We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent liberty-style hotel in the very Centre of Pécs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palatinus City Center
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel is at 100 meters from the central square of Pécs, in the middle of the no-cars area. With respect to the negative remarks about it that I have read here, it must have been restored quite recently, since I could detect no worn-out details. The hall, restaurant, common spaces and the so-called Dancing Hall have a great liberty décor, very well preserved. Breakfast Buffet is an ample one, with a wide choice of standard, international, breakfast items, and traditional Hungarian ones. Rooms are not very big, but they are comfortable enough, reasonably well equipped (coffee and tea facilities, refrigerator, air-conditioning, TV, wireless Internet connection). For the category and the offer, prices are acceptable, and the central position is a plus that cannot be forgotten. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: don't choos a
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andydocrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Wonderful art nouveau foyer giving the right ambience, we just stayed the night, but our room, although basic, was fine, the customer service and breakfast buffet were excellent and the hotel central and ideal to explore the city. Overall very impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Palatinus is one of those old line European hotel you expect great things of only to find it hasn't been maintained or upgraded to met today's expectation and standards for it's price range. The lobby is intriguing, but the rooms are both small and worn and badly in need of a basic redoing (paint especially). It's location remains it's outstanding attribute located as it in on Kiraly which places it a 100 meters from the center point of Pecs and along it's main tourist and shopping artery (which is a pedestrian mall). Pecs is an old city and has much to offer for historic and museum enjoyment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Negative aspects:
-car access difficut, no parking areas nearby, expensive hotel parking
- very small room (the standard one!); not very clean and extremely hot inside; if you go during summer you'll find it difficult to sleep: very hot, dreadful pillows, a lot of noise if you keep the window open;
Positive aspects:
- the staff: quite nice,
- breakfast OK
All in all: I wouldn't recommend it!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank elvira_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Rooms were run down and very cramped. Sheets did not even cover the mattress. Furniture in bad shape. Very good location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KakaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Liked: The hotel is located near the central square in a picturesque building. Be sure to take a superior room - they are better. My room was quiet.

Disliked: Rooms are very small. Air conditioning is much more like ventilation: does not really make air cooler. Staff was rather unfriendly and breakfast was average at best.

There are few hotels in Pecs and this one had probably been the best, but now in 2010 that the city became the European Capital of Culture I noticed a few brand new hotels there, just opened or still under construction. Maybe one of them is more worth a try.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wander5r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I am glad that I chose this hotel. It's a grand-looking place right on the main walking strip in Pecs. The room was small, but that was to be expected. The Internet was free if you sat at a special table in the restaurant.

I liked having restaurants and bars close by.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaracasCorrespondent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pecs hotels
0.1 mi away
Adele Boutique Hotel
Adele Boutique Hotel
#1 of 27 in Pecs
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corso Hotel Pecs
Corso Hotel Pecs
#3 of 27 in Pecs
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Therapia
Hotel Therapia
#4 of 27 in Pecs
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millennium
Hotel Millennium
#15 of 27 in Pecs
49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Makar Sport & Wellness
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fonix
Hotel Fonix
#11 of 27 in Pecs
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palatinus City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatinus City Center

Address: Kiraly utca 5., Pecs 7621, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range: £31 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palatinus City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic monuments, cultural events, charming streets, thermal baths, fine wines and scenic hiking routes, Pécs is understandably one of Hungary’s leading tourist destinations – and Hotel Palatinus is among its most beautiful buildings! Entering the grand lobby is like stepping into a different era, and Art-Nouveau masterpieces like the stunning ballroom – where Béla Bartók once performed – continue to enchant guests to this day. The hotel is also an excellent base for exploring, located just off the main square in the historic old town, and next door to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palatinus City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatinus Hotel Pecs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing