We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel choice for lake Balaton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Siofok
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel. Stylish turkish bath. Good location in Siofok if you don't mind walking some 0.5 km. Kind staff. Well decorated. Breakfest is not so nice but still a very good hotel choice. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto_Lambauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights here on an outing from a week in Budapest. we had read the reviews but they do not really prepare you. From the outside it seems quite normal but as soon as you walk inside the atmosphere grabs you. We arrived quite early in the day and Norbert was happy to check us in early, we were offered a choice of two rooms... we went with Venice. No problems with the room, coffee on tap all day, great breakfast and well situated for the lake and the town. Used the whirlpool and sauna both nights, nice and relaxing. The only down side was we dare not go in the pool, freeeeezing! A recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: Arrive early and you may be given a choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackNIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We knew about this hotel before and my wife loved the pictures on the Internet. It happened that we were without accommodation on Siofok on the last night of our honeymoon and we simply walked in to Janus and rented a room. We paid around EUR 110 with VAT and tourist tax for a suite room.
The building itself was turned into a hotel about 15-20 years ago, so it is not new at all but very clean and elegant. Just like a wealthy lady in her 50's. The hotel is right next to a train station and the rails, but there is no noise from this at all. With an easy walk you can be in the beach or the shopping places of Siofok - which is a big bonus as no need to use our car.

The receptionist was a little less confident than expected, but he took us for a tour in the hotel and showed all the facilities. They have an inside pool and a jacuzzi hot tub in the basement (included in the room rates). Also, they have sunbed and massage (extra charge).

The breakfast was really full with lots of different treats and they even had some special items like the home made cottage cheese pie - we loved it. The breakfast staff is excellent here as well - they are serving with a smile. They have a Nespresso machine as well for the breakfast plus there is a different coffee machine in the lobby what you can use through the day free of charge.

Overall, we loved our stay in the Janus and would come back when in Siofok the next time.

Room Tip: They have really special theme suites, which are really worth trying. We were staying on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shabba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The BEST WESTERN Janus Atrium Hotel is located a few hundred meters from the Siófok train station. It is very easy to find, whether you're coming from the motorway or the main road to/from Budapest.

If you're used to anonymous hotels, forget everything you know when you open the hotel doors. The place is gorgeous, and has a very strong personality. Each room has its own design and atmosphere (India, Paris, USA, Japan, etc.) which makes you travel within your room.

My room was among the small ones - looks like a lot of other rooms (suites) were bigger. I didn't find this to be a problem, since I was travelling alone. But if you're travelling with someone, I would recommend to go for a suite instead of a regular room. The bathroom was a little bit small too, but again, not a problem for me.

Note that a few rooms are located along the rail tracks - mine wasn't. The staff seems aware that it can be an issue, so it seems like they do their best to first give the rooms that are the most quiet. I can't certify that though, that's only based on my personal impression. My room was as quiet as possible, I couldn't hear any noise from anywhere.

On the morning, breakfast is served between 8:00 and 10:00. It has a very, very large range of food and beverages. From one day to another, some of the food changed. I found this to be very good, compared to a regular anonymous "buffet", it would allow me to taste a lot of different products. It was definitely one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in a hotel.

The staff was perfect from the beginning until the end of my stay. I mostly came across Norbert, who was definitely the nicest staff member I have ever met in a hotel. Everyone was extremely polite, available, and welcoming,

Everything went so well during my stay (I choose this hotel to make a break in the middle of a road trip) that I decided to stay one more night there on my way back. A very good experience !

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not along the rail tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fredericrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

If you want be' surprised about The room, then book For a suite: you Wanna be surprised about The fantasy they used! There are many different room, ask to see them before booking. Very good breakfast with buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flavour74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

This is definitely different style of Best Western... The idea behind is actually nice and it involves a lot of effort: each room has a deifferent style: indian room, Audrey Hepburn room, etc. But they are soooo small (I barely fit in the bathroom) and they there is too much decoration, which makes it very crowded, kitsch even.
I had no time to explore the spa yet, maybe that makes up for it.
The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the lake Balaton, which is not suitable to what I would like, but I didn't make the reservation myself. Service was weak the evening we came, English was barely spoken. The next night the receptionist was ok.
Overall impression: I wouln't come here again...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse_TM_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in Sept 2012. The room is what you can expect from a 3-star standard and pretty basic. It's similar to bed and breakfast, The hotel itself is near the railway station and the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LennW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siofok hotels
0.4 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 39 in Siofok
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 39 in Siofok
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartman BELLA
Apartman BELLA
#9 of 39 in Siofok
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yacht Wellness & Business Siofok
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kentaur
Hotel Kentaur
#4 of 39 in Siofok
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA

Address: Fo utca 93-95., Siofok 8600, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Janus Atrium Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Siofok
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siofok
Price Range: £55 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, familiy atmosphered hotel can be found in the heart of the city – close to everything – on the old Main street of Siófok. The train station is 100 m away, the citiy center along with the Water Tower, restaurants, and the Sió mall are 200 m away. Siófok’s Main beach is also close, in a 10 minutes of walking distance. The building complex came into existence with integrating an old evangelic chapel and a school together in 1993, by the plans of Imre Makovecz. This hotel is the only relized plan of the famous architect. Later, between 2004 and 2015 a new concept came and the hotel recieved a new enterior. A unique design has been created, all of the rooms have different styles and decors. This is the only boutique-hotel in Hungary where all the rooms are different from each other. The house’s family atmosphered SPA facility has been evolved in roman and old egyptian style. Everything can be found here, which is necessary for the active recreation and relaxation: swimming pool, sauna, infra-sauna, whirlpool, gym, aroma chamber and solarium. Of course there is possibility to have massage and cosmetic treatments aswell or paid privat usage of the Jacuzzi with champagne and sweetplates. The combination of the open-air and the glassroofed atriums, design rooms, SPA facilitiy and wellness services makes the days spent here a unique experience. The hotel is non-smoking and do not allow pets. Vehicles can be parked in the open-air, but closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Siofok
Siofok Best Western
Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA Siofok, Hungary - Somogy County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing