We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out facilities, bad pillows”

Bacchus Hotel Panzio
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bacchus Hotel Panzio
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The good:
quiet location, nice balcony, reasonable service, secure parking underground, breakfast good. Staff spoke some English

The bad:
The pillows were amazingly bad! We aren't picky... We've stayed at many, many hotels, bnbs and hostels all over the world and never complained about pillows... Until this place. They were so bad! Like a sack of doorknobs.

The air-conditioning was broken. We didn't mind too much... But there were no windows in the room to leave open at night for fresh air. There were double doors leading to a nice balcony, but it is not too secure from other rooms. The doors were also broken.

The fridge wasn't working very well and leaked water.

We stayed three nights and the WiFi was not working for most of this time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vandirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I am going to Eger once or twice a year just to take a rest and drink wine . Always I try to stay in Bacchus Panzio. Perfect location in walking distance to the city centre and to Wine Valley . Reasonable prices. It is not a hotel. This is a guest house. Simple but still comfortable and clean rooms. Somethimes noisy. I really recommend if you don't need luxery but nice stay

Room Tip: ask for a room at garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadeKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a romantic side trip on our visit to Hungary, and it was wonderful. The hotel is within walking distance to everything, including the train station (although the owner was kind enough to pick us up and drop us back off), the cobblestone town streets and market, cathedrals, and the castle. Rooms have a pretty view and the restaurant has some fantastic Hungarian meals - try the csulok csarda. Breakfast was included.

The best part is the hotel is just beside the Szépasszonyvölgy (Lovely Lady Valley), which is a beautiful valley of cellars built into the hills where you can drink the renowned local wine! Definitely try the Egri Bikaver and the Leanyka.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel, more of a bed and breakfast. All the rooms have patios but the rooms upstairs h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

A bit far for town center but right in vicinity of the famous Szepassonyvölgy with rows of wine cellars and couple of good hungarian restaurants. The service was warm and friendly and we received some very helpful information and recommendations of the local offerings. Room was clean and even quite spacious considering the price range. The only real disappointment was the lame breakfast with only white bread and slices of greasy sausages. Enclosed parking in cellar appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarimalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The location is great, only a short walk to the wine cellars of the 'Valley of the Beautiful Women' and about 15 minutes walk to the town center.
Good size room, small bathroom but the room was not clean upon arrival and had not been cleaned on the second day of our stay. The mattresses are very uncomfortable. The restaurant offers no great culinary delights, in fact the meals were quite bland. It is more fun and better quality in the eateries in the 'Valley of the Beautiful Women'. The breakfast was alright though and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laco_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Piotr N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Unicornis
Hotel Unicornis
#11 of 22 in Eger
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Volgy
Hotel Villa Volgy
#8 of 22 in Eger
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kulacs Csarda Panzio
Kulacs Csarda Panzio
#14 of 22 in Eger
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varkapu Panzio
Varkapu Panzio
#13 of 22 in Eger
10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Minaret
Park Hotel Minaret
#19 of 22 in Eger
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacchus Hotel Panzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacchus Hotel Panzio

Address: Szepasszonyvoelgy utca 29, Eger 3300, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range: £39 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bacchus Hotel Panzio 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bacchus Hotel Panzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing