We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Senator House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very nice small hotel with the most friendly staff - i guess it was the owner, but he was very nice and helpful. We went by car and you can park for free very close to the hotel. Nice and clean rooms. Breakfast is good and there is what you need. The best thing is the location - just in front of the Castle and at the square. The entrance hall is full of old stuff and very warm and cosy. There is no lift but only a few levels. The beds or our bed was a bit too soft but i guess its personal how you like it.I would definetely go back anytime!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    53
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
91
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We did not stay at the Senator Haz (it was full) but fortunately discovered the restaurant early in our stay in Eger, where we had gone for the world underwater hockey championships. The food was fabulous and the service very efficient, friendly and helpful. We ate through the menu over 4-5 days and every dish was a winner. Australian team members organised a dinner there and had just as good an experience. I am recommending anyone planning a visit to Budapest to travel 140km further to take in Eger, which is a charming town in itself but even more of a destination with a restaurant of the quality of Senator Haz.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I only stayed here for two nights at the end of August but this was time enough to enjoy the hospitality of my hosts and their delicious food as well.

The hotel is very centrally located, bang on the square facing towards the statue of Dobó István (the burly chap who held off the turks in the 16th century). In the evenings there are usually musicians playing in the square and you do catch the odd strain of tango music wafting upwards through your olde worlde window shutters. However, the music didn't bother me as I could shut the windows and turn on the air con.

My room was clean and had everything I needed. It wasn't gigantic but I expected that from a building that is almost 300 years old. It really is a charming little place and well worth staying in. Do note that there is no lift so try and get a room on the first floor (second floor for our American cousins) if you are no friend to heavy lifting and have poor upper body strength (like me).

The staff were all very friendly but Tamás in particular stood out for me (not least because he's around 6' 5"). He was very helpful and had lots of handy suggestions for places to visit and dishes to try. His English is as impeccable as my hungarian is terrible (he used to live in the UK).

Finally, the restaurant is top notch and has lots of quality hungarian specialities. I'd recommend the mangalica pork if it's on the menu when you get there - melt-in-your-mouth meaty heaven it was.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Sometimes when you read great reviews the experience never quite lives up, Not the case with Senator Haz in Eger. This was really a wonderful place to spend a few days. The hospitality of the owners and staff was exceptional. The restaurant was fun with good food. The room was spacious and despite the fact that we were right over the square, we never were bothered by noise.

Room Tip: I suppose you could ask for a room not facing the main square. We were nervous when we first looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a well run, charming European countryside hotel. Rooms were smallish, clean, but with nice, modern bathrooms. No elevator here, but also no big tour groups. Eger's castle is a sacred Hungarian site, their "Alamo" where a small group of warriors and townspeople held off thousands of seiging Turks. The castle is the big site, followed by the facade of the church in Dobo Square, and the Lyceum library. We spent one night, sampled the local Hungarian wines, esp. Tokai, and ate twice at the Senator Haz's restaurant (quite good and well priced as compared to Budapest).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougViages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May with a group of wine loving friends and after searching a bit due to one-ways and confusing GPS signals, found the hotel which is situated right in the main square, within walking distance of most of the sights of Eger. The olde-world charm of hotel should not be misleading, it works like a charm! Friendly staff coping with all of us at the same time, a great seating area outside where you can watch the passing parade, big rooms (we had a back facing one which is quieter), one of the best breakfasts we had in Hungary - and we were so sad we only stayed one night.

Great hotel!

Room Tip: Overlooking the front of the hotel is great if you don't mind a bit of noise from street revell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownCobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our family of 5 (with 3 adult children) stayed in the lovely spacious pensione in the back. The rooms were spotlessly clean, charming and very convenient. We ate at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed our first meal so much, that we came back a second time. The generous breakfast was a great start to the day. Thank you for your helpful service and great accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_Daughter32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.5 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
#4 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#5 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Flora
Hunguest Hotel Flora
#12 of 22 in Eger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator House Hotel

Property: Senator House Hotel
Address: Dobo Istvan ter 11, Eger 3300, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Senator House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Eger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing