We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the old town”
Review of Hotel Palatinus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palatinus
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Hotel Palatinus is an average hotel for young couples, families (with children) and older people too. The price of the room includes buffet breakfast, it is not very rich or delicious, but ok.
The one thing that makes this hotel still unforgettable is the staff of the hotel. The crew was very professional and helpful during our stay. They had wifi connection in the lobby and in the floors too, the rooms were simple, but clean. Furthermore, the hotel situated in the heart of the old town district, so it just takes a few minutes to reach the most important sights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sz0nja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

My teen daughter and I stayed for 1 night June 2012. When we first arrived and asked for a room we were told they were full. I asked for a recommendation to try and was given a couple, when I asked the clerk to please call and check if the other hotel had availability, he said that now he had a room there for us. Not sure what happened there . . .could have just been a mis-communication, he was friendly throughout. Regardless we were grateful for a room. The cost with tax was about $70/nt. Our room was very clean and pretty. The bathroom was especially well appointed with a shower with spray jets in addition to the shower head. The room had one double bed with one pillow and one duvet that didn't quite cover the whole bed. We asked, and after a reminder, were brought an additional pillow and blanket. Our room looked into a little courtyard and was on the 2nd floor.
The provided breakfast was really good with meat, cheese, breads, jam, vegetables, juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt and more.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My sister and I stayed in a twin room for 3 nights in July 2012.
We arrived after in the late afternoon and were greeted by a friendly young man who checked us in and confirmed there was no evening meals available at the hotel. He offered good informatiom about where food was available nearby and we found that easily! We also enjoyed a nightcap in the lobby on our return from dinner and used that time to conect to the free WIFI. (This also worked in our rom.)
Our roon was very clean, the bathroom was small but sparkling clean!

It took a few hours to get used to the constant ringing of the church bells through the night tho!
The beds were average and a simple bu welcome improvement could be made with new pillows and doonas.

We enjoyed the variety on the breakfast buffet, and smiled when it was 10am... the lights get switched off.. :-).

The location in the old part of Sopron was convenient, delightful and the hustle and bustle of the locals going about their daily routine was charming!
All in all we would be glad to re book shpuld we come back to Sopron!
thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Helpful and friendly staff, great location downtown Sopron. Parking space is limited. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Credoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

A comfortable hotel with many rooms and mainly business people staying in them. Our room faced a lane blocked at one end but still was noisy. The main problem was the automatic garage right underneath our room.

Service was polite rather than friendly, German was spoken and English was not understood. Breakfast was average. Wi-fi was available for free but you had to sit in or near the lobby for it to work. The lobby was comfortable so that wasn't an issue.

A reasonalbe place to stay in Sopron if you don't mind a few, small rough edges.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amethyst_Cat_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Reception service friendly and professional.
Very nice and comfortable rooms. Everything looks new, clean and bright.
We payed 42 euro/night for the room, breakfast included for 2 persons + 1,5 euro/person/night tourist tax + 4,5 euro/night for the parking space. I think those prices can hardly be beaten if you consider the value you get for this.
The parking area is within the hotel but the etrance is quite narrow and a bit difficult for a larger car. The parking area is a bit cramped too. Especially if most of the parking spaces are already occupied. ( about 7 or 8 places)
Breakfast was plenty with warm (eggs and frankfurtes sausages and cold dishes.
I would have no doubt in staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albaicin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I stayed here with a family member recently and have only good things to say.

To begin with, the hotel's location is fantastic if your main goal is sightseeing - not sure how it does for nightlife or other pursuits. It is located on a quiet little old street with pretty houses left and right.

The room was pretty standard-sized with the usual stuff, and has recently been renovated to a very good standard. The rest of the hotel reminds one a bit of a different era (back about 30 years ago) but mainly because of the decor - it is not shabby or dirty.

The staff was very friendly and breakfast was great with plenty of tasty choices (both cold and warm) and an ability to eat as much as you wish.

I wouldn't say I was wowed by the hotel but found it to be a very pleasant stay with no complaints and at a very reasonable price. Would definitely go back if I visit Sopron again.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank curiousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.1 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sopron
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sopron
Hotel Sopron
#4 of 13 in Sopron
132 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#5 of 13 in Sopron
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#3 of 13 in Sopron
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#2 of 13 in Sopron
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
#11 of 13 in Sopron
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palatinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatinus

Address: Uj Utca 23, Sopron, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Price Range: £26 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palatinus 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palatinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing