We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be nice, but it wasn't”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amira Boutique Hotel Wellness & Spa
Ranked #37 of 58 Heviz B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“could be nice, but it wasn't”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I bought this trip to my husband as a surprise this trip. It was a surprise when we arrived, the parking is outside open, no guarding the cars. When we entered, the person took us to the room was so smalty from swetting. The hotel was nice, but there was no airconditioning in 30 temperature in the end of May. The pool outside was empty. The dinner was from 2 choises. So we went to the famous Hevis spa lake, and eat outside in a nice restaurant. So we only slept in the hotel, but we couldn't even leave open the terace door, because the terace was common with other 2 rooms not separated.
The basic of this hotel could be nice, but its not in the center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
8
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have spent 2 nights in this hotel, During the spring they have promo action that saves us around 50% of money for room and when i was reading the comments i wasn't so sure that i picked up the right hotel. But we were surprised. Hotel was nice and clean, food was good, really big portions, i was not able to eat it all. Things what i was not really satisfied:
- Outside pool was closed and the wellness looks smaller in reality that in pictures
- Parking place is only for 5 cars
- Dinner menu can be chosen from 2 variations, unfortunately only in Hungarian
- Staff cant speak English
Thats all, but i can truly tell that if i will come back again to heviz then i will consider this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veszprém, Veszprem, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent 3 days in the hotel. I read the comments before and I was very disappointed that we had chosen a bad hotel but it was a real surprise for me! Nice, little hotel with very nice and helpful staff. I had my birthday there and they celebrated me with champagne (they heard there that I had birthday) The staff is very mindful and they would like to be better and better! We really enjoyed the time we spent there! Thank you for everything! I can offer the hotel to everyone! We would only stay in that hotel if we went to Hévíz again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent 3days in Hotel Amira just now. The hotel is clean and good located, about 10 minutes walk from the center of the town. The new direktor of the hotel Mr. Szilágyi is a really kind men, fullfill all the wishes fő the guests. He is really very enthusiastic and observant! The food is tasty and very big portions. Many thanks to Mr. Szilágyi for this nice days! I can offer everybody this little nice Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location of the hotel is really ideal, it is not far from the city centre, and the view is really beautiful. The staff was helpful and polite, the rooms and the spa were clean. The opening hours were not too long, and usually overlapped with dinner time, but it is a small spa so there was not much to do anyway. Our room was quite large it had two extra couches and a nice coffee table, and the TV had several German, Polish, Russian and English channels. Although it was promised on their website and also in the confirmation email, the Wifi was not working. Our other problem was with the food. Breakfast was okay, because it was a buffet, but dinners were getting worse every night. The menu included three courses, but there was no choice on the menu and no alternative food,no vegetarian option or salad. Parking was free but the hotel only has 6 parking spots, so we usually had to park on the street, but the area is suburban and seemed quite safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hotel... Hm pension and the 4 stars they use, thhey had to borough from a diferent hotel :(.
One men for a receptionist, wellness, bar.. Not speaking english, poor german. They are nice, until u ask for someting. The wellness works till 1 p.m. And then in the time of the dinner (till 8 p.m) which I doot find very usefull :(.
The breakfast: every morning the same things with poor coffe. Dinner uff, salty, bujon based soup.
The rooms are nice and clean, but do not look for 4 star hotel ..
And the distance from the city at least 20 min walk, I wish I had choosed a different place to stay :(.
And the parking.. For free, but there is room for only 6 cars. The outside pool is cold and difficult to stay clean (under the trees).
Heviz is very nice spa town ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Heviz hotels

Port d'Alcudia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Well... where to start? I think at the beginning.
When we arrived there was a very helpful man from whom we could not decide if he is the receptionist or the owner of the hotel. Soon it turned out.... He was the receptionist, the londiner, the waiter, the CHEF!!!!, the chamber'maid', the spa master, the barman... so everyone in 1 person. It puts on a question mark if it is really a 4 star hotel???
At arrival this man has asked if it is ok the have the dinner at 6pm. We said yes. But that time we haven't know yet that the opening hours of the spa is from 5 pm to 8 pm. So it is a bit hard to enjoy the spa if we have dinner at 6. So we asked him later to make the dinner at 6.30 pm. He was not quite happy but said OK.
The spa was small but very nice. I love the moorish style.
The room was average... we bood a Suite but it was a small standard hotel room for extra fee.
The shower was disgusting (pictures uploaded).
For dinner we had a ragu soup with tarragon - but it was more like warm water with milk and some slices of carrot but without any meat. The second 'course' was a half wing of some kind of pork (maybe crow or raven - still don't know) and a hendbreadth extremly thin pork with mushroom sauce ( I could not recognize any mushroom in it) + overcooked rice. It was uneatable. Dessert was a mirelite chestnotpuree from the supermarket.
It was the menu... you could not choose ... like it or not, that 's it...
In the bar the alcohol glasses were almost empty.

Confirmation promised unlimited wellness usage but the truth was that they had free opening hours:
10:00 - 12:30 in the morning and 5:00 - 8:00 in the evening. Unlimited means something different for me.
I would never come back to this hotel again and I don't recommend to anyone to visit it.
It was very expensive weekend for nothing. :(

As I know this hotel was established about 5 years ago and was a dream of an old lady who furnished and designed it. But she died soon after the hotel was ready and his son (?) inheritted from her. But it seems that he does not care neither about the fame of the hotel nor the guests..... It is so humping. :(

...I am suprised a bit about the positive feedbacks...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heviz hotels
1.0 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Helios
Hunguest Hotel Helios
#14 of 32 in Heviz
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Heviz
Hotel Palace Heviz
#6 of 32 in Heviz
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Club Apartman Hotel Heviz
0.6 mi away
Feng Shui Wellness Apartmenthouse
0.6 mi away
Bonvital Wellness & Gastro Hotel Heviz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Amira Boutique Hotel Wellness & Spa

Property: Amira Boutique Hotel Wellness & Spa
Address: Dr. Babocsay 43, Heviz 8380, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Heviz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Heviz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amira Boutique Hotel Wellness & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amira Boutique Hotel Wellness & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing