only a grade of "C-." That compared with an A- for the Gellért in Budapest and even a couple of Soviet hotels ranked better than the Aranybika if you can believe that. Obviously, this hotel has improved very little from the bad old days and desperately needs new owners and new management.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    17
    23
    33
See reviews for
21
23
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is perfectly located on the City's main drag in a beautiful fin de siécle building. We were given a slightly shabby but spacious and comfortable room on the third floor with its own front-facing balcony. After dropping our bags we headed out and didn't return until almost 1am. That was when the fun started.
I went out on the balcony to smoke a cigarette before going to bed to find it crawling with cockroaches. They were marching in lockstep along the grouting and the walls and I was suddenly acutely aware that I was barefoot. After jumping back into the room and slamming the door I made a quick inspection of my bed and found it to be bug-free.
The next morning I opened my eyes to find myself face to antennae with a cockroach that had taken up residence on my bedside table. I quickly sat up and looked around the room, not quite believing what I was seeing... The little bastards were everywhere! On the rug, under the desk, behind the net curtains, crawling up the wall! I hopped out of bed, shook a roach out of my shoe and went around the room photographing each insect for a special album I will be sending to the manager of the hotel....

Room Tip: I hear the corner suites have a lower roach-to-square meter ratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ignac314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Debrecen hotels

Kecskemet, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel and I would not recommend it to others. There were dead cockroaches on the stairs. The room was technically clean but it felt in disrepair. It was very noisy the night that I stayed. Beware if there is a function on in the hotel, the music and/or DJ can be heard from all rooms in the main part of the building. Some of the staff were helpful and others were extremely unhelpful. It was also overpriced. The location was good but otherwise but overall, it was not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godollo, Pest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Be aware of what you will get if you stay here: This is one if Debrecen's most famous buildings right in the center, designed by the famous architect Hajos Alfred. It desperately needs renovation. When renovated, you will not be able to afford it. But right now you can get an apartment the size of a small town for dirt cheap. Our family apartment, rooms 341 and 342, (separated by a door) had a huge living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, and we paid 100 EUR for 2 nights. Room 341 was refurbished and in OK condition. Room 342 was run down but had a 3-piece leather couch set in a huge living room. The room had faded glory, but was clean and functional. The service and breakfast was acceptable. For so little money, we were able to experience a piece of Debrecen's history. It's a unique opportunity, if it's your cup of tea. If you look for contemporary business-style accomodation, stay away.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gergely K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

bugs, bugs, bugs everywhere. very old absolutely need a renovation, but with this managament there is no chance for a better service. manager is just sitting behnd the desk doing nothing. never choose this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaborkauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arilje
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect and it is very quiet. Once you enter the hotel, you feel like you entered a museum.
The elevator is spooky and do not freak out it you encounter a cockroach. It walked freely until I committed a murder, but the hotel luckily did not ask for an extra fee because I killed its pet. Also, there was neither shower gel or shampoo in the bathroom, nor soap in the toilet.
The good things are that the bed was too cozy and it has a perfect view.
Overall experience is that it was not too bad if you remember that it was 150 years old and you get the impression you run away from the present time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szilvasvarad, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent three days in Debrecen and stayed in Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika. We had our holiday with our grandchildren (3 and 5 years old girls), so we got a family room. It consisted of two rooms and had a kitchenette, too. Although the furniture was old, the rooms and the bathroom were very clean. The hotel itself looks nice, the entrance hall and the corridors have been renovated, repainted. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is still under renovation but we could not see or feel it. I am sure it will be a wonderful, smart hotel by 2015! Good luck!

Room Tip: Our room faced inyard, it was calm, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikapelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Debrecen hotels
0.1 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#1 of 18 in Debrecen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Divinus
Hotel Divinus
#4 of 18 in Debrecen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lycium
Hotel Lycium
#5 of 18 in Debrecen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aquaticum Debrecen Thermal and Wellness Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stop Panzio
Stop Panzio
#9 of 18 in Debrecen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sport Hotel***
Sport Hotel***
#10 of 18 in Debrecen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika

Property: Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika
Address: Piac utca 11-15, Debrecen 4025, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Great Plain > Hajdu-Bihar County > Debrecen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Debrecen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civis Grand Debrecen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing