We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great day out”

Hortobagy National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$560.00*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Debrecen and Hortobagy National Park from Budapest
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Debrecen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Amazing park with many things to do. Visit the information centre first to see what is on for the day.
we walked from the visitors centre to the Stud farm where you can go on a wagon ride. The walk along the road is about 2 kms.

The wagon ride was amazing. Aroung 2 hours long you get to see buffalo, black sheep, horses etc and of course the Hungarian Plainsmen. From the horseman standing on the back of 2 horses which are being led by another three horses, to the horsemen riding horses whilst cracking whips and the getting their horses to lay dow,
A must see and a great day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonjoymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    43
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cranes most beautiful watching place in Central Europe”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Try to take one of nice hotels in Hajduszoboszlo, ask for current cranes migrations directions and time in Tourist Info Centre in Hortobagy, do not missed walk to Kondas (Hortobágyi-halastó) pond and take with Your digital SLR camera with lens min 200 mm.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poker589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saw massive crane migration, absolutely stunning.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Loved the national park, get a taste of the steppes, the Hungarian Puszta. Brilliant. Visit the Hortobagy Visitor Centre for great tips.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SafeEnvironment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great park! We loved the wagon ride and the history of the "Puszta" as well as the great riding skills of the famous Hungarian plainsmen. Being avid birdwatchers, we found this place an amazing area for bird-watching...although we did not time our trip for the full migratory experience, we still added some new birds to our life list!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowissa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Experience the culture of the Great Plains”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Five of us went to Matai Menes to experience life on the Great Hungarian Plain. Before the tour we went through the stables to see the horses and bought some tradional lacework and ceramics from the little shops there. Then out to the plain in a horse drawn wagon to meet horsemen, see traditional farm dwellings and the unique horned sheep, Magalican pigs (low cholesterol!) and the grey cattle. It was really interesting and good fun. The only thing missing was the riding on multiple horse back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobbieandCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hortobagy National Park also viewed

Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
 
Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
 

Been to Hortobagy National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing