We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”
Review of Hotel Kodmon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kodmon
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Level Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed: May 31, 2014

Good things: Room was a suite and had lots of space. The pool area was new, with spray jets coming from the wall.

Not so good things: Breakfast buffet was awful - especially the ants all over the serving table. The outside "garden" was grass on the roof with a cheap above ground whirlpool for 4 people. The front counter staff were non-committal and said "no" more often than "yes". The bathroom whirlpool bath poorly designed causing water to spray everywhere - and there was no curtain, so I mean EVERYWHERE! The window blind was broken (for a long time by appearance) letting the early morning sun in.

The website appearance exaggerated what was actually available. They claim to be a wellness spa. This claim is far from reality

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siracusa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked the gala dinner for New Year's Eve there.
The place was nice and the food was really good.
Some of the waiters must have been new to the place, since they didn't really know what was on the menu.
Not being used to the Hungarian way of life, we found the dinner time too early, practically we finished dinner by 8.30pm and then we had to wait until midnight for the next thing to do. Until then, there was only the dance floor but the music was not really our style (we expected international music from the 70's, 80's, considering the average age of the guests and not house music).
For this reason, we left the place before the midnight 'tombola'.
Still, a good place for Hungarian visitors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggirlinabigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Comfortable new hotel in the Szepasszony-volgy of Eger.
We had a Superior Luxe room with jacuzzi and balcony; a really great and spacious room.
Area is quiet and nice even in winter time.
Staff was friendly and helpfull.
Only downside is that it's half an hour walk from the center. And if you'd like to taste wines, why else would you be in Eger, you are not allowed to drive a car in Hungary.

Room Tip: I would go for a Superior Luxe at the back of the Hotel. Sometimes they offer these for the price of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwinKuipersBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here on our recent travels from Australia to Hungary ,
This property caught us by surprise , we had 3 nights here and loved it , it was well run and had good staff , one of the female staff on check in spoke very good english , and was very informative .
Our room was a little small but our friends had a spa suite which was good ,both had small balconys , as this is boutique style of accommodation/ spa/ property there are not that many rooms , there is a small pool ,spa and sauna , my partner had a masssage etc done and was quite impressed
Only one problem was that at the time we were there ,they were waiting on parts for the air conditioner , we were lucky that the summer was just only just starting
We drove here from Budapest so we had transport which we think you need to travel to the surrounding places of interest .
The property is in the Valley of Beautiful Woman and very close to wine cellars, resturants and cafes these are cut into the Hillside, they also surround a park where the locals Congregate and cook goolash ( in Australia we have a bbqs )

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

a quite new small hotel very close to the famous wine cellars

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eger hotels
1.2 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#8 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Volgy
Hotel Villa Volgy
#6 of 22 in Eger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#9 of 22 in Eger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kodmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kodmon

Property: Hotel Kodmon
Address: Szepasszony-volgy, Eger 3300, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kodmon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kodmon Wellness****The newest hotel in Eger is located in the most famous tourist attraction in this town, so called "Szepasszonyvolgy" (The Valley Of The Beautiful Woman). In our hotel, conventional European hospitality meets the needs of today’s life. For all of our guests – whether they come to relax or work in the city – we assure an ideal and comfortable accommodation. Room types: Double bed Superior room: Spare bed for one more person. Balcony, minibar, safe, bathrobe, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, LCD TV, free and unrestricted internet access, air conditioner, free parking place, use of the wellness section. Double bed Superior Lux room: Spare bed for one more person. Balcony, minibar, safe, bathrobe, bathroom with jacuzzi, LCD TV, hair dryer, air conditioner, free and unrestricted internet access, free parking space, use of the wellness section. A nice bottle of wine from Eger and chocolate inlay in the room. Suite: Living room and bedroom, bathroom with jacuzzi. Balcony, minibar, safe, bathrobe, LCD TV, air conditioner,free and unrestricted internet access, free parking space, use of the wellness section. One bottle of wine and chocolate inlay in the room (this room can be spare bedded for 3 persons if necessary). Wellness section: We make your stay unforgettable with ancient, ritualistic massages and luxurious treatments and a refreshing tea specialty. Light- therapy jacuzzi with various experiences – unique in Eger - aromatherapy steam bath, Finn sauna, standing solarium and free of charge wellness shows await our guests. Gastronomy Hospitality: The Kodmon Restaurant belongs to the hotel, where you can enjoy the traditional Hungarian dishes by cheerful Gypsy music, and where you can taste the excellent wines of Eger. The restaurant possesses an European Union Protectorate, because of its high-class gastronomic activity. It is participant in the National Gastronomic Valuekeeping Syndicate. The pleasure of the meals prepared by our head cooks, the candlelight and the soft Gypsy music make your dinner special. After the dinner you can smoke a cigar and taste a few exquisite Cuban cocktails in the Café Habana Club. Conference facilities: Our conference rooms are equipped with the most modern technology and we can assure place for 60 people. The rooms can be separated with a sound-proof wall, so if there is a business meeting in one of the rooms, there can be a team-building meeting in the other one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kodmon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing