We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and food”
Review of Hotel Bassiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bassiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sarvar
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at sarvar in between out hotel at lake balaton. We were not disappointed. The rooms were spotless, the service was impeccable and everyone could not do enough for us. We never used the pool but there were a lot of people using it every day. The air conditioning wasn't brilliant and a little weak, however it was enough for our break. The breakfast was brilliant. They cooked whatever we wanted and it was perfect, lots of different things. The food at night was absolutely amazing I cannot lie. We ate there each night of out stay and everything was perfect. We had the steak one night and chicken the next and all was perfect. The distance to the spa is a little long, therefore I would recommend a car and there is free parking.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DICKSONS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We flew in to Vienna from Canada. We pre-arranged to be picked up there with the Hotel Bassiana. The Manager himself showed up. Lovely person and very professional. Drove directly to the Hotel (about 2 hours away). We arrived to a smiling and welcoming staff, quick check in and a very nice room.

Our room was on the front side of the hotel. Every morning we were awoken by beautiful birds singing in the park across the street at the Castle. There was some noise from the traffic but nothing that really disturbed us. All we had to do was close the window to shut that out. We were pleased that the windows open and close but there was also air conditioning if a guest wanted it.

There has been a big addition to this little hotel since we were in Sarvar a couple of years ago. At the back, in addition to their nice outdoor swimming pool, they now have a Spa and Exercise Centre. We made good use of these. One of us had a relaxation massage and the tall fellow who did that was very professional.

Our breakfasts were included. Good choices on a little buffet.... nothing really special to note but, they would take orders for eggs, sausages, etc.

We have been in this restaurant off and on over the past 8 or 9 years. As we'd hoped, .... the quality and choice of foods remains excellent. Love their cucumber salad ( a typical Hungarian dish). The restaurant and bar staff were always friendly and helpful despite some very limited English.We hosted a big family dinner at the hotel and the staff were efficient and pleasant. We saw a number of larger groups come just for dinner in this hotel and the staff seems quite easy and professional with bigger tables.

The cleaning staff were very good in their work although I noticed dust on all of the ends tables the entire time we were there. However, our room otherwise was always spotless and the bed linens always smelled fresh and clean and crisp. Loved that. The pillows were not very good, unfortunately and one of us asked the front desk for a memory pillow and it was promptly sent up. It really solved the problem.

Just a note.... there is free WiFi in this hotel.

When it was time to leave, the Manager was able to return us to Vienna by car. This really was a value -added service for this hotel and well worth the fee.

In our opinion, the overall ambiance of the hotel and professionalism and warmth of the staff are indications of an excellent manager. We were pleased to meet him, ... Mr. Csonka and look forward to staying at Hotel Bassiana again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for a weekend for a friends wedding in August 2013 and the hotel was great. The rooms were very nice, the staff were really helpful, and the food we had was delicious. The hotel was in a great location with plenty of parking too. We would definitely recommend Bassiana based on our experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliver_Wadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

3 Days at this lovely and very comfortable hotel. It was quiet and the staff were always available and happy to help solve any issue. The food both a breakfast but also at lunch and dinner was excellant and very good value with big portions to deal with all appetites.

a lovely position with walks, a nature researve, a castle, a large spa and the local town all with short walking distances.

It was a fantastic venue for the wedding reception from its start in mid afternoon to its end in the dawn hours.

Prices are very reasonable and worth what you pay so I would heartily recommend this hotel for singles, couples and families and use it not just as a stopping place for a single night but stay for a couple of nights to chill out thee and take in all that Sarvar has to offer to its visitors from anywhere in the world.

We will be returning

only gliche the swimming is being restored and was not available which was a pity at this time.

Room Tip: all rooms are good from the comments from all whom stayed there for the wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selhurst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed there 3 nights for a wedding. The staff were wonderful, very accommodating and helpful...and even helped me learn a few Hungarian words! The hotel was booked out of the wedding and it made the special occasion even more wonderful. I ate in the hotel a few times and the food was really delicious! I'd definitely come back again when visiting sarvar!
Price of food and accommodation was really good!

Room Tip: Me and my sister stayed in one of the cheaper rooms and it was still as fantastic as the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry_Ann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel was excellent, we stayed for a wedding and the staff were exceptionally helpful. we eat in the restaurant 4 times and it was really good quality food.

for one night, the hotel was totally booked out for the wedding, and it provided a billiant atmosphere and service.

the hotel is located in the town centre, easily possible to walk to all main attractions in Sarvar. Parking was good and easily accessable.

price was very good value and would recommend to any visitors to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orshi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have spend here 5 nights for very good price. Hotel is good located in the center of the town. Our room has nice view to Nádasdy castle and park.
Rooms are airconditoned and big enought. Staff was very friendly. The restaurant of this hotel is the best one in Sárvár.
But the hotel is under construction this summer and there is no swimming pool in their garden, but they provide compensation for all guests :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NagyKata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarvar
0.6 mi away
Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
0.1 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Sarvar
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sarvar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#7 of 8 in Sarvar
11 reviews
11.7 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Buk
15.4 mi away
P4W Hotel - Residence Szombathely
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bassiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bassiana

Property: Hotel Bassiana
Address: Varkeruelet utca 29, Sarvar 9600, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Vas County > Sarvar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sarvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bassiana 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bassiana**** was opened in 2007 and named after the town's Roman appellation. The hotel is situated in the heart of Sarvar, between the Nadasdy castle and the Arboretum (Botanical Garden). We are only 700 metres far from the Sarvar Spa- and Wellness Centre, which is member of the European Royal Spas The Hotel Bassiana**** is one of the few hotels in the region which offer recreation possibilities for its guests in the former royal garden: walks in the nature, feeding the wild ducks at the lake. Rooms We are waiting for our guests with 17 modern double rooms, 2 suites and 1 single room. Each room features a direct-call phone, flat screen TV, WiFi Internet acces, minibar, bathroom with hairdryer, bathrobes and individually controlled air-conditioning. Restaurant: The modern and intimate restaurant with the covered terrace and fine kitchen is the best choice if you would like to have a tasty and hearty lunch or dinner. We can attend 150 person. On the menu you can find poultry, fish, veal, beef and game dishes besides our rich wine selection from the 22 wine counties of Hungary. Wellness In December 2013 we opened our brand new wellness centre, where we expect our guests with cardio machines, jakuzzi, finnish and infra sauna, Kneipp course, various sorts of massage, salt chamber,and with a cryotherapy cabin. From 1st of Mai until the 30st September we are staying with a heated open air pool to our guest disposal. We offer a full spectrum of dental services too If you would like to get away from your everyday rush, visit us and enjoy the calm, friendly atmosphere, delicious meals, good drinks and courteous service we offer. Pamper your loved ones with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bassiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing