We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel. ”
Review of Hotel Famulus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Famulus
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gyor
Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good business hotel. ”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This is a good business hotel with good amenities. It is a large hotel.

Free high speed wifi throughout. No problem with multiple devices. There is squash courts, bowling,fitness centre etc. the hotel is only 10 mins from the nearby Eto stadium.

There is a large shopping centre directly across the road.

The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and well furnished. The restaurant is good. Menus in English would have been a help. Other than that it's hard to fault this fine hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IrelandPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    42
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
19
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

When we booked he hotel on the net it didn't look like much. We were happily surprised to discover a modern, convenient hotel, just on the Danube bike trail. It is a twenty minute walk to the historical part of Györ but the way is easy.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a safe bicycle garage.

The chef went out of his way to satisfy us and his food was tasty and original. The wine list is simple but has some very nice Hungarian wines.

The room was pleasant, clean and comfortable.

We found this hotel to be very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Helpful and smiling hotel staff, sufficient choices at breakfast, with a "bio corner" as additional. Infrasauna and jakuzzi for own use for one hour during the whole day anytime. Center with 15 minutes walk, shopping center just in front. Bike rental option. We were satisfied, and would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judytripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

All in all, this is a decent hotel, in the surprisingly pleasant city of Gyor.
I stayed with my girlfriend, but I arrived before her. Despite the fact the booking was in her name, they were very helpful and let me check in (seems a small thing, but they could have kicked up a fuss).
The room was decent enough. Everything was clean, and the free wifi is really fast and easy to set up. One negative was the lack of any decent kind of toiletries. There is a sort of soap dispenser in the shower, but no shampoo or anything provided, which is rubbish in my opinion. Another negative was the fact that one had to ask for the remote control for the air conditioner. This may have been as it was "winter season" (we stayed in mid-April), and they were trying to be environmentally friendly - but still a little irritating.
However, apart from these minor niggles, our stay was very pleasant. Breakfast was great, with the omelettes a particular highlight. The hotel isn't really in the centre - it's a 10 minute walk to the old town - but that wasn't a huge problem for us.
One tip: there is a jacuzzi, but you have to book a time slot for it (free). This is probably good, as it means one gets sole use, but we didn't know this, so didn't use it.
Overall very good, and Gyor is well worth a visit, if only for the ice cream in the main square!

Room Tip: Potentially one facing away from the smokers' terrace, as it can get a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobs553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larvik, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Famulus offers fairly good facilities. Big pluss for the upgraded wifi, wich is complementary. Short walk to the Arcade mall and 10 minutes to downtown Gyor. Beds are just ok, and personally i do not like wall to wall carpet. But all in all i slept well and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torgrim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The plane was delayed so I arrived in Vienna later than planned.
I hired a car from Megadrive at 22.00. They upgraded the car and was greatful to get on my way to Gyor in Hungary by 22.15. Had to pay extra €10.00 to be able to drive the car into Hungary. I was told about this when I booked.
In order to drive on highways in Hungary you need to stop at the first petrol station over the border and pay a small fee in order to travel on the motorways. You pay and get a permit receipt that you can show if required to prove you that you are authorised to do so.
Arrived at the very modern hotel Famulus about midnight to be greeted by an English speaking receptionist who directed me to the secure parking and who with her staff ensured that I was speedily sent on my way to a well-earned rest.
The room was excellent, warm and comfortable. It was minus 2 deg outside. The broadband was very good and quick.
The next morning's breakfast was a real surprise as I have breakfasted in hotels around the world. It had the widest selection of fruits, breads, hot dishes I have ever encountered and all really fresh and tasty.
All in all a good experience.
Paid about €70.00

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I found this hotel the best quality in Győr, for sure it's 4*! It was a very nice stay, calm, clean and easy. The letdown of the choice was, that I tought from the advertisements, that this hotel is IN the city center, IN the old town, but not, it is in the new city center, what shows nothing for a tourist (just a big shopping center...). So we had to use our car to take a walk in the center... :( BUT, the breakfast is breath taking!!! The best breakfast I've ever had in Hungary, in a 4* hotel! 5* hotels would have grudge this goodness... :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titcsalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyor hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Klastrom
Hotel Klastrom
#2 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gyor
Ibis Gyor
#1 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.0 mi away
ETO Park Hotel
ETO Park Hotel
#4 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Raba City Center
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kalvaria
Hotel Kalvaria
#11 of 24 in Gyor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corvin Hotel
Corvin Hotel
#5 of 24 in Gyor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Famulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Famulus

Property: Hotel Famulus
Address: Budai ut 4 - 6, Gyor 9027, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Gyor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gyor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Famulus 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would give us great pleasure if you were to visit our hotel – one of the largest business and conference hotels in Gyor - offering high-quality service and facilities every day of the year. Hotel Famulus**** is situated within easy walking distance of the baroque town centre. All rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with LCD TV, phone, high-speed internet access, minibar, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Famulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing