We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm here each week...”
Review of Marjan

Marjan
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Eger
Cuisines: Cafe, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Waitstaff
Eger, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm here each week...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely place next to the forest.
Delicus cokies and ice cream. Taste the tipical hungarian cokie called "pogácsa"!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dzs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eger, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great and popular Pâtisserie”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great variety of all sorts of cakes and desserts. Nice terrace as well in the summertime. For me, this seems to be the most popular "cukrászda" in Eger, sometimes packed, but there's always been free tables. The variety of cakes to choose from is pretty overwhelming, but that's only a positive thing. You can try some new things every time. And if you want to dive into the world of traditional Hungarian "sütemény", here is a good opportunity to do so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iijii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great cakes. Lovely to look at and eat”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Hungary specialises in cake shops that make amazing looking cakes but which often disappoint when it comes to eating. I am glad to say that this cake shop is not one of them. My daughter had Kremes, my son Racoczi turos and I had the makos alma torta (poppy seed and apple). All of our cakes were lovely and were made with a light touch. The coffee was great too. My daughter visited last year with school and had soup which she says to avoid!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zanzibarsamarkand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forges
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cakes in glorious variety.”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were looking for a quick coffee, and found a truly memorable cukrazda. Not to be missed. Their dobos torta was as good as any we've eaten anywhere, my poppyseed, apple and walnut torte was quite magnificent and their chestnut cream cake had my brother in ecstacy .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IaninFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent cakes and deserts”
Reviewed 8 April 2009

This is a review of their "Cukraszda" as the Hungarians call their cafeteria that delivers cakes and deserts; where they display and sell their cakes, deserts.

This is an excellent place to visit if you are in the Castle area of Eger. The quality of cakes and deserts which is why we are keep coming back are consistently high. Very nice ice creams, far better then most here in New Zealand and Australia.
Solid four star from me !
Only four stars now as there is an even better place up at the plaza, but this is a great "Cukraszda" regardless !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Firstclass_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marjan also viewed

 

Been to Marjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing