We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good people, with some cheap tricks”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Azur
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Siofok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel is brilliantly located at Siofok. They have a great pool area, we enjoyed that very much. Rooms are nice, were designed a couple of years ago, but they are clean, and good sized.
Only surprise comes when you go for the lunch/dinner that is included in the price. The food choice is very narrow (1 soup, 1 fish, 1 other main, 2 kind of cakes). Didn't feel like a 4-star quality/choice. At the table they kindly ask you what drinks you would prefer, than they bring it to you. When you finish you realize that you have to pay above average price for that (2 EUR per water) + 10% service fee. The price is normal in 4 star hotels in Hungary, but the food choice is rather 2 star one.
Beside this the venue and everything else is great, they just try to save too much on the menu, and earn too much on the drinks compared to my expectations.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank byro19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

The normal hotel is disillusioning and old fashioned. Restaurant Manager is arrogant and unrespectful.
The Premium section is fine, worth to pay a extra and upgrade. Premium wellness is more like a normal wellness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel would be a decent deal at 2/3 price charged. Rooms rundown; added charges for "premium" wellness access (nicer pool, etc.) and simple amenities like playing ping pong were disappointing. We did not experience poor service others report -- service staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tibasosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is partly new and partly old. Rooms in old part are not the best anymore: a bit shabby furniture, wallpaper with 1-2 dead mosquitoes, ants ( I had got a room on 3rd floor!). But it was quiet and clean. Wellness is good: several saunas, cabins such as salt, aroma. Warm and hot water pool, inside and outside. Very kind young girl at wellness reception! Restaurant is bellow its level. Dinner variety is ok, but the quality is bellow its stars. Breakfast is quiet good. Minus: they serve the juice and coffee from 2 by 2 automates. The automates are filled not often enough, so you don`t get your drink or you have to wait in a long line. In general the service in the restaurant is not efficient at all. So if it would be a 3 star hotel with 3 star prices it would be very nice. Maybe if I had get the new rooms I could write better review...

Room Tip: Choose the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed one night at the new building of the hotel -Azur Premium, which is a 4* superior hotel in its name but not in the actuals. The building, the rooms are very pretty and well equipped. The wellness part is very nice, with lots of saunas (normal, infra), salt chamber, aroma chamber, and steam bath. The staff and the service is not good on the other hand. The waiters seem to be not motivated at all, bored even. When I ordered an Aperol spritz at the bar, they made it with white vine instead of prosecco. Really unprofessional. Altogether, apart from the wellness part, we weren't impressed at all.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view (to the lake), choose a superior room (junior suite). Standard premiu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kovibeata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is the first time after a long period that I have not received a satisfaction survey from a 4 star hotel where I stayed. And I can clearly understand the reason why. They are really not interested in the guest's opinion. They are really not interested in the guest itself. As they only task would be to keep the place clean and silent. The guest is just some living gadget that disturbs the proper operation of this really nice property. It is especially true in case of the small size living gadgets that we, the guests call: children. It is forbidden to play bowling under age 12, there is no games in the play room, they can not move in the restaurant, etc...
The long queue in the restaurant is resulted by the very silly location of all the foods. If you want to take a cake you will have to wait for those who will take soup, meat, bread and everything. Like in the army.
If there were no human beings in the building it would be a very nice workplace for those poor mine workers that work at the reception, in the bars and restaurants. They got the order from the management: never smile, keep calm! And they act accordingly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank screen_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I used to come here pretty often in the past but then I quit as service started to go down in quality.
Now I gave it another chance and visited the hotel with family for new year's eve.
The staff was great this time, definitely improved on that.
Our room was big enough but we booked a big apartment - normal rooms are really small.
The food is good, waiters are poilte.
Wellness pool section is great.
Rooms need some renovation - some equipments (closet doors) are even dangerously hanging and can be risky for children. TV remote was missing. AC unit was leaking water.
Cleaning room service was partial.
Location is still good of course, nice beach area.
The bartender lady in Riva bar van get a big-big positive mark, she is lovely, polite and really helpful.
Receptionists are also very polite and quite fast.
New year's eve party was not organized well, service was really slow.
Altogether I decided to come back in the future again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pengemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siofok
1.1 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 39 in Siofok
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yacht Wellness & Business Siofok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartman BELLA
Apartman BELLA
#5 of 39 in Siofok
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA
7.7 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Address: Erkel Ferenc utca 2/c., Siofok 8600, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Siofok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siofok
#2 Spa Hotel in Siofok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Siofok
Price Range: £78 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Azur 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azur’s new and exclusive Hotel Azur**** Premium wing, constructed on the Balaton shore offers guests wishing to enjoy peace and quiet the time and space to relax in a deluxe, intimate setting. The unique blend of wonderful Balaton surroundings, modern design, personal wellness services and fantastic cuisine creates a magical world for guests, allowing them to forget the challenges and stress ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Siofok
Hotel Azur Siofok, Hungary - Somogy County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing