We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Budget Pick”
Review of Hotel Bacchus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bacchus
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keszthely
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was a very basic hotel with smallish rooms, adequate service and a decent location.
The bathroom was tiny but its about what I would expect for this price range in central Europe.
The service and wifi access were both fine with the front desk staff having English language skills.
At the time I was there the town square (about 500m away) was under major construction creating a large hole in the downtown core.
Had a dinner and wine tasting in the cellar restaurant which included a brief tour of their 'museum' which was actually quite interesting. The food was good and the service was acceptable.
We were there during the off season and most of the town was shut-down at night with the exception of the strip clubs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We spent a Friday and Saturday night in August, which is the height of the busy season. The room is spacious and clean, with a typical smallish bathroom. A nice big balcony lloks out over a small garden and the back of the terrace bar seating. The biggest drawback, was the lack of a minibar/fridge. It was also pricey (US $120/night), but that could have been due to the peak season. The location is great, the town square and pedstrian/shopping street ,just a few minutes away on foot. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, although dinner in their basement restaurant isn't a bad option, with an interesting little wine museum to look through while waiting for your food. The included parking is handy if you're travelling by car as we were.
All in all, a pleasant hotel, and I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sakillik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Hotel Bacchus is apparently a family runned hotel. The reception area could use some redecoration. It looks a bit worn but it has a small bar area and a small outside terrace.
The reception has a internet PC available for use of the guests but works a bit slow.
There is no elevator.
The room, n° 206, was bright an quite spacious and has a balcony on the rear side of the hotel, overlooking the garden. Everything is clean but the furnishing is simple and functional. The beds are allright.
Breakfast was served in the cellar restaurant and is fine. All the usual Hungarian breakfast stuff is available but becomes a bit of "more of the same" after a few days in Hungary.
You can also have dinner in the restaurant though you cannot bill it to your room. You have to pay immediately. The restaurant food is Hungarian cuisine but I did not find it that high quality as other reviewers did. The restaurant staff was very helpfull and spoke English. The wine was excellent.
The hotel has a garage as well but as other reviewers have mentioned is it quite narrow and difficult to park. But the hotel gives you a free parking ticket to park your car in the street.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albaicin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Staff were really friendly and the room was exceptionally clean. Loved all the flowers on the balcony and the WiFi. The bars around the town were sampled and found some really interesting ones. The town itself is kept tidy and I loved the market days. Great food, great wine, a very relaxed break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Jillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This hotel is used by various package tour companies. It's OK, but nothing special, the food was good but not outstanding, The staff are friendly and speak English. The cellar restaurant is kind of quirky and also holds a museum of Wine.

Off street Parking in a secure garage is good. Free wifi internet is a little slow.

It represents fairly good value compared to other hotels around the very popular Lake Balaton

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob4Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Hotel Bacchus seems to have been built / converted about 20 years ago, but it's been done in a traditional style and fits with the older buildings in the town. Although central, it's not like a town centre hotel. Private / permit parking is available for guests.

Reception staff are friendly and helpful, and most speak good English (as well as Hungarian and German, at the very least). The hotel has an informal, sedate feel, which will suit anyone looking for a peaceful time. Our room was well insulated for sound, reasonably spacious and had a small balcony overlooking the garden restaurant. Yes, it was furnished with pine - but contrary to the views of another reviewer, I would say it was simple, comfortable and functional; not austere or "post communist", whatever that may mean. I've paid a lot more for a hotel room and had much poorer furnishing.

The restaurant is excellent value too, and the food good, simple and plentiful, but not pretentious. I thought the fish dishes were particularly good. Service is efficient, and like the reception staff most of the waiters are multi-lingual. The downside of eating in the garden is mosquitoes - repellent needed in the evening. An alternative is to eat in the cellar restaurant, where breakfast is also served.

The house wines are worth drinking, and there is a small wine museum attached to the restaurant.

Keszthely is pleasant town to spend some time exploring West Balaton. Hotel Bacchus is about 10 minutes wank from the bus and train stations, and the lake shore.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodalbgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Positives: Clean, good location, friendly staff, can walk from train station.
Negatives: Tiny room, basic tired furnishings, holes in bedding and old towels.

The hotel restaurant was ok, but to be fair there wasn't much elso to choose from in the town. I would not recommend visiting in the winter months.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tor486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keszthely
0.5 mi away
Hotel Helikon
Hotel Helikon
#9 of 13 in Keszthely
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
KAKADU Wellness Hotel
KAKADU Wellness Hotel
#1 of 13 in Keszthely
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbazia Club Hotel
Abbazia Club Hotel
#7 of 13 in Keszthely
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ovit
Hotel Ovit
#4 of 13 in Keszthely
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kristaly
Hotel Kristaly
#8 of 13 in Keszthely
35 reviews
3.2 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bacchus

Address: Erzsebet kiralyne utja 18., Keszthely 8360, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Keszthely
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keszthely
Price Range: £44 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bacchus 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-opened after renovation family-run hotel in a historic building, awaiting it's guests in the very heart of Keszthely city. The Balaton Lake is situated just in 300 meters near the hotel and the thermal Lake Heviz in 7 km. Сozy rooms of the hotel are uniquely decorated in bright colors with wooden features of room's interior. Each room has air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV available for your pleasure. The hotel has own ancient cellar, wines from which you can enjoy in the restaurant. Chefs prepare unforgettable dishes, that emphasize sophistication of the wine and local cuisine. Every morning there is full-served buffet breakfast in our hotel. Guests traveling by car, can take advantage of the hotel garage, for a small extra fee. The hotel has a small own garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bacchus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing