We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wounderful, good place to escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sarvar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2010

It is a great place to be cared for and really relax, even after three days we felt as good as new. They really care for you, the wellness part is incredibel, I cant imagine something better. The treatments; I had massage, hamam and beauty treatment, wher worth every cent. Food is good, and the interior style of the hotel is very extrvagant but therfor funny and interessting

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viennalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2009

Wonderful and attentive service, really nice room, impressive spa/pool areas and loved the beds around the indoor pools. Perfect if you want to disconnect and relax.
The only "slight" disappointment was the restaurant. We had one night with a five-course menu and one night with the buffet and although we found nothing to complain about, compared to the perfection of the rest of the place, it doesn't really meet expectations. Service and wine though were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatu_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We spent a weekend recently in this beautiful hotel, we really wanted to try out as we have heard lots of nice comments about it before.

The hotel and its facilities are over expectations, it is really a nice and very valuable product. The pools, the relaxing area, the childrens playroom the sauna world are amazing, we would have been able to spend weeks here... We came with our 4,5 year old daughter, she enjoyed the spa area the most, there are lots of pools with lower level water, nice attractions, there is something happening all the time in one of the pools.
The hotel was relatively quiet, we had no problem to get beds near the pool area. Perfect relaxing weekend with the family.

On the other hand I would mention some things that could be improved:

- the food and beverage rates are quite high compare to the quality and the selection the hotel provides, the light lunch meal near the pool was the most negative, almost like a 3* + selection... basic sandwiches, salads, pancakes only..
- hard to find food at the dinner for the children, it would be great to have a children's menu implemented as well on the menu card
- the evening dinner buffet does not worth 7500 HUF /person, (basic soup, galuska and beef stew.. nothing special - makes the guests to find restaurants in the city, as they can eat a full dinner from this in the town... although would be great to stay in the hotel, it is a nice atmosphere, and would be more convinient...
- we were missing the sweets from the breakfast - pancakes, tejbegríz, anything that can be offered to a child quickly..
- the coffee service was not happening at the breakfast, it would be great to either display the coffee at the buffet, or have the waiters offer the coffee to everybody - we needed to cath a waiter every morning to get it. (they just remove the used dishes, not doing anything else..)
- signages: there are very few signs in the hotel, it took us 1 day to discover the whole building - we found on the departure day, that there was a complete 1st floor with treatments, hairdressers (but unfortunately they were not working..) , beauty salon, even a program office as well to offer excursions! - it would be great when the hotel would be able to make either a map of the hotel, or put more signs in the elevator to inform the guests about the lots of possibilities that are available in the building. - they are great services, and probably would sell better this way..

I would recommend the hotel for everybody, great stay and great facilities - I'm sure that the service will develop as well, it looks at the moment that for this, they need a bit more time..

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anikotakacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We pretty much tried every 4-5* hotels in Hungary (and quite a few abroad as well) but so far this was the best. The atmosphere and design of the hotel is perfect. Staff is very polite and helpful. For instance: I had no problem getting salads in the restaurant although it was not on the menu, the sauna attendant "Pista" provided us free home made skincare products. The spa area is huge compared to every other wellness hotel I've been to.
Small things that did not deliver:
The restaurant: the quality of the food was good but compared to the other services of the hotel it kind of fell short.
The elevators in the lobby: for some reason they start really realy slow and have an oily smell.
Overall one of the most pleasant stays I ever had in a hotel. Never really thought of going back to any hotel, but this time I will make an exception.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozsasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I had heard a lot about the Hotel and we decided to go there late last year. The prices are high but I had friends had been there and they had told that it was a great place to visit. I had been checking it few times via Internet and after the launch of their new website in early March I was totally amused and amazed and we decided to go there at the next weekend.

They write about the beautiful surroundings on their webpage in such a way that our expectations have been on a very high level – broadly speaking, they met these expectations. However, the parking place was surprising because there was only a few – 20-30 something – covered parking slots. But on the whole, it looks nice and dependable outside.

When getting in, the amazing thing on the homepage I was writing about in the beginning was reflected. We were walking smoothly to the reception because we were trying to take a site at the roomy and unique hall they had. The check-in was fast and the staff was very-very polite, always smiling and genial.

We booked a king size room having whirlpool – for my lady’s appeal. The room was really nice – 5 star class, etc. Only problem we had to face – really tiny little one – that in the bathroom when I tried to use the telephone it fell down from the wall. After I had put it back I informed the reception and the technicians came in a few minutes and check the problem – it happens sometime, I think no place can prepare for every little problems like this.

The spa area is very amazing, indeed – you should take every word seriously that are written on their homepage. Albeit not being a spa-wellness-sauna lover and I cannot be “turned on” by such things, I really enjoyed it and the environment and the ambience was original and special. I tried ayurveda massage: no comment – most positively… everyone has to try it while being in Spirit.

The cuisine was satisfying – really wide-range foods in buffet, 5 star level but nothing extra. Except the servings of the chef – he was a very pleasant guy having a thundering good sense of humor but always being gentleman.
We really liked the place much, worthy to go there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Me and my husband had been planning to visit the Spirit Hotel since the long awaited opening in March. We enjoyed our 2 day stay however we experienced some annoying matters. In spite of these disturbing issues Spirit Hotel has a place among the TOP5 Spa Hotel in Hungary. Needless to say we had overwhelming expectation.

Starting with the good ones:
+ the hotel is such nice and impressive as on the catalog pics
+ spacious and well furnished rooms, nice bathroom
+ comfortable bed (standard room with classic bed)
+ ample food choice at the breakfast and at the dinner
+ massage highly recommended it really worth its price
+ huge wellness part with a lot of pools, many types of sauna
+ high quality fitness equipment, not too big but enough
+ gorgeous park with lake

and the flops:
- too crowded in the weekend time, especially the wellness area, race for the "sun-beds" in the morning, late comers are just spinning and spinning around
- some of the guest aren't aware of the sauna rules
- expensive minibar in the room and pricy drinks

+ Due to the crowded time the hotel management offered a late check out to compensate the inconveniences +

All in all a recommendable Spa hotel if you can afford go in weekdays.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EmyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Spirit Hotel is most definitely one of the most luxurious hotels in entire Hungary. It's primary orientation to spa and relaxation, as well as the vicinity to Austria and pitoresque landscape where it's positioned all make good base for a very enjoyable escape from everyday life. And true - Spirit Hotel does deliver - but only for those ready to spend their days soaking in the water with no desire for something more active.

The accomodation in the hotel is outstanding, with spaceous, lavishly furnished rooms, big balconies and jacuzzis included as part of the room, as visible from the pictures. Free Internet is also accessible from the room. What Spirit Hotel does brilliantly is the actual spa area, consisting of a big number of pools with cold or thermal water, turkish baths (which look spectacular), outdoor thermal waters, olympic swimming pool and a separate sauna complex with several different types of sauna. The facilities are very clean, and one can easily spend the whole day around the pools, leisure areas and bars that are part of the complex. For those who get tired of the hotel, the surrounding is beautiful as well and includes a small lake and forest. For any other needs - the city is several kilometres away.

Where the hotel dissapointed, however, was the value for money - a 2-day stay was extremely expensive and clearly priced towards Western European standards vs. local Hungarian ones. Fully understanding the strategy the owner is taking and the great experience for those who look for a peaceful getaway from daily life, the prices are quite on the high side. However, there are special offers available from time to time that do make the price more acceptable.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel very highly to those that look for peaceful, comfortable refuge from daily life, but are also willing to cash out a huge amount of money to get one. Comfort is what the hotel is about, and that it does beautifully. For everything else - there are probably much better (cheaper) solutions around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Globetrottingcroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarvar
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sarvar Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Sarvar
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bassiana
Hotel Bassiana
#4 of 8 in Sarvar
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa
12.3 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Buk
9.5 mi away
JUFA Vulkan Thermen-Resort
JUFA Vulkan Thermen-Resort
#1 of 1 in Celldomolk
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa

Address: Vadkert koerut 5, Sarvar 9600, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Vas County > Sarvar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sarvar
Price Range: £214 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spirit Thermal Spa***** in Sarvar, Hungary's latest five-star-hotel, opened its doors in March 2008. Offering 273 style furnished hotel rooms and suites, the newly built unique hotel of Europe meets every requirement of the five star level. There is a spa- and wellness area of more than 10.000 sq m with 22 pools and a large therapy, beauty and medical spa centre. The medical services are based on the thermal water of Sarvar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Hotel Thermal Sarvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing