We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak house in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa Joe's Saloon & Steakhouse

Papa Joe's Saloon & Steakhouse
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Sopron
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best steak house in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have been here three times and every time I have leaved the restaurent satisfied. If you want local food, Papa Joe is not the place to go, but if you are craving a good steak this is certainly the place to go in Sopron.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dahl-johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    68
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Place has a really nice atmosphere. Portion was quite ok, unfortunately I requested my steak welldone instead of medium, hence it was a bit dry.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zsorzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steak and whisky in the heart of Sopron”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

It was not overcrowded when we were there, so we could discover the decoration and the whole place with our kid.
Perfect variey of whiskies are sold, but the best thing is the fresh meat grilled on the open fireplace in the middle of the restaurant. Steak lovers should not miss the opportunity to eat here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Szilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun - but really very expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I read tripadvisor critics before and to the most I can really agree: Going to a theme restaurant in Sopron when there are so many other nice places around (also meet locals and eat local food)...mmhhhh, not really my concept....but it is however a very nice place.
As it is in the center and on the main shopping road (and just two steps away from our hotel), we went there the first night. We were able to bring our little dog who also was served straight away fresh water. Meat quality is quite good, service is not American style but rather Hungary style, but very kind and fast. Prices are absolutly over the limit: paying for streak like in a fashion and chick Milan steak restaurant is just not ok. I believe a "normal" hungarian person with a "normal" local salary cannot afford to go there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrisBeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always a good Experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

It's a very nice place to eat in Sopron. We often go there, and we have always the same quality. You can eat steaks professional! Also kids like it very much. The atmosphere is like a western pub, we like it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Titcsalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Joe's Saloon & Steakhouse also viewed

Sopron, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
Sopron, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 
Sopron, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
Sopron, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 

Been to Papa Joe's Saloon & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing