We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birdwatching in hungary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Volgy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Volgy
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“birdwatching in hungary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

i stayed at this hotel while on a birdwatching trip for seven days. The hotel is classed as 4 star I would put it at just about 3 star but having said that it is a very nice place to stay. I had a very large room with three windows and everything is very clean and pleasant, the grounds are lovely very carefully designed with a large selection of attractive trees colourful flowers are not needed as the trees and shrubs are so wellplaced and attractive. It was filled with birdsong. The one thing that let it down was a very unattractive swimming pool with what looked like a pile of bricks in the centre.
the restaurant was good and the menu was interesting breakfast was also good with a variety of fruits and breads along with the usual foods. The staff were always polite and I would recommend he hotel for a short stay in that area.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the restaurant and gardens are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel staff is very nice but there are some problems with the buildings. Unfortunately the hotel is located in various buildings and it's very unpleasant to go from one building to another to have breakfast in rain.
It's also a problem, that there is no lift in the 4* part and it's not very pleasant to climb to the 2nd floor with luggage. The apartments are not apartments. There is no separate sitting area and sleeping are.
There is no proper wireless internet in the common areas and the one in the rooms work with a cable which is not very handy.
The hotel is a bit overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the top floor of the building. They are very dark because there are only roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Az9371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

At the moment the Villa Volgy is having their spa area renovated. Personally I would not choose this hotel for its spa, but for the food it offers and its location. My partner and I always stay here when we go to Eger due to its location to the Valley of Beautiful Women. This is an excellent site to sample wines from all of the Eger region. The hotel is a 20 minute walk maximum to the city of Eger and is in a nice quiet area to relax. It is also reasonably close to superior thermal spas in the area.

Room Tip: It really depends on what you want. The hotel is really three different hotels but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oct34th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked via booking.com who list hotel as 4Star but it is both a 4 and 3* the offers are for the 3* rooms. The hotel is set up in three blocks in the 3* block the rooms are very nice, clean and modern but you get a list of things you dont get as you are in the 3*. The spa is open 8am till 8pm but you cant use it once you have booked out of your room at 10.30 so if only staying one night and you arrive late it is virtually impossible to use the pool/spa unless your up early for breakfast.
The outdoor pools are not in use in winter and the indoor pool and spa are poor and could do with a clean. New sauna.
The staff we found were not very friendly apart from the young man on reception. For example i asked in the morning we were due to check out if we could use the spa..all I got was an abrupt NO you pay...not the service I would expect.
Also there are dogs locally who barked all night long..
Food all ok lots of choice.
All in all a lovely hotel but with a strange set up and rude staff. Shame really.

Room Tip: facing away from the main buidling and dogs barking..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family-and-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miskolc, Hungary
Level Contributor
243 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel has nice, polite, attentive crew. The rooms are clean and good atmosphere. The wellness comfortable, clean and adequate in size. The breakfast is ample and good quality ingredients. Unfortunately, we close 20.00. We've had a fine dinner at the restaurant (a la carte), but there are also half board. Unfortunately, the kitchen is close 21.30. Overall, I recommend it to all your family, friends, couple or just to relax together.
a short walk to the wine cellar series

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATTILA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

It is a very comfortable and beautiful hotel in a beautiful place. The food is amazing and the staff is very helpful. The hotel is in a 20 minutes walk from the city center and 5 minutes from the famous wine area, Szepasszonyvolgy. We will visit this hotel again in a near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterPusztai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

A very good hotel in a great location.The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak good English. The 4* accomodation has wi-fi in the rooms. Rooms in the Reception building have just been refurbished; the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is included and has plenty of variety; hot and cold food is available and constantly replenished. The outdoor pools are excellent. There is a 20 metre pool for those who want to swim lengths as well as 2 smaller pools for children. There are plenty of sunbeds; there has never been an occasion when they have not been available. Finally, the Valley of the Beautiful Women, where there is an endless supply of wine is just 5 minutes walk away. A wonderful place to relax. If you want to go into town it costs £3 with tip by taxi ( or a half hour stroll ).

Room Tip: 4* rooms have air conditioning, 3* do not. If you stay on a weekend in the summer the hotel often ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eger hotels
1.2 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#5 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
#4 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Volgy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Volgy

Property: Hotel Villa Volgy
Address: Tulipankert utca 5, Eger 3300, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Volgy 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Volgy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volgy Hotel Eger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing