We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four star... you must be joking”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Hotel Schweizerhof
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Gyor
bruges
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Four star... you must be joking”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

On arriving at the hotel everything still seemed very nice...but that quickly changed after entering. The girl from reception seemed nice enough, but wasn't very professional and check-in wasn't as smooth as one should expect but afterwards it would be the least of my problems...
We had booked the "suite" which was on a site of the hotel where there was no elevator so we had to carry our own, rather heavy ,luggage through a long hallway and up a few stairs ourselves. The help we received from the staff was absolutely nihil and it seemed funny enough for them to see us struggle.
When we finally reached the second floor and opened our room everything was a little brighter again. The rooms were big enough but tastlessly decorated. The bathroom was not clean at all and the sheets were wrinkled and had some hair stuck on them... gone was the last expectation I had about this place!
We had booked a package with "wellness" and diner, but I won't even mention the wellness (it isn't worth talking about anyway...)
The diner is in their restaurant across the street and to be honest the food and service were very ok, no problem there.
Breakfast was served in the lobby and was very basic, tasteless and boring. Maybe I was influenced by the ugliest deco I saw in my life. It was just awfull.
I can go on for hours about this hotel but better to make a quick summary.
Possitive: the diner at their restaurant across the street and the cheap drinks in the lobby bar.
Negative: ALL THE REST

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This hotel is situated in Gyor old town on a small side street. This makes it very quiet but quite problematic for taxi drivers to find. The room was large and comfortable with a seating area in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. The hotel restaurant was excellent and there was a 20% discount for guests. It is close to the main streets of the town if you want to venture outside. The only drawback was that there was no lift.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisapc1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed 9 days at this Hotel. It is tucked away and can be hard to find. Some of the decor is a bit bizarre but we couldn't fault the service. Staff were helpful and friendly, and helped us booking taxis and trains. Our room was large, modern and clean with efficient air conditioning. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of Staff and Great Breakfast
  • Disliked — Small towels and bed sheets
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Decided to stop off on our trip from Vienna to Budapest in Gyor to see a "real" Hungarian town. After checking the reviews on trip advisor we decided to try and find the Schweizerhof. Luckily we came across the hotel by accident whilst wandering around the streets as it is quite tucked away.
The hotel itself was lovely, we had a great comfortable room, with walk-in wardrobe and clean bathroom, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel has a restaurant across the street where guests receive a 20% discount, the staff here spoke excellent English and were very friendly and the food was possibly the best meal of our entire trip.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NalaBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Lovely little boutique hotel. It is a bit hard to find as it is tucked away in a quiet corner, but the locals were glad to help us find it. Because it was tucked away, it was very quiet, lovely with good breakfast.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 March 2005

This little gem is hidden away in the right hand corner of a square. Sometimes also known as the Romantik Hotel. Although you can not park in the pedestrian area, there is a garage underneath the Hotel for guests to use. The Hotel has a traditional look to it on the outside, but the inside is very different, very unusual. The rooms are sizeable & tastefully decorated and the bathrooms have a partially heated floor. The breakfast choice is basic but acceptable. The bar tends to lack atmosphere in the evenings, which is probably due to its central location close to a variety of restaurants & bars in the area. Internet access is provided in the bedrooms which is an added bonus. Definitely a Hotel I would revisit if in the Gyor/Komarom area again.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kalvaria
Hotel Kalvaria
#9 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gyor
Ibis Gyor
#1 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klastrom
Hotel Klastrom
#2 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
ETO Park Hotel
ETO Park Hotel
#4 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Famulus
Hotel Famulus
#8 of 24 in Gyor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wesselenyi
Hotel Wesselenyi
#7 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof
Address: Sarkantyu koez 11-13, Gyor 9021, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Gyor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Gyor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Gyor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing