We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel on pretty square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senator House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The outstanding points of this hotel would be the friendly staff, the very good restaurant and the pretty square it's located on. Be aware if you're planning a stay this summer - the square is being totally refurbished and most is off limits due to noisy, early rising workmen. In a month or two I'm sure it will be lovely! The owners had made every effort to deck the room out with many facilities but for me the room was too cramped. Charming though the room was, the bed was very uncomfortable and it creaked and groaned with our every move! Overall the hotel represents a good value slice of traditional Hungary.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Once you find the hotel it is great.Manager Thomas was wonderful.Personally took my husband to the car parking and carried our bags up to our room as there was no lift.
Room was very comfortable with a cute entrance hallway. Lots to look at in the reception area-very quirky.
Ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was first class.
Try the Pork Cutlet with Ratatoue and goats Cheese Donuts or the Goose Thigh with cabbage and sweet potato.Just lovely.
Eger is undergoing a major face lift at the moment and the cobblestones are all dug up making walking difficult, especially since it was raining, but it is a lovely little town for chilling out and absorbing the atmoshere

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Senator is in a lovely square in the centre of Eger, a few metres from the river and main sights. The hotel is atmospheric, rooms comfortable with good bathroom. The staff are extremely helpful and speak English fluently. The food and wine are very good - lovely to sit outside and people-watch at all times of the day.
Once the city renovations are finished, it will look amazing - at the moment, it is a little difficult to negotiate to all the interesting places, and the view from the hotel is not as beautiful as it will be!
If you have a car, visit some of the many vineyards to taste the wine - the red is exceptional.
If you want a modern hotel with spa, fitness, bland rooms - this is not for you: if you love character, comfort and a feel for the country you are visiting - stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisoun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Hotel Senator Haz is in the best possible location for Eger. You can walk everywhere from here through mostly pedestrian only streets. While the square is being reconstructed you do need to walk around to access the hotel but this just gives you a chance to see some other part of the town you might normally not see. The hotel sits on a mini-square with a couple of other hotels and restaurants as well as some little tourist shops. There are plenty of tables, umbrellas, heaters, blankets, etc., outside of them to make it very comfortable to sit outside to eat or just have a coffee. Sometimes there is live music in that area but it is played at a soft enough level you can hear each other talk.

The family that runs the hotel is very nice. They will check the weather for you, offer to loan an umbrella, give you information on what to see, etc. They carry your luggage up the stairs for you and put it outside your door so after checking in it is ready for you. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, and it was spacious and included a mini frig, a desk with a mirror and good lighting, as well as a TV (which we never used) and small sofa. The towels and bedspread in our room were clean but a little threadbare.

We did eat at the restaurant and thought the food was very good. The servers were attentive and wanted you to be happy with your dinner. We asked to substitute some potatoes for the rissoto (since we don't care for it that much) and they gave us three potato options! You eat your breakfast at this restaurant and it is buffet style. There were many options on it so it was pretty easy to find something you were in the mood to eat. We wouild stay here again if we ever visited Eger.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had stayed here two years ago and looked forward to returning - we were not disappointed the owners and staff remembered us from before and greeted us like friends. The hotel is very old world and furnished accordingly. The rooms are comfortable and quiet despite being in the very centre of the town. It is in a pedestrian area but it is possible to get close to the hotel for unloading the secure car park is then a short distance. In addition to the comfortable room it also has an excellent restaurant but do book for dinner as it gets very busy. Service was very good and offers of help and information came from the staff at all times. The town itself is charming and all within easy walking distance from the hotel.
We would strongly recommend it as a place to stay whilst travelling or as a place to got to for a few nights break.

Room Tip: All uniquely furnished and with double glazing one with a view across the square adds special intere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Kaye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It is a charming hotel with excellent location by sitting at the leg of Eger Castle in the lovely, historical Hungarian town. Every main attraction is at walking distance from the hotel. Unfortunately the Dobo square is under reconstruction in 2014 but the surrounding square of the hotel has already been reconstructed. You can have breakfast on the terrace. There is a closed parking lot nearby the hotel. You can reach the Hotel from Kossuth street via Doktor Hibay Karoly street by car now. Arriving in the lobby you astonished by the sense of a very unique, warmly baroque-style equipment. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tunde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a nice little hotel, and a charming Hungarian town. We arrived early on the overnight train and they graciously welcomed us and held our luggage until our room was ready. We were given one in the nearby annex which was spacious and roomy - a suite, actually. Free full breakfast every morning was delicious and the room rate is an absolute bargain. Eger is going through a lot of construction in 2014 - the main square is completely dug up and it extends to nearby streets as well. The little square right in front of the hotel is still intact but the bigger square beyond is fenced off and there is construction noise at times. Still, we were glad we came.

Room Tip: We didn't see the rooms in the hotel proper, just the annex, but we loved where we stayed - our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
#4 of 22 in Eger
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#9 of 22 in Eger
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel E*Stella
Hotel E*Stella
#12 of 22 in Eger
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator House Hotel

Address: Dobo Istvan ter 11, Eger 3300, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range: £56 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Senator House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Eger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing