We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sarvar
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
“Magical experience”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Our stay in Spirit Hotel was a truly amazing experience. We have never experienced anything like that before.

The two most memorible events:

1. FOOD - great food!
2. Procedures - massage, hamam.

You have to try it, it's hard to describe.

Kristina

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinkabratislava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    108
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
110
217
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Every time there is a special occasion we go to Hotel Spirit.
The only problem is the location - Hotel Spirit is is Sarvar, in Hungary, pretty much in the Middle of Nowhere. That is no problem thought. It is worth travelling a thousand miles for this hotel. The minute you enter the building the looks takes your breath away. Stylish, luxurious, unique.

The rooms look absolutely great, we have stayed in a Grand room with a round bed. Rooms are stylish, sexy and clean. But this is still not the reason you go there for. What is then? 11 000 M2 of SPA!! 22 pools, a hammam and the sauna world... heaven.
There is nothing in Hungary you can compare this place with. You simply have to go and experience it.

Go for a half or full board, as you will find only one more pizzeria in the whole town. There is no reason to leave this hotel for, whatsoever - if you are looking for a full day of spa experience, relaxation and a romantic dinner - you will get it.

Staff is the only weak side of the place. You must be lucky to meet a nice receptionist. At the spa they feel free to tell you that you are not welcome for a massage (with the exaxt same expression) if you are pregnant. These all does not matter though; Spirit is so pretty and you are so relaxed from the soft bed, the nice food and the sauna experience that nothing can make you feel annoyed or stressed at all.

When mentioning staff I have to praise the old man in the Sauna World, He is always there. Happy to give you a glass of water after the sauna. Looks after you – tells you all how to do the sauna ritual right. Always in a great form always in a good mood. You will learn from him how to use salt and honey to make your skin soft after the rose-sauna. He is simply great – just like the whole place!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOGO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We spend a week in Spirit Hotel, and it was our first time there. It is a very good hotel, and you can surely take it a 5 star. The room was good (two was connected to each other) and clean (except shower a bit) and it was quite big. The food was excellent and the staff is very friendly. You could ask for anything they helped. It was as good for the baby as the teens - lots of pools, bowling, biliard, snack bar, tenis court, etc. The only problem was the lawn mover at early morning (8 o'clock) :(

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BP_traveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We had a great relaxing weekend in that hotel.
Rooms: very nice.. order one with round bed!! balcony was bit small but we had the last room before the elevator tower..so bad luck for us...
The pools are great because there are very different pools for any purpose. from hot to cool, from outside to inside, from special spa water to normal, from bubble to simple... Everyone finds his preferred pool
Spa: We had Hammam, this was great! Try this, very professional done
Guests: interesting mixture of older and younger couples , some family with kids, some Hungarians, some Austrian... but no group dominant
Restaurant: evening restaurant was buffet.. OK but not very 5* like
Service: good, but not 5*
Price/Value: not the most compelling reason to go there.. For Hungarian niveau quite expensive, but competes with Austrian spa hotels across the border.. so market decides ;-)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michischramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Firstly, let me clarify that I did not stay at this property, but spent an entire day using the spa facilities (for a reasonable - if you're not used to Hungarian prices - 10,000Ft (GBP30) per person per day). I did however, have a tour of about half a dozen different types of bedroom which I shall address first.

The rooms are all spacious and look very comfortable. None of them, from the standard double to a rather spacious suite, have a bath. Some of them have jacuzzi tubs in the bedroom (more Heffner than Starck from an interior design perspective) but the actual bathroom area only contains a walk-in shower. The decor is also a bit naff, cream leathers, shiny fabrics, it's all good quality, but just doesn't quite gel to give the impression of a modern (this is a brand new building, so modern is exactly what it is) five star property. Not having a bath is and isn't a big deal, it's just that most hotel rooms that only have a shower are ones in a motel! I just feel that given the surroundings with views over a lake and parkland, the rooms could have been designed to fit in with the landscape and let the views take centre stage. I am thinking simple wood floors, raw limestone, that sort of thing, rather than heavily patterened carpets that could be straight from the 80s.

The approach to the restaurant area has a wood panelled, club type lounge with an open fire. All very pleasant, but I am not sure how a repro antique room fits in with a modern property. The restaurant itself is comfortable, but as others have noted, the evening menu is a buffet, albeit an extensive one. I just feel that for a five star property not to offer a la carte choices is ill advised. Now we are a couple of decades on from the 80s, a buffet is suitable for breakfast, and at a pinch, a relaxed Sunday brunch. Whoever advised the management on interior design for the rooms and dining clearly still has chalkstripe suits and/or jackets with huge shoulder-pads in their wardrobe!

The real reason I went to Sarvar was to use the extensive spa facilties at this hotel. The pool areas are all beautifully tiled in various mosaics, and offer anything from a standard swimming pool, to various pools with waves, bubbles and thermal waters, both indoor and outdoor. There are plenty of loungers, chairs and day beds dotted around by the pools so one can really relax. There is also a superb sauna world which offers about a dozen different types of sauna. The service in this facilty is excellent with a member of staff offering sauna goers various exfoliating "lotions" (salt and honey - that type of thing) to try. The design of this facility is faultless, the entire area is dimly lit, and has a very natural feel about it, top marks. The design of the pool areas is equally pleasing, with a pool bar that spills out onto the terrace. Again, the menu was disappointing, but the cocktails were not badly made and very reasonably priced.

The changing rooms seemed slighly below par compared to the other spa areas which had obviously had a lot of thought, attention and indeed money lavished on them. They were perfectly serviceable, but the lockers were not bespoke, just the very basic public swimming baths type, and there were no shampoos and shower gels in the showers - one had to ask for these. I suppose most people using the spa are guests who walk down from their room in bathrobes so don't really require these facilities, however, they should still be up to the standards of other areas.

The only thing that let the spa down was a lack of service in certain areas. As I've already mentioned, the sauna area functioned perfectly, but the spa reception is a different story. It took a good quarter of an hour for the receptionist to find a couple of bathrobes. She seemed flummoxed by this simple request, calling the main reception one moment, the housekeeper the next, until they eventually arrived with said items. At lunchtime the credit card machines were not working, so they insisted I leave the spa area and go to the main reception to pay, rather than pay at the end of the day before I left.

What one has with the Spirit Hotel is a vast, and highly impressive spa complex, and a hotel with somewhat dubious taste in interiors, but put into perspective, this is revolutionary for Hungary, especially given that it is outside of Budapest. However, they need to do some fine tuning, they should hire some key staff - perhaps from top German hotels - to lead the others and help them to understand what service should be like in a five star property, because at the moment they are delivering four star standards. Also, they should overhaul the catering arrangements and present guests with a table d'hote and a la carte menu rather than a buffet. These are all simple fixes and issues which I hope will be addressed to create a truly five star experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This place is the best spa I have ever been to. The room, the service, the food and most importantly spa were all amazing. Its quite expensive, but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

It was a very relaxing and enchanting vacation, for me, my husband and our 3 year old son. We had a wonderful time, the food is very good, the room big and modern, it was much more than we expected. We were much impressed by the restaurant, a really 5 star place.
The staff is really good, anything we asked for was resolved quick and professional, and always with a smile :-)
The weather wasn't that great, a little bit of rain for a couple of days (we stayed 8 days), but it wasn't really a problem, the indoor pools and SPA compensate for that.
The music in the SPA and sauna is beautiful and calming.
It was a 5 star vacation, so I will go back anytime :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pau2875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarvar
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sarvar Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Sarvar
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bassiana
Hotel Bassiana
#4 of 8 in Sarvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Buk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#7 of 8 in Sarvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Repce Gold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa

Property: Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
Address: Vadkert koerut 5, Sarvar 9600, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Vas County > Sarvar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sarvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spirit Thermal Spa***** in Sarvar, Hungary's latest five-star-hotel, opened its doors in March 2008. Offering 273 style furnished hotel rooms and suites, the newly built unique hotel of Europe meets every requirement of the five star level. There is a spa- and wellness area of more than 10.000 sq m with 22 pools and a large therapy, beauty and medical spa centre. The medical services are based on the thermal water of Sarvar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Hotel Thermal Sarvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing