We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convinient apartment rooms for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palace Heviz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Heviz
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Heviz
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very convinient apartment rooms for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel's wellness section, the atmoshphere, the food are average four star quality, but we were given apartment rooms, which have a separate sleaping room, and are very cinvinient, if you travel with two or more children.

Room Tip: 101-102-103, or simply ask for apartment rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denesszilard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    68
    32
    12
    2
See reviews for
54
71
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

very nice hotel, large room, good service... food is very good, and there is plenty of it... that is why it is crowded especially on weekends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xeniabelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I were a little misinformed when we chose to stay in Heviz. We didn't realise that the thermal springs had such a stench. We also thought that it was a health retreat (read: luxury spa, fresh food, energetic staff to motivate the masses), instead it was a centre for unhealthy retirees to wollow impolitely in smelly water, eat shockingly bad food, not engage any muscle in their bodies let alone their brians so they may engage in an experience and the staff were bored and drfted through each day. We wanted to make the most of our bad decision to go to Heviz, but each way we turned, there was something that made us cringe.
Danubius is meant to be 4 stars, but it reflects more a 2 star fat camp. None of the food was freshly made and it was fatty, overcooked and over salted. I struggled to find anything at breakfast that wasn't soaked in oil.
The staff didn't care that much and looked strained to just stand at a desk and open their eyes.
The hotel itself looks okay, but it has become run-down and stale. If they could refocus the hotel back to being a proper health spa/ retreat, it could easily be a fun and enjoyable place. But as it is, it is one of the worst hotel experiences tat I've had.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenslanderabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Decent hotel, very close to the thermal lake and city centre.

But: small wellness area compared to the size of the hotel (crowded sauna, no sunbeds at non-peak season), bufet breakfast and dinner with low selection of not-that-tasty meals, unfprofessional staff (reception, restaurant, wellness)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ml111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

Very unfriendly and incompetent stuff. They behave like they want you out the sooner the better. Just leave you money behind.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fujimiya_aya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here to enjoy the spa culture, not to know that it is just for the older set of travellers seeking relief from gout. The hotel is clean and nice enough, but it pretty much stops there. We paid a decent price to try to secure an in-house restaurant that would treat us to quality food and hopefully some local delights. Nothing could be further from the truth. The restaurant is only set up as a buffet serves fairly horrible food that comes straight from packet mixes and is over-salted to try to hide the fact. I do enjoy Hungarian folk food, so it’s not that is wasn’t to my taste, it was outright bad. Everything on offer was overcooked and the desserts were just sugary glup.
Even at breakfast they had artificial sauces for everything and whipped cream to try to decorate the disappointment. So much for being a health spa!
The room was smallish and had a kitchen, but nothing more than a teaspoon to use in it. We couldn’t even try to cook for ourselves.
Their pool area was nice, but shuts very early in the evening, so we only had 30 minutes to try to enjoy it.
Overall, there must be another place to stay if you go to Heviz.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AG365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We've stayed for 4 nights in htl Palace. The hotel is an excellent location to the spa (5 minutes to walk)
Treatments in the hotel excellent, specially I could recommend the honey massage. The only problem: in the massage room they don,t have a relaxing CD, so you have to listen the hungarian news or some hard music, so you can,t really "click off"
The buffet breakfast is excellent, but I can't say the same for the buffet dinner. You have to be early in the restaurant to have a big choise. The staff in the restaurant not quick enought and sometimes they look very busy, Good knows in what.
The rooms are good size and the shower too.
Bedlinen are not very clean at all. The sheet is far to small for a double
bed and all the bedlinen are very old.
Cleaning? If you are lucky they do every second or third day (of course
in the most unconvinient time - around 3 pm, when you could have a rest) If you ask to change the towel, they write it down and it says, next time you can have a clean towel 2 days later. It's not a 4*htl quality.
So it's better if you take some towels with you just in case.
*****
The swimmingpool & relaxing room with the jacuzzi & sauna & steamroom on the groundfloor are excellent. You can have a great time there. (If you'd like to have a "neck shower" there, you have to ask to turn on. It's excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cabbage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heviz hotels
0.3 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
0.6 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Aqua
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquamarin
Hotel Aquamarin
#11 of 33 in Heviz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sante
Hotel Sante
#7 of 33 in Heviz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prestige Haz
Prestige Haz
#12 of 33 in Heviz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Erzsebet
Hotel Erzsebet
#8 of 33 in Heviz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Heviz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Heviz

Property: Hotel Palace Heviz
Address: Rakoczi utca 1-3, Heviz 8380, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Heviz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heviz
#4 Family Hotel in Heviz
#5 Spa Hotel in Heviz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Heviz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Heviz 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palace Heviz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Heviz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing