We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Golden Ball Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Ball Club
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Gyor
Modling, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Location is very good when thinking in the Wakeboardclub (Ekrény) 10 minutes. Distance walking into the old city centre 10 to 15 minutes max.
Staff friendly. Rooms are small duplexes (galary rooms- toilet,couches, TV down and sleeping bad -very good! Up floor)
Breakfast is also good with enough offer that you can enjoy it outside in the garden. No lift. Free parking lot. Free Wifi.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
5
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

First time in this hotel, but definitely will come back again!.. Excellent location, in the center of the city, in walking distance from all necessary amenities, beautiful environment, very spacious and high class restaurant with exquisite wooden decoration, very cozy atmosphere, excellent variety of food, friendly personnel, clean and comfortable rooms, affordable prices and a fantastic large front garden with high green trees, variety of green plants and flowers, with cool atmosphere and generally a very relaxing walking area!.. An overall pleasant 5 stars experience!..

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dav-shiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Maybe I expected more from this hotel. It is in the city centre and good thing is that there is a good parking place and fitness centre. Being adjacent to a park provides a very nice location. Rooms are stuffy. Not much of a breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The Golden Ball Club is a good place to stay in Győr as it is within walking distance of the city centre and is adjacent to a small park. The rooms themselves are comfortable and clean, and a reasonable size. We had a split level room with the bed upstairs. The lack of a lift was a problem as we had a fair bit of luggage and no help was offered to haul it into the room. The room overlooked the park which gave me the feeling of more space. Breakfast was plentiful if not inspiring.

I would stay here again as it is good value and its location is central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiberiusVerax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Comfortable Hotel, overlooking a small park. English country house style. Breakfast service slow. Staff helpful. Overall a good place to stay when visiting Gyor

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffster_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The Golden Ball Club was certainly NOT golden. The hotel was described brand new. It was old and gross. When we arrived we noticed the prison over looking the parking lot and hotel. Also down the street was an old train station. When we got inside the hotel staff was hanging on chairs smoking cigarettes. The lobby was dark, dusty, old, and smelled like cigarettes. Our room key was about 10 pounds with this huge long metal key chain with a large ball at the end.It made it hard to keep in your pocket. We were traveling with my parents (who are older) and there was no elevator. This was not advertised on their website. So we had to haul 5 50-70 pound suitcases up the long stairway. The hallway was long and dark, there were fish hooks glued to wood for art. When we arrived at our door we had to jam the key in the door and work on it for about 10 minutes in order to open it. When we got inside the room was very small. It looked very different on the website, it was advertised as much bigger. We had to have the pull out sofa bed which made the room even smaller. The bathroom was small and outdated. We rented the suite which has a loft style bedroom. It was not safe. We slipped down it many times. My parents had the same room but had to move due to safety concerns. Their room over looked the jail. When it was time to go to sleep we had problems closing the door and after 10 minutes to jam it shut and lock it. This was a major fire concern. We were booked for two nights but left after the first. When we were in the parking lot we heard screaming in Hungarian and rattling from the jail.It is not a good location. The rest of Gyor was beautiful! We do not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gyor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyor hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gyor
Ibis Gyor
#1 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Raba City Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kalvaria
Hotel Kalvaria
#11 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klastrom
Hotel Klastrom
#2 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.9 mi away
ETO Park Hotel
ETO Park Hotel
#4 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Famulus
Hotel Famulus
#8 of 24 in Gyor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Ball Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Ball Club

Property: Golden Ball Club
Address: Szent Istvan ut 4, Gyor 9021, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Gyor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Gyor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Ball Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Ball Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing