We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment about wellness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Siofok
Certificate of Excellence
-
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointment about wellness”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We were looking for a wellness hotel for 4 days (3nights) as we were not sure about good weather in June. Unfortunately we were right. Could not relax at Balaton, but we counted on the hotel.
First the good points: the hotel room is clean, beautiful, shower is ok, room-staff is very helpful. The breakfast and dinner was awesome, wide variety of foods, grill foods, vegetarian foods, they were very helpful and professional. Fitness center is ok, although nobody helped guests how to use machines.
And the points made me disappointed: we could not use the wellness area, there are 2 pools and 2 massage pools, but all 4 was very cold. Although they wrote on internet that those are 32 C, it is not true, they were 29 C and 31 C. It was so cold that nobody could use it for more than 10 minutes. We and some other pairs and family with children asked the staff for raising temp to 34 C and the answer was simply " it is manager decision" and did nothing. SO in 4 days I could use wellness altogether for 1 hour. Only 2 sauna is free of charge, for infrasauna you should pay a lot.
The other thing made me very disappointed that we have received a coupon for 2.000 HUF for massage. (free coupon, deducted from final price), but when we checked out, the front staff told us, that it is only for massage above 7.000 HUF....certainly, it was nowhere in the coupon or in any other paper. When I asked them to show me any paper I can read this, they told.." It is rule".....I think In any hotel, not only 4 star- hotel, where I paid 120 EUR/night/room the rule is to inform guests and not cut them off....
So I would not really recommend this hotel for guest want to have wellness, and correct pricing, just look around more carefully, you will find better solutions around Lake Balaton.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kincsesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
25
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent 3 nights in the hotel with my mom. It was a very pleasant stay, with a very friendly staff. The breakfast was the best. :) Very tasteful, wide range of foods. Room was nice, with free HBO! The garden was beautiful. Wellness part is also good, nice pools and inner/outer jacuzzi. The back garden was a bit small though. I can really only say positive things about this hotel. There are only 3 things which could be better: cheaper price, lake view (this is not an option, I know), and as said: bigger garden for leisure and playground for children.
I can only recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
Thank anitaesgyuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The hotel is located in green quiet street really close to the beach and party area, though far enough to stay away from the noise.
Our room was pretty big and well furnished. Its windows opened to a big terrace with table and a swing (the terrace could be used by 3 rooms).
The wellness section was clean and fun. They have a pool bar too.
The restaurant was nice, the food was delicious, the staff was very polite.
Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pengemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Very Good Service, Very Good Food - different hungarian specialities varied every day - the chef cook explains the different meals in english or german, Very Good Rooms - noble furniture - balcony - beds are great - TV - Mini Bar - modern bath room, Very Good Wellness area - sauna - steam bath - big indoor pool - outdoor pool - massage pool - big sortiment of different oil/creme massages - solarium - outdoor sun bathing area, Average Gym area, Very noble Dining Room with outdoor area, great bar sortiment, 24/7 Reception, private beach at balaton inclusive beach bar and water playground for children.

--> In comparison to the other Hotels at the Balaton lake the residence hotel is actually the best one. I already visited several hotels at Balaton and the hungarian standard is not that high but in the residence hotel you can spend a fully satisfied holiday with the family, with friends or twosome holiday. perfect to relax!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabian_bayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We were here with my husband at christmas, and it was amazing.The hotel is very clear and really elegant, but a bit expensive. The food is various and delicious, there is fitness center and pool, jacuzzi! You can find there everything you want. The Balaton is near, so you can swim there. Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaddemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2008

We recently stayed at Hotel Residence in Siofok and cannot recommend it enough. We chose this hotel for our wedding reception and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The staff were amazing and very attentive and did so in a very professional and friendly manner. The rooms are very nice, good size, great bathroom and very comfortable. On top of that, the food that they served was out of this world. A lot of our family are vegetarians, so when we asked them to compile a menu for us, not only did the chef create a six course feast, he also gave us another six course alternative to choose from! And the quality was amazing, for example a simple lemon sorbet turned out to be a glass of champagne with mouth watering lemon ice cream! I can't comment on the Wellness side as we didn't use it, but my family used the jacuzzi and pool and enjoyed them! The location isn't bad either, just a short walk from the main town and harbour. Would we stay there again?....oh yes..!!!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angolOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siofok hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 39 in Siofok
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kentaur
Hotel Kentaur
#4 of 39 in Siofok
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yacht Wellness & Business Siofok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA
0.9 mi away
Sungarden Wellness & Conference Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#18 of 39 in Siofok
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel

Property: Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel
Address: Erkel Ferenc utca 49., Siofok 8600, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Siofok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Siofok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Siofok
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siofok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellness Hotel Residence**** Siófok is one of the most beautiful hotels of the southern shore of Lake Balaton.The impressive building, which also possesses some unique architectural features, is located in the residential area 150 m from the lake. The comfort offered by the 56 spacious, air-conditioned rooms supplied with every comfort, is complemented with a complex servicing centre: indoor adventure pool, beauty island, more than 20 types of massage, Residence Beach at the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel Siofok, Hungary - Somogy County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing