We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* with small room for family”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Siofok
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“4* with small room for family”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I spent with my family (with my Wife and Daughter) one night in this hotel.

It is a "socreal" style building, but i think it was great renovated!
At the reception the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was small. I think: by side of our double bed has not enough place for the baby bed, so the room was full :(
the bathroom was clean and good renovated.

I am sad because we didn't have time for visiting the wellness but i could check it for one minute...i looks great, BUT for the bathrobe we had to pay about 2.000 HUF, i am sorry! i think for this price it could include this service!

The location is good, the view from the room was beautiful.

The breakfast was enough and fine.

Room Tip: I think all room have a great side view for the Balaton! I suggest the upper level room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    33
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
23
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room: In a 4 star hotel room, there wasn't any soap or shower gel. The heating wasn't funcioning during mid October in 10 degrees and high winds. We couldn't sleep because there is a tennis court nearby and the wind produced a terrible noise.
The staff: Rude, unfriendly
The wellness facility: The pool is small, we kept coughing because of the chlorine gas. There is room for approx. 5 people, and the pool was functioning for half an hour followed by hours of breaks. There wans't any heating there either, we were freezing in our wet bathsuits.
Parking: In the winter, you have to pay 1000 HUF/day. In front of the hotel, parking is free, but there is room for only 10-15 cars. In the summer, it is also 1000 HUF/day, but in front of the hotel you have to pay the town's fee which is around 200 HUF/hours. In the parking lot, approx. 40 cars can be parked.
Overall: In an average 4 star hotel, you could at least buy a newspaper (not to mention hairdressers and so on), but here we couldn't. The food was acceptable, but at 8:00 a.m. we couldn't find a seat in the hall. On the second day we could have a dinner from 6 to 7 p.m. only, because after 7 p.m. there was a private event held in the dining hall.

We have been to many hotels in Hungary and around Lake Balaton, but this was the worst we ever experienced. I wouldn't recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siofok hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our second stay here. Two rooms, a double for my husband and myself and "an apartment" for our son and family of four. (two rooms connected by an inner hallway especially for families.) Making the reservation was very difficult. Their website offered an English flag, but it wasn't working, so the choice at first was just Hungarian. A few weeks later, there was a German language page available - still not helpful. We eventually did get our reservations, but without a native Hungarian speaker, I'm not sure i would have been able. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the lake. Walk out the door, across a grassy yard dotted with lounge chairs - you're at the water! They have a nice indoor pool, in case you catch poor weather, all is not lost. There is a wonderful restaurant right next door, with fantastic sunset views over Balaton. It is walking distance to the heart of Siofok with an active night life. The rooms are small, but that seems typical here. I didn't find the bed or pillow comfortable. We had specified rooms with views - apparently since you can technically see the lake from your balcony, they just consider all of their rooms "view rooms". Last time we were at the other end of the building and we really did have a view of the lake from our room. This time we looked out onto another hotel. Breakfast was included, buffet style, okay - the kids liked it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgalambos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szombathely, Hungary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Panoráma Hotel is one of the bests in Siófok, even if I were last time before renovation. Rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Wellness is also ok, the cave pool is cozy. Meal in the restaurant is fine. It'a a little bit far from the city and party area (ca. 10 minutes walk), but thatswhy enough calm for a relax stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Noémi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Spent a long weekend there. It was ok, breakfast was enough and good. Room was bit tiny, but clean and comfortable, it's not oldish. Hotel had soviet bloc feeling, but it was renew. Pools are extremely tiny, and not easy to use them, becouse comparing to room numbers, they are too small. Balaton is right there at the "garden". Interesting, that free entry to hotel from beach, and no one is checking who is hotel guest and who is not. Not safe for our values, i think. Parking was safe, but also not free. If we go back to siofok, we will go there again i think. During night, the place is loud, people are shouting on the streets, "tuned" cars are going fast, and it's going trought the walls and windows.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August 2013.The rooms were clean,the cleaning ladies came every day.The food was very good, especially in the evening, they had very good pasta and potatoes,also very good cake. The staff was helpfull and very friendly.We didn't like the fact dinner was served between 6,00-8,30pm, it was too early, During the day, the outside temperatures were very, very high, so we were going to swim in the lake at 5 pm or even 6pm.But you didn't have enough time to enjoy yourself because you had to take a shower before dinner and you had to hurry.The rooms were very small for a 4* hotel and they had no air-conditionning on the hallway.The inside pool aria wasn't properly ventilated, you had the feeling you couldn't breath properly.Overall, it's a good hotel, with small problems.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a suite, not a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico-calatoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Staff generally not very approachable - typical of Hungarian customer service. Anything we asked seemed to be putting the staff out.

Food boring and dinner is from 7 til 8.30 - really is not ideal when you want to make most of the day by the lake. We booked half board and the next three days decided to eat out. Also we felt rushed to finish our dinner on the first night.

Facilities are nice (which is what must give the 4star grade) but grass was dead and in really bad condition. For a four star hotel they really ought to get a sprinkler on this. Minibar/fridge did not work during our stay as was told it was too hot for it. safe also was not working due to faulty battery.

For £100 a night HB would expect good service, great food and well kept surroundings and facilities and unfortunately was disappointed.

Also rooms are advertised as lake view. All rooms are partial lake views - this is also somewhat misleading. There are no full lake views with the way the building is designed.

Drinks are really expensive at the hotel and if you do want a drink during the day you have to go to the bar in the restaurant area in your beach wear. Where is your pool bar?

All in all our conclusion is this: the hotel is perfectly located far enough away from the centre to avoid noise but close enough for a pleasant evening stroll into town. The renovations are nice but the hotel lacks character and warmth. The hotel would be a nice winter retreat but during summer you don't spend time using the spa facilities so don't bother spending £100 per night here and instead opt for 2 or 3 star B&B for half the price somewhere else. If you are staying don't book half board as there are plenty of great restaurants to eat in just a short walk into town - which is a good experience. The hotel is not bad but distinctly average for the price. Had it been half the price my review would seem more complimentary.

As a seasoned traveller I don't feel this hotel lives up to its 4 star rating and I was staying there with my Hungarian parents who also agree.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambam1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siofok hotels
0.4 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 40 in Siofok
169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#2 of 40 in Siofok
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#6 of 40 in Siofok
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Residence Conference & Wellness Hotel
0.8 mi away
Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA
3.4 mi away
Hotel Kentaur
Hotel Kentaur
#4 of 40 in Siofok
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: Beszedes Jozsef setany 80, Siofok 8600, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Siofok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Siofok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Panorama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Siofok, Hungary - Somogy County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing