We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the Tokaj Region”
Review of Madi Kuria Hotel

Madi Kuria Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madi Kuria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mad
Reviewed 5 May 2012

A surprising hotel in the midst of the Tokaj Region. A colleague recommended it. It was ideal for touring the many local wineries.

The decor was comfortable and festive (still in the Easter season). Our room was spacious and quiet (2nd floor, rear corner).

Note there is no elevator and the typical European shower could use an upper bracket for the shower-head as well as a shower curtain.). But these are minor points. The Italian bus tours appear to like this stop as there was a bus parked in front on two evenings (both groups were quiet and out before we came to breakfast.)

The breakfasts are included and we were well fed, making this an outstanding bargain at about 70 euros/night for two.

Plan on dinner or lunch at Gusteau's for a world-class culinary experience, just up the hill behind the hotel, near the church. We went twice!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Madi Kuria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Rooms can be very nice, large and comfortable if you really want to stay here and you ha ve the chance to have one of them. But try to avoid those of the second floor: some of them are really tiny and have only a roof window. With a 3 meter hingh ceiling you can be depressive after more than one night.
Otherwise it is a simple and nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor streetfront rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InnSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Nice hotel situated next to TOKAY.
In a old manor with charm, in the center of a village.
Very quiet. Friendly, good breakfast and restaurant.
Room simple and clean
Relatively cheap

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed here for 1 night last August on a tour of the wine region. We loved the simple charm of this place & would definitely choose to stay here again.

The town of Mad is a quaint, charming place where farmers still drive donkey carts with flowers affixed to them to get around. It was dead quiet most of the time we were there, in a very relaxing way. The hotel is a simple, friendly place with some character. There is a nice carved wooden bar & small restaurant on the ground floor. Our room, up the stairs & down a quiet darkened corridor, was huge - spacious, 2 rooms, high ceilings - & bright, with big windows overlooking the shady parking area & a standard bathroom. We discovered that the church bells peal forth - from what sounded like next door - at 5am, traditionally to wake up the village winemakers. We thought this was actually quite charming....

There is a nice carved wooden bar & small restaurant on the ground floor, where we ate. The food was quite good - far better than most of the restaurants we went to in Budapest - featuring local Hungarian dishes. The wine list, with many quality wines by the glass, is a fantastic way to sample the regional wines. The service was simple & friendly & the prices reasonable.

We would choose to stay here again when touring the wine region, as the town of Tokaji is very close by & we thought Mad was more charming, with very few tourists.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We happened upon Madi Kuria entirely by accident. During a visit to Miskolc, we met a winemaker and told him we were heading to Tokaj. He recommended that we visit the village of Mad, saying it is less touristy and more authentic of a town, and that it has a historic synagogue dating from the 1700s.

After driving into this quaint town, we found the synagogue and we looked around the village. One member of our party needed a restroom and we saw the Madi Kuria and went in. It looked nice, so we inquired about rates (about $85 for a double room, including breakfast) and they had availability so we registered.

It was quite warm, so we asked about air conditioning--only the rooms on the second floor (American third floor) have A/C, so we opted for those. They did have ground floor rooms, and our elderly mom took one of those (there are no elevators in this hotel).

The rooms have modern appointments, are very clean and well maintained. All have private bathrooms (showers, some rooms have tubs) that are also clean & modern.

They asked if we wanted to reserve a table for dinner, which we did (there are no other restaurants in Mad that we noticed), and we proceeded to nearby Tokaj (a 15 minute drive) to a winery recommended by one of the Madi Kuria staff--the Rakoczi-Pince Winery, which offered an excellent and unusual wine tasting in their ancient cavern. (Tokaj did not appear to be overly touristy, after all, and it has a beautiful town square that is pedestrian-only, lined with small shops.)

The A/C worked great in our rooms, but those top floor rooms are where the roof gables are located and there is low headroom for those sleeping on the outer side of the bed, so watch your head getting up in the middle of the night!

The front desk staff clerk did not speak English very well, but a young man who seemed to wait tables and perform other duties, did speak fairly well--and all were very attentive to us and other guests staying there.

Dinner was quite good for a small out of the way hotel like this--not up to Budapest standards, though. Breakfast the next morning was pretty basic but just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

A stately, old bank has been converted into a hotel in Mad, one of the villages in the famed Tokaji wine region of Hungary. The rooms are very spacious and remodeled. There are no screens on the windows (I found this common in Hungary). I am unsure on whether or not there is AC. The bar is very cute (also acts as the reception). Had good food at the restaurant one night; a local winemaker was hosting a winemaker dinner there on the night we had to leave, sadly. Very helpful staff. Nice location for visiting Royal Tokaji Wine Company. Mad is about 15-30 minutes from the town of Tokaj, the main village in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 71Philippe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mad
4.3 mi away
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
5.6 mi away
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
15.8 mi away
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
#1 of 1 in Sarospatak
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Tokaj & Restaurant
17.9 mi away
Hotel Vecsecity Superior
Hotel Vecsecity Superior
#1 of 1 in Hernadvecse
42 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Aventinus
Hotel Aventinus
#1 of 8 in Nyiregyhaza
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madi Kuria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madi Kuria Hotel

Address: Rakoczi utca 48, Mad 3909, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Mad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mad
Price Range: £51 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madi Kuria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Madi Kuria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing