We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food in a small restaurant with old world charm.”

Kisfaludy Wine Bar & Gourmet Tapas Bar
Ranked #9 of 78 Restaurants in Gyor
Price range: US$8 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The first Wine Bar of Gyor! 164 Types of wines across the globe, fantastic spirits sortiment, professional - qualified staff, food and beverage specialities, family environment, genuine care and a Michelin star gourmet cuisine await our guests! Take a culinary journey with us! Kisfaludy Gourmet Wine Bar "... A bit of experience, with a mouthful of a miracle ..." Our Sommelier pleased to offer a good selection of great wines from Hungary and from across the globe. You can choose between 100 different Hungarian wines by glass and sparkling wines, 54 different whiskies, Cognacs and any Hungarian destillates. Our gourmet kitchen do not knowingly use genetically modified foods, we use mostly fresh local ingredients only. The wine can enhance the perfection of perfectly prepared dishes. We hope, we can meet soon in the not to far future in Our small, familiar Wine Bar! “…a morsel of experience with a mouthful of wonder…” Cheers! :)
Frisco, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Average food in a small restaurant with old world charm.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This review is for the small restaurant, not the adjacent wine bar. I ate here on tour. The Gulyas was OK; the chocolate cake desert was good but not great, although in fairness I might try it again under other circumstances. The gentleman serving us was extremely nice and very friendly, so I am hesitant to give this just an average rating based on just this visit. I cannot speak for the wine bar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“opened just for us”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Traveled with a small tour group on a Sunday holiday, but the owner opened the restaurant just for us. The 16 people filled the restaurant. The food was outstanding, the Gulyas made the way my Hungarian friends made it. There was a mixed fruit drink and a wonderful glass of red wine. There was an included chocolate cake, but I asked for a cheese platter instead. The cheeses were great. This really is a wine bar with food. The proprietor, who speaks very good English, says he has over 100 different wines available by the glass.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly, superb”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Amazing gem in the heart of Gyor, loved that the owner personally took care of everyone and had the feel for everybody's moods and tastes...food is lovely and very well presented from the best ingredients...and the wine selection is exceptional! Definitely will return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Jem ~Great Food!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On a rainy Sunday afternoon we stopped in for a steaming and delicious bowl of Hungarian Gulyas and a few glasses of local wine followed by an exceptional chocolate dessert. Small and intimate surroundings presented by a wonderful and talented chef and host, Tolvaj! Worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 45Jann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Gulyas soup”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had excellent lunch of home-made Hungarian gulyas soup with wonderful fresh rye bread, local red wine and sweet Hungarian pastry dessert in early April 2014. Traveling with a group of 12 experienced American travelers who all remarked on the high quality service and excellent food. Mr. Csba Tolvaj was attentive host and provided prompt warm service. The restaurant has about 6 tables, charming eclectic decor, excellent selection of wines and very convenient just off the main square in Gyor. I enjoy cooking Hungarian ethic foods and this was the best gulyas I've ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kisfaludy Wine Bar & Gourmet Tapas Bar also viewed

Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 
Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 
Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 

Been to Kisfaludy Wine Bar & Gourmet Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing