We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sarvar
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you dont want to make outdoor events, and would love to stay in a spa hotel, you will love this place. Strongly recommend it for couples or for company/business trips. The food was good, but nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAquary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    104
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
107
206
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

It is the third time I chose the hotel for a refreshing spirit. I was particularly impressed by the quality of service this hotel. The hotel staff is very friendly, there was no one Besides you without you salute and most of the times I'll smile. The food was great. At each dinner, and at every breakfast menu changes. If not like something from the menu, it's even a cook with a grill that can cook immediately mounted a fresh steak. In the lobby after dinner, atmosphere is uplifting. Playing the piano a maestro who makes you feel gorgeous. the spa is excellent. each indoor pools and even those outside with hot water were available. What is truly impressive is that this hotel is never too crowded at the pools. those who deal with maintenance of the pools are very attentive. check water temperature permanently. the rooms are in a perfect condition. There is still a single problem!the sauna morality is zero. all who go there are completely naked. It's embarrassing and I think the Manager has to think of a solution for all to enjoy and sauna. It is an ugly stain on the image of the hotel it freedom to go to sauna. hotel spirit is one of the favorite destinations when it comes to holiday in any season of the year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marchis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Accommodation: We booked a standard room and there is literally nothing to complain about. Room was clean with nice view from the terrace. Minibar refilled daily and cleaning performed before we returned from the breakfast.

Hotel premises: Hotel is furnished in a luxury style with big water tank just across the lobby bar. In the evening there was a live piano music. You can find everywhere a lot of fresh flowers and all the premises are in general very tidy and clean.

Dining: Breakfast and dinner were included in room price, you only pay extra for your drinks during dinner. Cuisine was delicate with a huge selection of all kind of food including free glass of sparkling wine for breakfast or a wild boar or venison for dinner.

Spa: Hotel has its own mineral hot spring coming up from a drill hole over 1 km deep. You can use pools and jacuzzis filled with mineral spring water as well as ordinary fresh (pool) water. In hot spring you can also get to the outside pool (from the inside spa in winter) and relax in a hot water while you feel the cold air blowing. During the evening time, employees light up the fire, so swimming out in a hot water becomes a very romantic experience. There is also a selection of saunas and various massages and beauty procedures in spa center. Just one advice, don't forget your own flip-flops, as those provided by the hotel are textile and they get wet quickly.

Overall this hotel is an ideal place to relax also during winter season.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy_oap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Together with my partner, we visited Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa for 2 nights in November 2013 and can only say we spent an unforgettable spa holiday in a peaceful and relaxing ambience. During our review, we follow a structure that focuses on the main factors one should generally consider when deciding in which hotel to stay.

To understand a bit more about who we are and based on which factors we chose Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa: we are an urbanite couple, both in our mid-30s, with high education and working in one of the most competitive sectors (i.e. finance) under continuous pressure. Especially due to professional reasons, we live our daily life highly structured and therefore when time comes to take a rest and a few days off, we prefer those places that ensure the highest quality standards. Based on our experience at Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa, it is definitely one of those places.

1. Arrangement: We visited Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa through personal acquaintances without any intermediary involved thus organized our trip directly with the hotel. Organizing our stay went smooth, however we had been in contact with the hotel through friends.

2. Arrival: Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa is located 210 km from Budapest / 130 km from Vienna that takes 2.5 / 2 hours of travel by car. Since this was not the first time for my partner in the hotel and for either of us in Sárvár, we have been rather comfortable with how to get there. Arrival was smooth with nice and helpful staff that was ready to grab our entire luggage and bring them up in the room. No specialty to mention, since the hotel is located on a relatively large plot nearby the lake of Sárvár, parking as well as moving all around is very much comfortable. One will find a relaxing, close-to-nature environment from the arrival already. With a lot of available parking space, the only downside to mention was that vast majority of the parking space is outdoor thus unsecured in case of adverse weather conditions.

3. Accommodation: Since we had been travelling 2 only, we booked an orient double room which was very well equipped with all kind of extras one would expect from a ***** hotel. The room was brand new just as the hotel itself (opened in 2008), and ensured a view at the lake of Sárvár. It is important to note that due to the architecture of the hotel, the lake view was something we explicitly asked for. Other rooms might potentially have a view either at the parking space for cars or at the surrounding trees between the hotel and the aqua park next to it. At first, a view at the parking space might sound surprising and not that much desirable, but given that people spend most of their time at the spa, the view itself has not much to add to the overall quality of the hotel. Anyhow, the more desirable side is the one with the lake view, definitely. Besides that, not much to mention as the web site of the hotel explains everything in detail.

4. Food and beverages: We chose half board instead of full board and the food was excellent throughout the whole trip, both in terms of quality and quantity. Breakfast gave us all features one can expect from a ***** hotel. For me, the key element was the freshly made omelets every morning, tailor made to the guests’ requests each and every time. Besides this feature, the breakfast included continental as well as English elements, fresh fruits, juices and even champagne thus a great selection of meals to choose from. The same we can state for the diner as well: one could choose from a great variety of cold and hot starters, salads, soups, main courses, cheeses and deserts. Regarding venue, we would definitely go for the winter garden which is by far the most beautiful part of the restaurant, however each and every section has a classy style and decent design.

5. Attractions: First off, since we stayed for 2 nights only and were rather set for the spa experience, did not have much time to check out all the attractions the hotel and the surrounding area offers but even though we tested some of them. The ones we tried and recommend:

- Spa and wellness area: Main attraction of the hotel and the most astonishing spa we have ever been to. Simply superb. For us, this had been the first time for such a spa experience. Really convincing. With uncountable number of indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool function and several saunas to choose from coupled with a steam bath with thermal water, definitely by far the strongest feature to mention. For kids (mainly toddlers) and , there is a specific “kindergarten area” / toddlers’ pool nearby the “adults’ pools” that might bring benefit to couples with one or more kids, even though in our view this hotel is not specifically designed for kids but rather for adults only who dedicate time to relax. A feature that should definitely be mentioned are the so called “sauna séances” being thematic sauna therapies directed by sauna masters and organized in the sauna world 3 times a day for larger groups of people. Finally, we definitely recommend trying the Turkish Spa and especially the “Hamam” treatment. In a Hamam, with the help of the Hamam master, guests go through a multi-step procedure, bathing in four pools filled with water at four different temperatures to become accommodated to heat in phases, starting from colder going towards the hottest. They offer tea in the pools. Firstly the Hamam master carries out a peeling with a special Hamam glove, than comes a fine olive soap-foam massage and a hot shower. At the end of the treatment it is important to cool down and relax in the restroom. Meanwhile, one can enjoy the tastes of the Orient and the water pipe.

- Lake of Sárvár: As I am a great fan of running, the lake of Sárvár offered a nice challenge to take in the morning with its 9 hectares surface, 4 lakes of a lake system, 5 bridges and 5 smaller islands to cross.

All in all, we spent 2 wonderful nights in this astonishing hotel belonging definitely among the top ones in the country and being undisputedly the best wellness hotel of Hungary (the hotel is the European Health & Spa 2010 Award Winner Best Destination Spa), even if checking out was a bit messy due to the extra workload generated by the fact that almost all guests intended (or rather tried) to check out at the same time. We highly recommend Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa to anybody having the opportunity to travel there. Will enjoy it definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple from H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juanillo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've been to the Spirit Hotel probably around 15 times by now. One of those stays lasted for ten days in a row.

My visits started shortly after the hotel was opened. Before i discovered the Spirit Hotel, i was a Spa-hopper in Austria and, with that being my primary point of reference, i have to say that if those Austrian Spas allow themselves 5 stars, then the Spirit Hotel deserves at least 5+2!

The Spirit Hotel has managed to create a perfect equilibrium between the feel of a hotel and a Spa. From the moment you enter the lobby, you find yourself in a wonderfully maintained and tastefully furnished environment that despite its sheer size manages to provide an immense feeling of comfort and warmth. 



The receptionists are attentive and skilled. On each of my visits they have responded to my every request without hesitation or difficulties. Even more so, during my last stay i was given not only a gift for my customer loyalty, i also received a high quality red wine as a birthday present. Furthermore when i left, those wonderful guys took me a bit too literally when i asked for takeaway-breakfast. I was unable to eat and drink up all of what they provided.

Communication works flawlessly and the check-in process passes very quickly. 

You get a free welcome drink upon arrival (for each person).



The rooms are tastefully set up, clean and well maintained. Rarely did i find something not working and i knew, would i even dare to communicate it to the front desk, they'd have it fixed in an instant or move me to a different room immediately. Even the rooms with the lowest rate (Premium) are more than enough for a one-person stay.

If you can afford it and you come as a couple, i recommend the King Room - you get a whirlpool in a very spacey room. Place some candles around the room, dim the lights and you're set for a most romantic experience. 



A general downside may be the fact that if your neighbours are of the loud type, you might hear them through the walls. 

Also there may be some music pushing through from the cozy bar area close to the lobby, but they usually stop playing before any sane person would decide to enter dreamtime.

The Spirit Hotel offers rooms for allergic visitors as well. These feature wooden floors instead of carpets, as well as special bed linen.)

The thermal bath and swimming area are simply huge, yet always clean and inviting. The real thermal water features a rich combination of minerals and trace elements. You can swim outside through a little door, or dive underneath it.

If you do sports swimming, there is a huge separate pool for that, which features a beautiful setup of decorative measures on the ceiling. Those are great for orientation when you do backstroke swimming. Hitting your head on the end of the pool becomes a real difficult task - so it is just great.



There are more pools and another huge outside pool, next to a restaurant and bar that sometimes offers a nice brunch buffet and a huge variety of other snacks and drinks a'la carte. Don't worry about the plastic glasses. The hotel can't risk the one broken glass ripping open the foot of the next child running across. Plastic got the vote here, rightfully. But coffee still comes in a classic and proper ceramic cup.

Speaking of children, i have never ever felt molested there by a kid's noise or anything alike.



The Spa itself is massive. There are doctors, ionizing baths, salt chambers and much, much more. You can go to the floating tank (actually a huge bathtub that is filled with high saltwater) and go for the experience of temporary sensory deprivation. Anti-gravity for the win!

You can also get a colon-hydrotherapy done if you feel in for the ride - and at a VERY reasonable price, too.



The choice of treatments is massive. From basic massages to very oriental and exotic methods - they have it all. And all the beauty and cosmetic treatments, not to mention the dermatologist that comes to the hotel at least once a week. I tried none of all that, so i can't say much about it.



The Spa receptionists are a sweet bunch of well trained ladies with proper English language capacities. They will answer all your questions and book your treatments. There's a younger, very nice lady who gets my vote, as she provided me with information far beyond the hotel grounds - gave me hints on where to buy what in town back in January 2013.



I tried classic massages, Ayurvedic massages, Thai massages, Foot reflex ... all of them were not only highly effective but also very "traditionally accurate". Even though the Ayurvedic massages are done by Hungarians, those guys have the skill. I have been to a multitude of resorts in India and i can tell a bad Ayurvedic massage from a proper one. However, the ones offered in the Spirit Hotel are more the wellness-type massages. If you need more force, i am sure that asking the therapist will get you there.



The Thai massage is done by actual Thai ladies who know their trade. Be warned though - this is not for the sensitive ones!



The hotel offers a huge program, a large variety of gymnastics, yoga, meditation and other things. You can play tennis outside, go for a nice run across bridges that cover the surrounding lakes, take a walk, go for a bike tour – no limits!



There is a free fitness center with a huge choice of cardio and muscular training devices. There is also a hairdressing salon on the first floor, which until recently featured a very talented girl who gave me one of the most proper haircuts i received in a long time. Like seriously - perfection. Its a shame she is gone.



The restaurant offers a massive buffet for breakfast and dinner, both of which are included in the room rate (as far as i am concerned). I am vegetarian and during my longest stay was, on top of that, following a strict gluten-free and lactose-free diet. But even then, the staff in the restaurant managed to satisfy my every need. They served me specially prepared dishes and i was not charged separately for them (which is fair, considering the fact that i was unable to eat about 80% of what was offered in the buffet).

But just for the record: they do mark lactose and gluten in the meals on little signs they place above or next to the food bowls. The cooks are true bosses. Everything is of high quality, very clean ... and i never had the feeling they were using low-quality ingredients.



There are multiple bars, for instance at the lobby or next to the restaurant, the latter offering a nice musical entertainment program on many evenings, with a very cool piano player who is named Roland and plays his music on a Roland piano, a guy who really knows how to handle his instrument! Very comfy couches and chairs. And a real fireplace, best during the wintertime.

Downstairs there is another bar which also features a bowling alley and a pool billiard table. I didn't look for darts but i wouldn't be surprised if they had that, too.



Recently the management has changed. Mr. Hackl, who ran the show for some years, left the stage. The new manager promised further improvements in one of the newsletters they sent out. I was sceptical at first but now that i have returned, i believe she's going to do a great job!



All in all, the Spirit Hotel simply is the best place within the 2 hours driving range from Vienna, Austria. And on top of that, it is more affordable!



Without taking political sides i would like to state that the onrush of Russian guests has changed the overall atmosphere of the place, at least a tiny bit. Years ago i heard people speak German, English and Hungarian. On my stay before my most recent one, the majority of visitors was Russian, it seems. Most of them i do not notice, but more often than not i see a lack of basic respect and manners in them, like for instance a lady who just ran against my leg tonight in the bar, while i was seated - and did not even have the decency to look at me, let alone to excuse herself. They also have a tendency to smoke in non-smoking areas and to quibble and complain about a whole lot of stuff. 

I think its great if the Russians bring good business to Europe, but they should do so with appropriate behaviour and a respectful attitude. I have seen Indian resorts lose literally all of their European clients because of their Russian guests. A horrible destiny for a spa, resort or hotel. Keeping a cultural equilibrium should be on a hotel's agenda, even if its the marketing that accounts for that result.



Anyway. If you look for a top-quality Spa to totally relax and lean back, to have some good treatments done, to swim in hot, real thermal water after sipping an almond-honey-carrot milkshake, at a comparatively good price: look no further!

ROOM TIP: Dogs are allowed in rooms on the first floor, which also holds the anti-allergic rooms. And some people just don't love their dogs enough to not lock them up in the room for multiple hours. Make sure you're not the neighbour.

Conclusion: The Spirit Hotel is the absolute best!

Room Tip: Higher up will usually be more quiet. Try not to end up next to the elevator or next to a service ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenlethar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was there on business. It was a conference in the hotel.
The hotel is very nice, friendly, the rooms are big, and the stuff is very helpful. I do not have good opinion in generaly about hotel restaurants, becouse these are too "sterile", but it is at Spirit not the case. The kitchen is very good. The buffets, and also the catering for the event were o.k.

I can only recommend to everyone, I 'll go there once with family as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanbacsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlohovec, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Really something special
Absolutly excelent food, everybody can find something, he like.
Very nice and great spa, very clean, no pressure
Nice people, very good service
Big clean rooms, enough space for everything
Some personal speeks only hungarian, but they want to help

Room Tip: Really something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baranekmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarvar
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sarvar
0.5 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Sarvar
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bassiana
Hotel Bassiana
#4 of 8 in Sarvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Buk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#7 of 8 in Sarvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Repce Gold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa

Property: Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
Address: Vadkert koerut 5, Sarvar 9600, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Vas County > Sarvar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sarvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spirit Thermal Spa***** in Sarvar, Hungary's latest five-star-hotel, opened its doors in March 2008. Offering 273 style furnished hotel rooms and suites, the newly built unique hotel of Europe meets every requirement of the five star level. There is a spa- and wellness area of more than 10.000 sq m with 22 pools and a large therapy, beauty and medical spa centre. The medical services are based on the thermal water of Sarvar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Hotel Thermal Sarvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing