We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the good old hospitality and warmth of Hungary”
Review of Dobo Guesthouse

Dobo Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eger
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dobo Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 55 Eger B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After two horrible four- and five-star hotels in Budapest, it was a delight to get to 'Dobo Vendeghaz' in Eger. It was not easy to find it, the GPS does not really know the street, but the local people were very helpful (they walked with us to the Guesthouse).
The Guesthouse is lovely, the room was clean and we even got a bottle of champagne to celebrate our arrival. Parking was available in the backyard, so we didn't have to worry about the car.
But the most amazing experience was the landlady, who took care of us like a mother would do of her children. She was always available, very nice and told us everything about the places to go to. We were very pampered. A place where we felt welcome and home. All this for a very competitive price.
Fantastic breakfast, two very relaxing days in the hills and the desire to go back there in the summer.
Congratulations!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggirlinabigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

A very clean, quiet and affordable small inn. Bathroom was extremely tiny but bedroom was spacious and bright with a balcony. Breakfast of cold cuts would be improved with better quality bread. Proprietor does not speak English but her daughter, who operates the crafts shop next door does. A taxi was waiting for us promptly the morning of checkout, as we'd requested.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you're a large person request a room with a bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickieandDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Dobo is perfectly situated in the middle of Eger, less than a five minute walk from the castle, and also nearby a few popular bars and clubs. The staff are lovely, and they serve a delicous breakfast. The rooms are spacious and are accompanied with enormous bathrooms. Wifi was great as well!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Even though the address belonging to this property is not right, I have to believe that it is the same Dobó Vendégház (or guest house) that we went to under Dobó utca 19. That is the one that is close to Dobó tér, the castle, and the pancake place.

We visited between Christmas and New Year's for a few days' sightseeing and found the hotel to be OK. The room was basic but spacious with the bathroom and toilet found outside of the room itself, separated from the hallway with a sliding door. Apparently, all other rooms have en-suite bathrooms. The owner was very welcoming, everything was clean and we had no problems.

The one thing I might mention is breakfast, which was slightly below expectations based on previous experiences in similar price-range establishments in Hungary. A few rolls, some cold cuts, butter, honey and jam, plus juice and tea or coffee - pretty much the same thing every day. If you're spending only one or two days, it's not bad but if you are there longer, some of the buffet-style breakfasts I've seen would be better as well as more filling, perhaps.

Overall, though, nice and cozy and, as has been said, can't be beaten on location.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed at the Dobo Guesthouse, a 3 star hotel, for 3 nights. The room was comfortable and spacious. We had a convenient safe and small refrigerator, and our room had a lovely terrace with table and chairs overlooking a nicely kept internal garden and car park. The bathroom and shower were tiny, but everything was clean. Breakfast was included (43 Euros/night for 2 people). The innkeeper, Marianna, was terrific--very kind and helpful (but she doesn't speak English). The hotel is also steps away from Dobo Square, Eger's main plaza, and near the Castle. The one drawback was that the blinds and curtains did not completely block the morning sunlight. If you go, visit the crepe restaurant nearby, Palacsintavár Étterem. Fantastic, huge dinner and dessert crepes! Ask about prices. We found nearly all the restaurants in Hungary add a tax to the meal, so the stated prices are much lower than the final prices.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlottesvilleVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We were looking forward to this guest house based on the reviews and Rick Steves recommendation, but when we got there we were told that they were full, even though we had made our reservation 8 months previously. We were put into a room across the street which was less than desirable. the second morning there was no hot water as the pilot light had gone out and we had cold showers. The saving grace was that the bed was not bad and they brought a nice breakfast to the room. Since we were across the street from the Dobo guesthouse, we could also see that in fact it wasn't full, it was dark the whole 2 days we were there and obviously we were probably the only booking so they decided not to open. We find that unacceptable. If you take a booking, you have to honor it.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Spotlessly clean and with modern, uncluttered interior. Excellent location near Dobo Square and Castle. No airconditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eger hotels
1.9 mi away
Welcome Guesthouse
Welcome Guesthouse
#3 of 60 in Eger
5 reviews
1.4 mi away
Primavera Vendegszobak
1.5 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Flora
Hunguest Hotel Flora
#7 of 22 in Eger
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Agria Retur Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dobo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobo Guesthouse

Address: Malomarok U.56 Ungarn, Eger 3300, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Eger
Price Range: £21 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing