We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunguest Hotel Nagyerdo
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Debrecen
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rude staff, average rooms”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As a hungarian I would like to help to choose a good hotel in Hungary, and avoid those which are not so good,... This one is quite okay -the rooms are clean, the price acceptable ( 10-16 000 HUF)... And there is a little pool with warm water and you can use a sauna. The food is really bad, but my biggest problem is that the stuff at the recep. desk is so rude, you feel that you are the one who do them a favour to stay there. This attitude is from the past area, it would be better to forget it, and treat everybody as a guest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
14
11
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel, few days, the room cleaner dont't speak english, and no helpful.
This hotel very very dirty, I think a problem is the room cleaner staff.....
Pls check the manager your staff because I saw, they smoking the room lobby and no changes the towel, and don't use the vacum.

I never came back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Debrecen hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel and the service is outdated. Furniture and design have not been renewed in the last 20 years, most of the waiters are over 50. So, if you want to travel back in time, it is a perfect place to go. The funniest part I think is the bucket in the sauna, as it is former painter-bucket.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoltan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
166 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in the two-floored building in a family room, which means two small rooms are connected with a corridor. Everything was ruined and old-fashioned. We didn't like the buffet breakfast nor dinner at all. There were 3 exceptions why I'm not telling to avoid this place. One is the price, the ladies at reception and the proximity of Aquaticum. But it's for sure I'll not come back here again, ever.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Decent place to stay at if you're not interested in anything fancier. Basically the hotel would need a renovation. The price included breakfast and dinner buffet which are quite tasty and varying. Location is also quite good, easy access from town center by tram. I found the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

One of the worst hotel I have ever been. The rooms are dirty. The cleaning is very poor. One part of the hotel doesnt have a lift, and the stuff dont help to carry the suitcase upstairs. It has a thermal pool and the rooms dont include a hairdryer. The hotel has only one hairdryer what you can borrow from the front desk but it has nearly 100 rooms so it is impossible to get. The beds are uncomfostable and they are very short.
The receptionist are kind but they cant help. The breakfast is good but the headwaiter is very rude.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel located just next to the city spa and the city center can be reached easily by tram (5 mins).
The staff is nice, the rooms are refurbished and for breakfast you can find huge selection of meals....
The hotel's interior would need some renovation...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarbucksFreak25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Debrecen hotels
1.2 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#1 of 18 in Debrecen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquaticum Debrecen Thermal and Wellness Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Divinus
Hotel Divinus
#3 of 18 in Debrecen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Platan
Hotel Platan
#11 of 18 in Debrecen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sport Hotel***
Sport Hotel***
#10 of 18 in Debrecen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lycium
Hotel Lycium
#5 of 18 in Debrecen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Hotel Nagyerdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Hotel Nagyerdo

Property: Hunguest Hotel Nagyerdo
Address: Pallagi ut 5, Debrecen 4032, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Great Plain > Hajdu-Bihar County > Debrecen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Debrecen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunguest Hotel Nagyerdo 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hunguest Hotel Nagyerdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing