We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a disappointment...!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hortobagy Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hortobagy
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment...!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I've been here several times a few years ago, but the last 4 years I was in abroad, so I've never had the chance, until yesterday, when we visited again this hotel for a week-end, just for one night. From the outside, from the road, the Club Hotel looks the same: nice, interesting, but a little bit neglected.

I don't know how, when, and I don't know what went wrong, but our stay was full with disappointments. This hotel was excellent, but now, the staff is just average, and they don't smile at all, we had to pay for the suite, before we even had the chance to get our things in it, the breakfast was just an average hungarian continental, with bread and some cheese and ham, but no water at all, and the orange-juice was terrible, donÍt talk about the "hot-meals". Ew.
The swimming pool is still better than average, thanks for the architect. But the inside yard was awful. The grass was parched by the sun, the walls crumble, and they are dirty all over.

The suite is OK, but it's not a Western-European standard. No mini-bar, no wifi, but at least everything's clean. But that's quite an expectation.

One thing was good: the meal. After we had a horrible lunch at the Csárda (omg, what happened over there?!), we had dinner here, and the waiter was very friendly, and our meal was fresh and OK.
Anyhow, this is the only hotel in the area, and when there is the showjumping and the horse-show, you can still have a room for a day or two, but that's it. It's a big disappointment, and I don't want to deal with it, such a nice place, such great opportunities, and it was so much better a few years ago.

I'm not sure in returning, but there are no other choises, and I'm so in love with Hortobagy, so I have to. But not with pleasure.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet, the suits are bigger than the other rooms, but nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had been warned what to expect by the reviews. But the location is unique and so perfect for a stay on the Hortobagy that we risked it. We had been warned by the hotel that they were having some issues with plumbing and the spa would be closed so they offered a substantial reduction.
We arrived the day before opening and found that hotel is now run by a charming and young group and they did all they could to be helpful and pleasant. The main hotel has been completely refurbished and the new owners deserve to do well. Wonderful breakfast. It's truly a great location and should be a great hotel. I wish the new crew every success and thank them for making our stay possible in spite of their re-opening difficulties.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main hotel which has been refurbished. They also have lots of villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampsteadrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Eventhough the pictures and the description of the hotel are amazing. The reality is that it hasn't had any remodeling or maintenance since it's opening in the 1990's. We were a group of 4 so we stayed in one of the cottages. From outside they are beatiful, once insde you see humidity in the walls, dirt, bathtubs with cracks, no towels...
When we requested towels, we never received them. THe day of our check-out we made a comment regarding the towels, and they told us but look they are here. Which really doesn;t help since we were leaving that day. The restaurant has a buffet which is good. The pool is amazing and fun, but if you look at the walls you sind humidity, cobwebs etc.
If they management invests in the upkeep of the building, it could be a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the area. As it is, it may be better to look for a room at a pension.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hortobagy hotels

Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

This place has excellent facilities which unfortunately are showing signs of lack of maintenance even though the hotel is not that old. However if you plan to see the Hortbagy plain (recommended) then it's unlikely you will get better accommodation than this. Some English was spoken by the staff. The buffet evening meals were more tasty than they appeared but were aimed firmly at the Hungarian family palate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stayed for one night. The staff were not pleasant, our bath was actually dirty when we moved in, and we had to ask for it to be cleaned, the accommodation and general hotel areas all seem to be very plain/dull.
The location is very nice, and we loved seeing the Hortobagy Plain and the stud farm, and there was a very friendly little dog in the hotel gardens.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franconia, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

The Hortobagy Club Hotel was supposed to be one of the highlights of our tour of Hungary. At almost 90 Euro per person it was the most expensive hotel that we had booked and judging from the reviews and the web site the hotel looked very promising. Unfortunately, we were disappointed very quickly upon arrival at the hotel.

All parts of the hotel looked very run down as if no refurbishment had ever taken place since its construction. Just as examples:
- more than half of the light bulbs in the room and the bathroom were defective
- the linen had big holes in them and the towels were also close to disintegration (and dirty)
- the bathroom was dirty and the shower curtain moldy
- the swimming pool area was very dirty
- the fitness room was practically non-existent and the equipment partly defective
- the sunlounger (there were about 20) were all defective (and dirty)

The greatest disappointment was, however, the food. We had initially booked half-board, but after the first dinner, we cancelled the dinner. The food was not fresh and definitely warmed up. My wife had a salad, which was probably a couple of days old. The rice was only half-cooked and the overall service was unkind. The whole hotel staff was generally very unkind, which came as a great disappointment to us, because just in the days before we stayed at this hotel, we experienced great Hungarian hospitality.

In general, the hotel has great possibilities. The setting in the Puszta is very beautiful and the hotel also looks promising. In its current state, however, we can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnyphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

It's a perfect place to be in family.
The hotel is in the heart of the Hortobagy Natural Park, and it has a lot of thing to do realy close.
We found the hotel via RCI, so we stayed in the Villas. Our villa had 2 bedrooms, one bathroom, a complete kitchen, a living and dining room really spacious, and a terrace for dinner or getting tan.
The hotel has bikes to rent, and you have many routes to do.
Also, you have the pulzta very close, where you can meet a lot of birds, horses and typical fauna in a carriage with typical hortobagy's guys.
The staff don't talk a fluently english, but is very kind and they strives a lot to communicate with you.
It's a great place to spend your vacations in family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_Madrid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hortobagy
15.6 mi away
Nelson Hotel
Nelson Hotel
#8 of 26 in Hajduszoboszlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
22.8 mi away
Aquaticum Debrecen Thermal and Wellness Hotel
15.5 mi away
Hotel Delibab
Hotel Delibab
#2 of 26 in Hajduszoboszlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#1 of 18 in Debrecen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hajdu Lovasudvar Hortobagy
Hajdu Lovasudvar Hortobagy
#1 of 3 in Hortobagy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okotura Vendeghaz
Okotura Vendeghaz
#2 of 3 in Hortobagy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hortobagy Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hortobagy Club Hotel

Property: Hortobagy Club Hotel
Address: Hortobagy-Mata, Hortobagy 4071, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Great Plain > Hajdu-Bihar County > Hortobagy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hortobagy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hortobagy Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hortobagy Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing